? 66 BG reading, should I give night dose?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by TracieLLL, Dec 1, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Doing the curve today. Goofy's latest reading was 66. Before that it was 81. The vet recently up his dose from 1 ml twice a day to 2 ml twice a day. 66 seems low. I'm concerned about giving him 2 ml tonight. Any advice is welcome. First time posting here thank you
     
  2. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    What insulin? When was this reading? How long after the last shot? What meter is it?
     
  3. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Lantus, 5pm reading (hour & half ago),his shot was 9 hours ago, glocometer (not sure of brand)
     
  4. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Hi Tracie, I don't usually give dosing advice so I will try to see if anyone more experienced is on the board right now to help. Maybe @Chris & China???
    Aw perfect , just saw Janet's post re. what type of meter and other important info to help guide you.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2018
  5. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    I think most people using Lantus would agree that 2 ml twice a day is too big of a jump from 1ml. We don't usually increase that fast.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2018
    TracieLLL likes this.
  6. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    I would not give him 2ml tonight and am wondering what others think about giving him any insulin at all for his pm shot. Without having a lot of testing history to go on, might skip to be safe, but keep testing and see where he's headed.
    Another important consideration, does Goofy have a history of DKA?
     
    TracieLLL likes this.
  7. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Hi @JanetNJ are you still on?
     
  8. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    I dont know what DKA is...
    I was also thinking about not giving 2 ml tonight and just keep testing his blood sugar

    (Thank you all for your prompt replies. I really appreciate it)
     
  9. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    It stands for Diabetic KetoAcidosisis. It's a serious complication that can occur from diabetes. If Goofy has had that condition diagnosed along with his diabetes, you would know because he would have had to be treated for it! I was just asking because cats that have had DKA are in danger of getting it again if they're insulin requirements are not met.
    Sounds like that is not a concern for Goofy, which makes it bit less complicated if you decide to skip the pm shot. My kitty never had DKA, and i definitely skipped a few times when he was going too low.
     
    TracieLLL likes this.
  10. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Oh ok. He has no history of dka
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  11. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Hi,
    Do you test the blood sugars regularly?
    Why did the vet increase the dose from 1 unit to 2 units?
    See what the preshot is before deciding what to do but I would not increase to 2 units.
    It might be safer to either skip the dose.
    But safety first always
     
  12. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    GREAT!!!
    GREAT!!!
     
  13. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Also can you tell us if your meter is a human meter or an Alphatrak 2 meter please
     
  14. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    How long have you been giving insulin? When was DX?
     
  15. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Alpha track 2 is the meter. Goofy was dx’k about 4 weeks ago. I’ve been giving him 1 ml lantus twice a day for 2 1/2 weeks. After I gave the vet the results from a curve I did after two weeks of lantus, he raised his does to 2 ml. Goofy has been on 2 ml for only about 5 days. Today is our first curve on 2 ml

    I just tested his blood, and it reads 159

    I’m so confused how it can go from 66 to 159 in 2 hours

    Our readings today were every 2 hours
    223, 277, 170, 81, 66, and now 159
     
  16. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Tracie, please let is know the type or brand of meter you are using. We don't want Goofy's numbers to drop any lower if you are using an AlphaTrak II
     
  17. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    It is an alpha track 2. His number just went up to 159

    He ate an hour 1/2 ago
     
  18. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Ok, deep breath. I know this is all pretty new, and can get confusing. This place is a great resource and really saved my cat's life and MY sanity!
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2018
    Elizabeth and Bertie likes this.
  19. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    So 159 is the PMPS number?
     
  20. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Ok, if you are using the Alphatrak 2, the 66 is too low and if that happens again, give some high carb food or a drop of honey to get the blood sugar level up over 68.
    By the way it is 1unit or 2 units not mls. Just FYI.
    Where are you up to now with the cycle?
     
  21. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Thank you. I’m so new I have no clue of some of the lingo....PMPS for example. No clue
     
  22. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Hi Bobbie, I think today is Tracie and Goofy's first day!!!
    Tracie PMPS stands for PM PreShot number.
     
