7/19 Catcat AMPS 267,+2.5=194,+5=88,+11.8=92,+12.3=101

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by CandyH & Catcat, Jul 19, 2019.

  1. CandyH & Catcat

    CandyH & Catcat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
  2. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Nice to see you made it to blue, Catcat! :cool:
     
    CandyH & Catcat likes this.
  3. CandyH & Catcat

    CandyH & Catcat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    dabbling in the water at the ebb tide line, I guess -- watch out for that 7th wave ...
     
  4. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Catcat - ya gotta get closer to the beach if you're going to get into the cool water today...I is on the tree...Luci said that...:cat::cat:

    Luci is still stalling up in the trees... she needs to get on down to the beach with the rest of the cool kids...just can't seem to get her moving...:(

    It's a mighty hot day out there...all us beans want to talk about...hot stuff...go swimming kitties...go swimming!:cool::cool:
     
  5. CandyH & Catcat

    CandyH & Catcat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2019
  6. CandyH & Catcat

    CandyH & Catcat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    cloudy and low 70s today but that pool will be a mass of humanity on Sunday -- predicted high is 88 !!!!!!!
     
  7. CandyH & Catcat

    CandyH & Catcat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    computer would not listen to me, finally back ...
     
  8. Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

    Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Yesss... Catcat at the lagoon :D! What a nice pool with waterfalls ! :)
     
    CandyH & Catcat likes this.
  9. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yeah! I see some green again! Work that juice Catcat!
     
    CandyH & Catcat and Perry & Jenn like this.
  10. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Well done, Catcat! :D
     
    CandyH & Catcat likes this.
  11. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Nice numbers today. It looks like 0.75 is a fitting dose, with a little bounciness. Not all our diabetic kittehs have perfect curves.:bighug:

    That predicted high of 88 is a good day for a swim. That is a neat quarry pool. I lived in North Seattle (Lynnwood) ~1980 and it was 95 for a week. That was pretty toasty without air conditioning.
     
    CandyH & Catcat likes this.
  12. CandyH & Catcat

    CandyH & Catcat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    not-a-PMPS = 92 --- will stall and retest

    ETA, update 20 minutes later 101

    @MrWorfMen's Mom

    Linda, I feel brave tonight, should I go ahead and shoot the .75 ?
    or shoot a reduced dose?

    I have Friskies to feed, and it's only quarter to 7 --
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2019
  13. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Since you are following SLGS you technically should have reduced the dose a couple of days ago to 0.50u when Catcat dropped below 90. That said, the 0.75u seemed to be working very well. You have never shot a pre-shot that low before and we usually suggest you work your way down gradually. So first off, I'd reduce the dose to 0.5u and it's up to you whether you shoot or not bearing in mind that you could potentially be chasing numbers for several hours given it appears Catcat's nadir is at least +4 or later and today he didn't really come up much past +5. If I were you, I'd probably opt to skip tonight.
     
  14. CandyH & Catcat

    CandyH & Catcat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    looking at what happened last time -- following day was a flat yellow which isn't all that bad -- I'm thinking I need to get more mid-afternoon test number to see if this is the +10-11 slump that some cats get, or if he truly stayed down in greens and low blues all afternoon (I wound up with another nap I hadn't intended)

    so yeah, even though I have things all set to go, I'm gonna skip again, feed him the regular stuff and see what transpires, if he's still dropping I'll open the Friskies

    the thing is -- the "below 90" was not a nadir -- that's why I didn't reduce --
    these late late numbers aren't nadirs, are they?

    wait a minute, rereading, yes it WAS at nadir time
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  15. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    You don't need to carb him up tonight with a skipped shot unless he starts going too low which I doubt he'll do. Regular LC is all he needs. :D
     
    JeffJ and CandyH & Catcat like this.
  16. CandyH & Catcat

    CandyH & Catcat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    thanks for your wise words -- I guess I was just so excited to see greens appearing -- I do want his body to get accustomed to them

    okay, Fancy Feast tender beef and chicken, deployed --
    one of his favorites
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) and JeffJ like this.
  17. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Great advice. I'm just watching. You will have a nice restful evening - no hypo worries tonight.:bighug:
     
  18. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Just to clarify - Nadir is not a fixed point in the cycle. It's simply when the peak insulin action is occurring or when the BG is at it's lowest in the cycle. Since we aren't testing every hour on the hour, we may not catch the precise nadir every day but those lows we do catch are indicative of how low the insulin is taking BG and suggest when nadir might be/is occurring. While we may expect nadir to occur in a specific timeframe, some cats can be later or earlier and nadir is not necessarily at the same time every day.
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) and JeffJ like this.
  19. CandyH & Catcat

    CandyH & Catcat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    yes, that's why I may try checking later in the daytime cycle -- to see if it's a late dip after a rise, or if it's stayed low for awhile

    second time he's done this -- makes me wish for a Libre for a few days, I really would like to see more points on the curve, but OH his POOR EARS
    he has a tendency to flinch just as the lancet approaches, so he has several slices across his ear, rather than nice round holes that close easily

    he can jerk away even from those nubby finger protectors you mentioned, I still had a few left over from back then -- albeit crumbly
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2019
    JeffJ likes this.
  20. CandyH & Catcat

    CandyH & Catcat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    +1 after the no-shoot = 217 .. will check again at +3 but he's probably set for the night
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.
  21. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Oh those accidental naps! I feel you! :joyful:

    I bet you are free to rest for your night, with the skipped shot!
    Whoo good job reducing, Catcat!!!!

    Now you can all follow Alice’s lead and take another nap. :D
     
  22. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    If you want to check again that's fine but with no shot tonight and BG obviously rising, you could use the opportunity to get some extra shut eye. :)
     
    JeffJ and AliceMeowliss (GA) like this.
  23. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Beep, beep, beep!!!
    This just in, straight from the current bed of Alice: B9D11F1C-4240-4D76-AB94-F3F1512A96CF.jpeg
     
  24. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Very cute pic
     
    AliceMeowliss (GA) likes this.

Share This Page