7/23 Ducia AMPS 193, +1 245 ,+6 279; PMPS 284, +2 201, +5 183

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanya and Ducia

Member Since 2017
Last post

Happy Sunday everyone!

Not posted history for Sat 7/22:
AMPS 237, +3 166, +7 183; PMPS 234, +3 154, +5 190, +8 236, +11 243

This AM would be the 7th cycle since last Green number and I was going to increase Ducia's dose to 1.25U.
However, she dropped 50p from +11=243 to AMPS 193 and at the last moment I expelled 1 fat drop. By my estimation the current dose given this AM is about 1.15U, measured w/calipers to try to keep it consistent.

Was fattening the dose a right call?
Should I kept 1U longer?
Or should I have made it 1.25U anyway? :confused::confused:

My reasoning was if she was clearing than increase isn't recommended. Am I mistaken? I can increase to full 1.25 tonight or tomorrow AM.

I noticed new odd (to me) pattern in her SS: the +2 lower than the pre-shot but by the +4 she goes up...:confused:

Any ideas what it means?

As if the duration shortened... Initially I thought I was overfeeding her in the early hours of the cycle but then dismissed the idea. Examples of this pattern on: AM of 7/13, 7/14, 7/22 and/or PM 7/18, there are more cycles like that.

I appreciate any thought on the patterns and dose advise.

Have a wonderful Sunday everyone!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I noticed new odd (to me) pattern in her SS: the +2 lower than the pre-shot but by the +4 she goes up...:confused:

Any ideas what it means?

Just looking at the last few weeks, it looks like she tends to have very early nadirs. There were several daytime nadirs that came right before the PM dose, but it looks like she might've been coming down from a bounce on those occasions. (Chino almost always goes lower at night but will have an occasional blue/green nadir during the day when he's coming down from a bounce.)
 
TY for the input Adrian,

I do not remember her bouncing from the blue numbers, that's what confuses me. But I admit that we rarely have low blue numbers, mostly green-yellow with occasional pinks..
The +2 is 245. Either the entire cycle is yellow or 1/2 ounces of 0% carbs bumped her that much. I'll know by the +4.
 
6/25, 6/26, 7/14 and 7/17 could be bounces from blues, or she could doing the thing that Chino does where a bounce from green lasts several days, but his BG goes higher than usual right before he comes crashing back down.
 
Do you think I should have kept the 1U dose longer? What would you do?

I've never done fat/skinny doses, but it would be appropriate if Ducia is very sensitive to small changes, or if she recently earned a reduction that didn't take but you don't want to go right back to the dose that dropped her too low. I increase whenever Chino goes 6 cycles without a green nadir, unless there was a fur shot during that time or unless it looks like he's getting ready to break a bounce on the 7th cycle.

Editing to add: The only other reasons I've held a dose for longer than that without a green nadir is if I think he might've had one that I didn't catch with testing, or if I think that feeding MC/HC to soon is what kept him from going under 100.
 
or if I think that feeding MC/HC to soon is what kept him from going under 100.
That's precisely what I am thinking. You see, we practice the front load - she eats 75% of her cycle ration in the first 3 hours after the pre-shot. If I see the +2 lower or what I call the monkey business - restlessness, asking for food at unusual times, hunting human ankles, etc - I give her 4-5% carbs after that +2. On several occasions I was convinced that I overcarbed and killed the surf. But as you can see earlier in the year in the SS she used to drop early by A LOT, then bounced for days, and I got fed up with it. That's how I came to the front loading.

I think I'll give her Fat 1 Unit tonight as well - but if no decent numbers will pop up I'll increase to 1.25U tomorrow AM. Does it sound like a good plan?

I'd much rather increase /decrease by 0.25U than by a drop out... more precision I think. Thank you for your thoughts Adrian!
 
The cats are going to do what the cats are going to do, but we can influence the outcome by changing the dose or changing feeding/steering strategies. I try to make just one change at a time, so when I thought that feeding MC/HC too soon was what kept him from going under 100, I decided to wait until I see green before giving it. The next time he dropped down to blue, I didn't feed, but he still didn't go below, so I increased the dose. On the other hand, having a feeding/steering strategy that allows you to keep your sanity and avoid losing sleep is important! So you could also decide to keep the strategy that slows the drop while looking for the dose that still allows her to have green nadirs.
 
I think I'll give her Fat 1 Unit tonight as well - but if no decent numbers will pop up I'll increase to 1.25U tomorrow AM. Does it sound like a good plan?

I'd much rather increase /decrease by 0.25U than by a drop out... more precision I think.

If I were in your situation, I would make the decision based on whether I thought the extra drop might make a difference (or thought that the full 0.25 units might be too much), and if so, I'd hold the dose for 6 cycles. Otherwise, it makes sense to go up to 1.25, since the protocol does call for 0.25 unit increases.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top