7/27 Harvey AMPS 146 +2.5 88 +4.75 54 +5.5 57 +6.25 75 +7.5 103 PMPS 154 +3.25 102 +5.75 105

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
7/26 Recap
.1 units bid
AMPS: 120
AM+3.5: 68
AM+4.5: 66
AM+5.5: 71
AM+7.5: 98
PMPS: 92
PM+3: 84
PM+5: 101
PM+7: 97

Yesterday
Drum roll, please: WE HAVE A/C!!!!!!!!!!!!
dancing_cat.gif
dancing_cat.gif
dancing_cat.gif
Sorry to start out OT, but this is so huge that I just couldn't contain myself. Especially since we came very close to NOT having A/C today. More on that later.

I was not pleased with Harvey's AMPS this morning, and even more so when I saw he ate only a tiny bit of his t/f/s meal. However, he did a decent job on his breakfast, so I was not too concerned. But then, he didn't eat any more after that, and when I went to give him his meds about 3 hours later, he promptly gave them all back ! :eek: I waited about 30 minutes, and he was still smacking his lips, so I gave him an injection of 2 mg Ondansetron. Twenty minutes later he was at his food bowl, eating. :) I waited an hour before giving him his meds again, and this time they stayed down. I'm reasonably sure the 50s were courtesy of not eating and not feeling well. I'm going to blame the PMPS on a bounce. :mad: Highest number since we skipped a shot two weeks ago. :( I hope these higher preshots don't mean we're headed for a dosecrease. He did eat all his dinner.

The A/C repairman showed up around 9:15 and replaced the board. He came in and turned the A/C on and ..... nothing happened. :eek: He went out to the A/C unit itself and discovered a burned out capacitor. Now, if he had followed the rules to the letter, he would not have done anything until he got approval from the warranty company. But when he called, there was a twenty minute wait to speak to someone, so he called his company, and they told him to go ahead and that they would deal with the warranty people! :woot: So he replaced it and the baby started right up! DH talked to him about whether or not it's time to replace both the furnace and A/C. They are high quality units, but original to the house, so they're 26 years old - average life is about 20 years. He said new units would be much more efficient and save us a lot of $ on utility bills. We're going to get a quote.

I headed off to the doctor after Harvey's +7.5. I went in because my sciatica has been driving me berserk. It hadn't bothered me in about six years, other than the occasional brief flare up. But I also had not been doing my back exercises since this became Tricia's House of Chaos, and it was bound to catch up to me eventually. I'm surprised it took this long, actually. It started to bother me around late April, early May. I started up my exercises again, now that I have time, but no relief. Hence the doctor visit. He ordered new x-rays and I start PT tomorrow. If that doesn't help, we'll talk about the next step. He seemed to think that would do it, but since I've been doing the exercises I was given in PT six or seven years ago and they haven't helped, I'm skeptical. He thinks the flare up was caused by my limping when I had the Plantar Fasciitis, and the timeline does support that theory. But why hasn't it abated, now that I'm not limping and am exercising (and have been for 8 weeks)? Meanwhile, I'm miserable no matter what I do - sit down, stand up, walk, and even lying down! I sure hope this physical therapist is good! o_O

Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans. :bighug:



 
Woohoo for A/C!!! Ours will only run on low so the basement doesn't get cool. Ours is a swamp cooler and somewhere we pissed off the water gods so it's always breaking down.
 
Ours is a swamp cooler
I grew up with only swamp coolers, and I HATE them. During the monsoon season, they didn't do squat to cool us down! My parents got A/C after I went off to college. :rolleyes: I told Mark I would NEVER live in a house without A/C again, but I just did for a whole week!
 
So happy to hear you have A/C again!!....but I'm sure I'm not as happy as you are!!!

The capacitor was the problem with mine earlier this year too...it's a "cheap fix" when it comes to A/C repair costs. Glad he was willing to let the "paperwork" slide and go ahead and fix it for you!!

Sorry to hear Harvey's tummy was giving him grief today.....hopefully the A/C will make him feel better too! I know I'm nauseous when I'm hot!

Isn't sciatica a bit**? I've been living with it since 1988 and there are days I think the most compassionate thing anyone could do for me is put a bullet in my brain.....there's something about that "nagging" pain that just gets to you!

I sure hope the PT will help and you aren't looking at having any surgery...been there, done that.

I wouldn't worry about Harvey's numbers....he's been looking great and he's had a bad day (and there have been strangers around the house too). Looks like he's making a pretty good recovery tonight!
 
Harvey is on shore patrol tonight. I'm still not liking these numbers. +7.5 121. :mad: He didn't eat any more after dinner, so I gave him his tummy meds, and he has since finished that can of FF and was begging for more, so I opened one and he's eaten 1/3 of it already. Making up for lost time, I guess.

Isn't sciatica a bit**? I've been living with it since 1988 and there are days I think the most compassionate thing anyone could do for me is put a bullet in my brain.....there's something about that "nagging" pain that just gets to you!
YES! I am so TIRED of it!!! It's not the worst pain I've ever had, but being in constant pain wears at you. It brings back how I felt before my back surgery in 2002. The good news is that the x-ray showed no issues with the hardware in my back. I suspect I'll need an MRI to show what's causing the compression of the nerve. But I have to go through PT first. I hope it helps! I'd do surgery again if the results were as good as last time. Unfortunately, my wonderful surgeon moved to a different provider a few years ago. :( The good news is that I do like my new primary care doctor (my previous one, whom I loved, retired). He sent me a note about the x-rays at midnight! Now that's a hard worker!:woot:



 
Tricia, you're up late. It's almost time to go to work on this side of the continent.
I'm hoping that Harvey's numbers will come down after the upsets from yesterday. Maybe he needs ondansetron more regularly.
My furnace and AC was original with the house and was about 27 years old, when I finally got a new furnace and AC a few years ago. My AC guy kept asking if I saw a difference in my energy bills and I didn't at first, but I sure do now. I could not handle no AC.
I started my first PT on Tuesday and have my 2nd appointment tonight. I wish you luck with yours.
 
Yay on getting the AC fixed. :):):)

I hope Harvey's numbers come back down and he feels better today. I hope the PT helps. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry to hear you are suffering with sciatica Tricia, my DH had it a while back and a friend recommended yoga stretches, which worked wonders for him. If you haven't already tried it, might be worth a go. Either way, I hope you get some relief from the pain soon :bighug:

Great the AC is back working and hope Harvey's appy continues to improve.
 
Yay for AC and injectable ondansetron! I hope Harvey's appy stays steady. Boo on the sciatica .... prayers that the PT helps.
 
Yo Deputy Harvey,
Good work in the lagoon despite the fact that you weren't feeling too good. Take it a bit easy today and eat yer fuds and keep them down, OK?
~ LagoonMeister Rusty

Hi Tricia, I'm sorry to hear that your back is being difficult. I can recommend this book: Back Care Basics. It is a gentle yoga book specifically for back pain.

Great that your a/c is working again. Your climate really requires a/c!!! What did people do in the "old days"?

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top