7/27/16 Petey amps 283 +2 323 +5.5 257 pmps 280 +2 257

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily and Petey

Active Member
Good morning! Well Petey had a near perfect surf yesterday, until his pmps when his BG suddenly shot up to pink/red. My hunch that this sudden jump was caused by his licking some maple syrup off the table in the afternoon seems to be strengthened by the fact that he seems to be back down into his normal yellow range this morning. Cleaning all my kitchen surfaces extra well today and hoping for another good day of blue/green surfing (though I'll take yellow at this point Petey -- let's stop with the dramatics!)

Thanks!
Emily

Petey 7/26 condo
 
I don't think the syrup is to blame. When we give something like honey or maple syrup to raise blood sugar, it wears off within an hour or two in most cats. This looks like a clear bounce to me. I think of it like you have to pay after having an awesome stretch of green numbers, like he did yesterday. That was a nice long time in healing numbers. He'll come back down.
 
I don't think the syrup is to blame. When we give something like honey or maple syrup to raise blood sugar, it wears off within an hour or two in most cats. This looks like a clear bounce to me. I think of it like you have to pay after having an awesome stretch of green numbers, like he did yesterday. That was a nice long time in healing numbers. He'll come back down.

Thanks for your input Julie - You're probably right. It was just such a dramatic and sudden bounce. I haven't seen red in a while, so it was a little alarming! But I see what you mean about the effects of syrup wearing off pretty quickly, plus, it would have been a trace amount he ingested if that was indeed what it was.

Anyhow, he seems himself today. Safely surfing yellow. Hoping to clear the bounce soon!
 
It's hard to know how long it will take, but I'm pretty confident it's a bounce. While in a bounce they don't stay at a constant 400-400-400 like I thought when I first learned about them. They can wobble around - the key to knowing the bounce is cleared is if they get back down to green again, or at least close to it.

If not for that stretch of green yesterday, I'd have been thinking this is a failed reduction. When you reduce the dose the idea is that the good numbers that caused the reduction continue. So it's great to see that green yesterday and see if maybe he's going to hold the reduction.
 
thanks for your input, Julie. I'm hoping Petey will stop bouncing so much one of these days and just stay steady. But he seems more or less himself (just a little more hungry) so that's a comfort!

Thanks again,
Emily
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top