  23. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    I think it is now 10 hours after Goofy's am shot. Is that right?
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  24. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    That's ok we are here to help you but we need information.
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  25. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    He earned a reduction because he went below 68 today. So, you were giving 1 unit and the vet increased to 2 units., right? We raise the dose by increments of .25 of a unit. We are at a little bit of a disadvantage because we can't see the dose and numbers in a linear fashion. We use a Spread sheet here to record all data. Could we get you to set one up and put all data that you have in it? The instructions are Here

    PMPS is Pre shot PM test.


    Here is an explanation of the way we talk in hours after the insulin is given. Since we are all from all over different parts of the US and world, this helps us to understand where a kitty is in a cycle.


    On the spreadsheet... It's really not hard!

    AMPS is the AM Pre-shot test (always test before shooting to make sure they're high enough to give insulin)...then the U column is for "Units" (how much you gave)

    The +1, +2, +3, etc are for how many hours since shooting...so +2 is 2 hours after the AM shot, +9 is 9 hour after, etc.....Since we're all over the world here, saying "he was at 148 at 8pm" doesn't tell us anything...we need to know how long since his last shot

    At the end of a 12 hour cycle, it's PMPS time! (PM Pre-shot) and the whole thing starts over
     
  26. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Yes, 159 is his pre shot number. And yes it has been 10 hours since his am shot
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  27. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Wow, ok, thank you. I’m checking out your link to the spread sheet now
     
  28. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    BTW Goofy is REALLY CUTE!
     
    TracieLLL and Bobbie And Bubba like this.
  29. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Error on the link
     
  30. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    10 hours after his am shot would be +10 so you have 2 hours to go before the next shot is due. Is that correct?
     
  31. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    The cycles are in 12 hours increments so if it's 10 hours since his AM shot, then he is at AM +10. Can us post the number you get at 12 hours or PMPS?
    I just realized that the link has been broken. I need to serve my family their dinner. Anyone following along.....can you find the SS instructions and link for Tracie.

    I am imagining that Goofy, will only be higher then. If it were my kitty, I would take him to 1.25 dose and track that for a few days. The jump from 1 unit to 2 units was too big and we might have missed his dose.

    What do others think of the dose to go to 1.25? Or even 1.5?
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2018
    Joanne&TinySole and TracieLLL like this.
  32. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Awe! He is lil lamb chop :)
    I basically rescued him from a coworker that was not caring for him properly. He was 20 pounds when I got him. He is now 12 pounds.
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  33. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Yes. Correct
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  34. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Bobbie, I agree with the 1.25 dose amd see how it goes.
     
  35. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    I really appreciate your concern, knowledge , and advice. Thank you
     
    JanetNJ and Barbara & Uncle (GA) like this.
  36. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Here is an explanation and the most likely cause, very common!

    "Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
    Bounces are a temporary condition that a lot of cats do and we don't change the dose if kitty is just bouncing due to see a number lower than it is used to."
     
  37. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
  38. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
  39. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Thank you @Barbara & Uncle for sending out a heads up over in the Lantus forum. :bighug:
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2018
  40. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Aw, that's super cool of you. And getting him down to a normal weight must have been a project!
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  41. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Thank YOU & BRON :bighug::bighug::cat:
     
  42. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Tracie, do you have syringes with half unit markings on them?
    To get the 1.25 units of Lantus that Bobbie and I both think would be the best dose to give, you draw up the insulin half way between the 1 unit and the 1.5 unit markings on the syringe. Does that make sense?
    Below is a copy of syringe markings.
     

    Attached Files:

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  43. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
  44. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    I have the whole unit scale syringe
     
  45. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    I only have an iPad available right now. Not sure if I can set up a spreadsheet
     
  46. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    If you are not sure if you have drawn up the correct amount of insulin, take a photo of the syringe and post it and we can check it for you
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  47. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    There are directions further down in the instructions on using a tablet/phone
     
  48. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Ok then you will just have to estimate a quarter of a unit past the one unit mark. Do you have a magnifying glass? That makes it a bit easier.
     
  49. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Update...I'm still figuring out the spreadsheet. Just tested his blood sugar. He is a 206
     
  50. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Okay, he is in bounce mode from going into those lower numbers today.

    At PMPS TIME( 12 hours from the AM Shot) I think you will be fine shooting 1.25. As Bron said, you’ll need to eyeball it using her graph.

