7/15 Spot AMPS 432, +7=315 PMPS 295 Bounced Hard Again Last Night, But Showing Quicker Recovery!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sweet Spot

Active Member
Good Morning,

Last night I posted pretty late in the evening that Spot had a hard, high bounce again.
Here is yesterday's thread.

Though yesterday morning I did skip insulin, which I know had to impact all of this, he does seem to be having 72 hour bounces - over and over. Had a similar one (his first ever black reading) 4 days ago that was just like this one....rose fast from the blues and went straight to black.

We did increase dose to 4.25u last night, just fyi

Thanks for any assessment you have to offer as we work through this really stressful/confusing period..........Robin
 
My first assessment is that you are doing just fine. I'm glad you increased his dose last night - he does look like he needs a little more juice.

You also did a great job of explaining your thinking about skipping. Think of this like a science experiment. Yesterday let you see what happens when you skip a shot when he's in the upper blue numbers.

Next time you could try shooting it and see what happens then. If you'd like to try that, it would be good if you flagged your thread and asked for help so that someone was for certain available to stay with you if you needed some help during the cycle. While you're waiting for someone to respond, don't feed Spot. One of the things a person will be looking for is whether the numbers are rising or falling at +12. You can shoot either way, even if it's dropping, but it can make you feel better if you can see that 20 minutes after your +12, for example, Spot's blood sugar is rising on its own. That would tell you that the last shot is waning.

What you're going to learn through all of this is that you'll be able to steer Spot's blood sugar by using carbs. It's kind of an amazing experience the first time to realize that you'll be able to control his blood sugar. Very empowering, and it definitely helps relieve some anxiety about giving insulin.

In the meantime, you're doing fine - carry on!

Have a great day!!

julie
 
Thank you, Julie -
It is easy to slide into the "I'm doing everything wrong" when you just can't find his diabetic rhythm this early on....I appreciate the compliments so much...

So I am prepared for that next blue AMPS or PMPS, could you (or anyone) answer two things please, which pertain to your comments......

  1. I have no problem picking up the food bowl while waiting for a forum member to jump in and guide us - but given Spot is a grazer, sometimes he has already had a snack or two from the bowl before we even test his ear for the AMPS/PMPS. I assume we are wanting to make certain his BG is rising on its own after +12, not due to a food spike. How do I address this?
  2. Which is the appropriate "code" to use to mark the title when I need assistance such as this - not an emergency, but need a helping hand?
  3. If he isn't under 150 but is in the blues, I don't want to upset forum members asking for help with a blue number most would shoot without questioning.

Thanks again for your words of encouragement!
Robin
 
I have no problem picking up the food bowl while waiting for a forum member to jump in and guide us - but given Spot is a grazer, sometimes he has already had a snack or two from the bowl before we even test his ear for the AMPS/PMPS. I assume we are wanting to make certain his BG is rising on its own after +12, not due to a food spike. How do I address this?

A number of folk have kitties that are grazers, this isn't a problem, but what most do is that they pick up the food in the two hours prior to shot time. That way you know your PS is not food influenced. I give George meals at 3 hourly intervals, he won't graze he just scarfs the lot, so in an effort to keep his meals regular at night I use an auto feeder which turns at +9 to give him his snack and then it tuns at +10 so there is no food available that way amps wasn't food influenced, using an autofeeder to remove his food availability at silly o'clock in the morning might be an alternative to setting an alarm at +10 so that you get up and pick up the food.

Which is the appropriate "code" to use to mark the title when I need assistance such as this - not an emergency, but need a helping hand?
Use the ? mark prefix and write some thing like 'Spot +12 amps 170, HELP
first time shooting blue, stalling,

  1. If he isn't under 150 but is in the blues, I don't want to upset forum members asking for help with a blue number most would shoot without questioning.

I don't think anyone would be upset by you asking for help when shooting blue for the first time, we've all been there and it's nice to have someone do a virtual hand hold, I remember Julie holding mine :)
 
Gill - Thanks for answering my questions.......so appreciate it!

So +7 number just taken - it is 315...come on yellow, at LEAST :)
 
Just know that it can take a bit o' time after a skipped shot for Spot to get back on track. I clearly remember my first skipped shot (I missed the mark and gave Polly a fur shot); we saw black at her next AMPS. I wanted to beat my head into a wall :banghead:. But her numbers worked out and worked down. In time. A few cycles. Right now you're learning some really important things about how Spot responds to different situations. All that will be a great help.

But Spot. Yellow would be nice!;)

Marilyn and Polly

(oh I just love that avatar picture...great "spot")
 
Marilyn and Polly,

Spot delivers, as promised.......we have a yellow at PMPS! 295!

I replied to you both on yesterday's post by mistake........but did mention in that post, in case you missed it, that we don't believe Polly could be any cuter!! Will keep that on both posts, of course....you cannot overstate the obvious................:)
 
It is easy to slide into the "I'm doing everything wrong" when you just can't find his diabetic rhythm this early on....I appreciate the compliments so much...

You're not doing things wrong, so don't worry about that. This is one of those situations where we can't tell you everything in advance, so you do something and people will give you feedback on it. The situation will come again, and the next time you will have the experience from THIS time to help you make decisions.

People aren't criticizing, just trying to add more info so the next time you have more to consider when you make your decision.

It's one of those things were it often feels like criticism when you're on the receiving end of it, but think of it as being a student surrounded by teachers. Who might not all be teaching exactly the same way, lol. We've all been the students, too. It won't be long before you're helping someone new as well! It truly is like a crash college course in Feline Diabetes 101. Everyone just muddles along in the beginning.

It does help to read other kitty's condos (threads.) Often the very same situations come up and you might see ideas elsewhere that help you. Right now there are quite a few new members: Osha, Small Kitty, Petey, Tacka, and Hugo are all maybe 3ish months into things; Max (Connie), Tux (Kako), Plum, Tasha, Maximus and you are all within the past couple of weeks or so. The group I started with became my best friends.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top