7.13 Rufus AMPS 452, +2 554, +4 506, +6 558, PMPS 571, +2 485

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sean & Rufus, Jul 13, 2019.

  1. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
  2. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    :bighug::bighug::bighug: It is so discouraging to see numbers like that. Looks like he is going to need some more juice. Hang in there!
     
    Krystina & Nelli likes this.
  3. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Yeah, was excited for those pink numbers, and now they are gone. Will go up to 2 units tomorrow. Last time he was on the juice, he was up to 6.5 units and still in red and black numbers until we had a dental.
     
  4. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Discouraging yes.... I feel you. Figaro had only been on insulin for a bit and I'm impatient to see him out of the reds. It's so hard to wait!! But I keep reminding myself, the protocol is meant to keep our precious kitties safe, and some insulin is better than no insulin. You're doing great from what I can see.

    Just curious, do you have any nicknames for Rufus? I think I'd be calling him Ruf-ruf all the time!
     
    Sean & Rufus likes this.
  5. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    It is discouraging. Last time he was on insulin for 5 months, and then off and in remission for 14 months. But, hopefully the dental will knock him back in remission again :)

    Oh Rufus has so many nicknames! Ruffie boots, Ruffie kins, Ruf-a-saurus, Rufapatamous (Bro in law gave him that one, he's a BIG cat! :) , Booger, booger butt, I oculd go on all day with his nicknames!
     
  6. Figaro's Liz

    Figaro's Liz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Oh I hope Ruffie boots sees remission again soon too!! What a fantastic spread of nicknames :D
     
  7. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Hi!
    I have a question regarding dental. I suspect Macka to have some gingivitis or another tooth problem, because 1. vet said so, 2. he's been eating weirdly lately, turning his head left and right when eating his paté (never saw that before, but before he ate kibbles) 3. he's not eating much for the last 2 days.
    What are Rufus' symptoms?
    Vet technician said that in his state (diabetes, high numbers), Macka could not get anesthesia and a dental. Is that true?

    Thanks!
     
  8. AmandaE

    AmandaE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    So. I am the same and have sooo many names for my cats but this convo reminds Me of this very accurate to me meme:

    E8B0231D-994C-4CA4-A40D-382565217922.jpeg
     
  9. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Rufus stopped eating kibble well back in September of 2017. He would turn his head, and drop food sometimes. Then he stopped eating his wet pate food well. I thought it a dental issue, but multiple vets told me he had some plaque, but the teeth looked fine. We put him on prednilose in October 2017. I was begging to do a dental, but they kept telling me it was a waste of money. I finally convinced them to do a dental around Thanksgivng 2017. We did bloodwork a couple days before. That is when he was diagnosed diabetic. His numbers on insulin were never good. Always in the 400 or 500's even with high amount of insulin. I begged them again to do dental. She said she was not comfortable with him having diabetes (un-regulated) and said she would not do it. I then had to beg for a referral to a specialist to do dental. It was twice as expensive as she would have charged. We had dental done in February 2018. It ended up being that he had(has) tooth resorption, and one of his teeth had fallen out and the nerve was exposed. A couple days after dental, the numbers started falling. I slowly reduced his units each day, and 4 weeks lated he was in remission. So, it may be true your vet may not be comfortable doing the dental, but she could refer you to a specialst to do the work. I know for a fact that dental was the reson for diabetes, and I am hoping that is the case again.
     
  10. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Incredible story, thank you for sharing. I am going to inquire.
    Macka has redness on the gum around certain teeth, and I think I heard the vet talk about resorption too.
    He does not want to eat at the moment (for 2 days now), but I don't know if it's teeth or pancreas related.
     
  11. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    @AmandaE hahaha! I have SO MANY nicknames for Rufus, and Ozzie! I am supriprised that actually respond when I call them by their real names!
     
    AmandaE and JeffJ like this.
  12. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Poor kitty! I would ask for a referall to another vet who will do dental. Will they prescribe pain medication in the mean time?
     
  13. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    I would have told the original vet what happened, then dropped that vet in a second. What a cruddy situation for your kitteh.. And resolved by a standard dental procedure.

    Leo and Little Dude had resorption on multiple teeth. Plus issues with their top canines - removed in both cats. They looked kinda odd afterwards, but it never affected how sweet they were.
     
  14. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Sean -for the BG, I would use the protocols and get Rufus back into some good numbers. Those red and black numbers are just unhealthy.
     
  15. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Well, the protocal is to keep on a dose for a week. We have already bumped it up. Will be bumping up again. I am unclear what you are suggesting. Are you saying that I should be increasing faster then 3 days, or that I should stay on for a week? I know the numbers are ugly. Do you think the reds and black are making me feel good??
     
  16. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Sorry Sean. Let's stick to the protocol for the 6 dose regimen. It's frustrating. I am glad you are testing for ketones and finding none. :bighug:
     
  17. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Hi Sean. Sorry to see Rufus has had to go back on insulin, I hope it is only for a short while. How is he doing otherwise...ie, the 5Ps, pooping, peeing, purring, preening and playing? Appy okay?
     
  18. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    No worries Jeff. I was/am just confused. I know you are trying to help, but I've been through this before. I obviously am very worried about his numbers. I will keep testing as often as I can. I can't test after AM shot M-F. We will stick to 6 dose regimen :)
     
    JeffJ likes this.
  19. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    The 5 p's are pretty good, but the appetite is not there. Actually I should say app is there, but he's not eating great. I might try some Ondansetron again and see if that helps.
     
  20. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    @Wendy&Neko , not sure if and when you'll see this. Going up dose tomorrow. Do you (still? Not sure if you did say) think I should go up .5 units or 1. I'm guessing you're going to say .5, but these reds and blacks are killing me. Ugh.
     
    JeffJ likes this.
  21. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Yes you are following SLGS, but I am suggesting something outside of that dosing method because of his ugly numbers. Up to 2.0 units next cycle you can monitor. I am hoping you can do that Sunday or night. However, I really, really, really want you to get a second test every night. You missed an opportunity last night. You can only increase faster and by larger amounts if you have sufficient tests to say it is safe to do so.

    Side note SLGS is not a protocol, just a dosing method developed here in the early days before researched protocols were around.

    Second side note, for any lurkers, this dose suggestion is only for Sean and Rufus.
     
  22. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Are you suggesting going from 1.5 units to 3.5 units??
     
  23. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    He was at 1.5. I'm so confused as to what you want me to do. Go to 2.0 units or increase by 2.0 units. I have to give insulin now, so I am going with give 2.0 units.
     
  24. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Hi Sean, I think the suggestion was to go to a new value of dose = 2.0 units.
    That will be a 0.5 increase.
    ...and I see you did that this morning. It looks effective.:bighug:
     
    Sean & Rufus likes this.
  25. Sean & Rufus

    Sean & Rufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Yeah, we got a 194 PMPS!
     
    JeffJ likes this.

Share This Page