    From your profile, looks like you are in FL? I use the Relion syringes from Walmart. They are super cheap , 100/ 13 bucks. They have the 1/2 unit markings on them.

    I like the 3/10 ml 31 gauge 8 mm ( short needles).

    It will be extremely helpful to have the syringes with the 1/2 unit markings for all the doses in between on unit to the next. We have pictorials to help with dosing.

    I’ll go to my tablet and get one for .25 of a dose.


    ETA: to add 13 bucks
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2018
    Reason for edit: ETA to add 13 bucks
  51. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    upload_2018-12-1_20-23-6.png

    I realize you don't have the 1/2 unit markings right now but that will give you an idea of the plunger placement between the 1 unit and the 2 unit mark.
     
  52. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Hey All, I'm going to sign off for the night as I have a gig, otherwise I would stay on.
    Tracie, you are in the best hands.
    Bron, Bobbie and Chris are my mentors, I have so much gratitude for their help and guidance as I learned how to do this dance.
    I will check in tomorrow to see how you and Goofy are doing. :bighug:
     
  53. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    What time EST are you shooting so I can look for you? Get a +1 and +2 to start.
     
  54. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    You all have been the best!!
     
  55. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    I’m giving him st shot at 9. (In a Half hour)
     
  56. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    So glad you are testing and caught that low number. Shooting without testing can be really dangerous. My aunt has a diabetic cat and just refuses to test. I gave up trying and just pray she doesn't overdose her.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2018
  57. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Tracie, please post when you get the +1. I want to check in on you before heading to bed.
     
  58. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    I just got a 279 reading
    I was in between the 1.25 and 1.5 w the units on the syringe
     
  59. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    That is a bit more than a food bump. Grab a +2 and if that is lower than the PMPS number then it could be an active cycle and could require some more monitoring. If it's higher then maybe try and grab a test around +5 or +6 ( 5 or 6 hours after the insulin shot) and see how he is doing.

    If you get into trouble of need help, change your prefix title to HELP!! @Bron and Sheba and @Chris & China , are either of you going to be around to look in on Tracie? I am heading to bed.

    ETA: I think I am confused. Is the 279 the number you got for the PMPS or is that the +1 number? Without a Spread Sheet to look at it is easy to get confused.
     
  60. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    It's only 2pm Sunday here so I will around. Have to go to the shops later but I will have my mobile with me to check if necessary.
    Sweet dreams Bobbie :bighug:
     
  61. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Shot was at 845pm. The 279 reading is from 9:45pm. I will be doing a blood test closer to 11 tonight
     
  62. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    That's what I thought.
     
  63. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Thanks Bron!
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  64. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I'm around too!! Goodnight Bobbie!!

    Great job getting the spreadsheet set up! @TracieLLL
     
  65. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    @TracieLLL
    Good job getting the SS up and running!
    You have said you have 2 units at PMPS.... you gave between 1.25 and 2.5 didn’t you?
    You could call that 1.25F (fat)
     
  66. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
  67. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    good catch!!!

    @TracieLLL …..the spreadsheet you set up is for human meters. If you're using the AlphaTrak (and intend to keep using it) you'll need to use the spreadsheet for pet meters.

    Most of us use human meters because the cost of the strips is too high
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  68. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Oh goodness!! I’ll fix it tomorrow.. I’m so tired
    He justed tested w a blood sugar at 210. Thank you everyone for everything!
     
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  69. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I think you will need to get another test in a bit later in the evening. Can you set the alarm for 3 hours time to test at +5
     
  70. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    We totally understand!! All this information is overwhelming at first, plus the stress of just dealing with the diabetes!!
     
  71. majandra

    majandra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    @TracieLLL
    I'm not the best one to say this because my self care is horrid, but make sure to do as much as you can for yourself. Hot baths, chocolate, whatever works. You will be tired for a bit no matter what you do though *hug* hang in there.
     
  72. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    I wake up pretty early. I’ll test then. Thank you for everything. It warms my heart with all the responses I got tonight!
     
  73. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    **HUGS**
     
  74. TracieLLL

    TracieLLL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Hi everyone! AM pre shot is 317 before food. I will test again through out the day. And I will check out the Lantus board
     
  75. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page