7/17 Rosie AMPS 286 Big Chicken Mommy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol in Chicago

Active Member
I'm a big chicken mommy. I just got a new vial of Lantus, but had to overcome my fear of using it. :nailbiting:

During the six months we have been doing this dance, Rose has climbed the dose ladder twice. After watching her second climb, I decided the insulin was getting old. I like plans, preparation, predictability, and results. So... I started the new vial 2 days ago with reduced dose to be safe. I over analyzed it and have concluded I'm a big chicken.

Over these two days, I'm seeing some blue with reduced dose - nothing green. Based on this, it appears, my old insulin was still good. I think what we have now is depot drain. I will restart the increases after tomorrow as needed.

I sure do wish there was a way to determine if insulin is good or bad. Given the nature of this dance, it probably wouldn't help with my need to plan or prepare, but at least if I knew, I wouldn't be afraid to give her what she needs... :banghead:.
 
I'm a big chicken mommy. I just got a new vial of Lantus, but had to overcome my fear of using it. :nailbiting:

During the six months we have been doing this dance, Rose has climbed the dose ladder twice. After watching her second climb, I decided the insulin was getting old. I like plans, preparation, predictability, and results. So... I started the new vial 2 days ago with reduced dose to be safe. I over analyzed it and have concluded I'm a big chicken.

Over these two days, I'm seeing some blue with reduced dose - nothing green. Based on this, it appears, my old insulin was still good. I think what we have now is depot drain. I will restart the increases after tomorrow as needed.

I sure do wish there was a way to determine if insulin is good or bad. Given the nature of this dance, it probably wouldn't help with my need to plan or prepare, but at least if I knew, I wouldn't be afraid to give her what she needs... :banghead:.
I hate to say this, Carol but plans, preparation, predictability and results will only go so far with FD. She's a cat! ;) You'll get the green back.
 
cautiousedycat.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top