Deborah & Shasta
Member Since 2012
7/28 Shasta
WCR: 2 Ps in place. She pees and sometimes she purrs. That's it for the moment. Ok, here's the gist of the day...
Last night's dose of Bupe was very psychedelic for her. She didn't want to be anywhere near me and her back legs were causing her concern which then caused me concern. All the while, I was just hoping that the pain had gone away for a while. I "slept" on the floor of the living room so that I could be closer to her. Needless to say, I got less than 2 hours of sleep. She wasn't interested in food past midnight and then I skipped her AM shot and didn't feed her because I didn't want her blood work to be food influenced. Ok, I have her a few niblets of a Chicken Pill Pocket.
We arrived at my vet's office at 7:30am, but didn't have an appointment. I felt horrible about just showing up and it turned out that they were completely booked and were short 2 techs.
I explained the vet tech what was going on, but I knew I would forget to tell him something or wouldn't phrase something the right way. When the vet came in, we talked about the possibility of P'titis and he starts talking about the test they use...at which time, I said "Spec fPL?" and he said "Yes" and for some reason, I thought we were on the same page...the vet report that I got today only listed the SNAP fPL (abnormal) and he made no mention of SPEC fPL results pending. Anyways, they took Shasta to the back and told me they'd call me when she was out from sedation. You mean I have to leave her?
I thought I was going to have a meltdown right there. What if she didn't come out of sedation and I didn't have a chance to kiss her again? Every horrible thought hit me. So, I left their office, ran a few errands, came home and started cleaning. I've been going, going, going since 5am and couldn't stop or I'd cry and/or fall asleep. So that's why her condo is so incredibly late. I am so sorry.
Vet report: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4QkzekNQKfYUGVFcm5VZ0pvNVE/view?usp=sharing
All looks normal on blood work (except glucose) and SNAP fPL is abnormal. Her heart sounded fine (for being sedated), her teeth were fine, she's really skinny. He said that he almost did x-rays but decided she didn't need them. I told him that I wish he had. He kept trying to find a nice way of saying that she isn't right in the head (even since last time he saw her...March 25th.) He settled on the word "senile". For a while now, I've thought there were some neurological issues with her...her little leg flicks, she's got a head tick. Yeah, I know...she's just turning 17 about now.
So, he wants me to give her sub-q fluids every day (100mL), 1/4 - 1/2 tab Cerenia (as needed, every 12 hours), and Bupe. I told him that the .04mL dose was too much and he said that it was the lowest recommended dose, but if it was too much, I could lose a drop. Since I don't like wasting meds, I cleaned last nights' syringe and pushed .02mL into it, so no wasting!
Back leg wobbliness: so, she's still really wobbly, but not as bad as last night. When she goes to lie down, she starts to lower herself down and then kind of falls to the side. Last night, she'd just fall over. I can tell she's in pain back there. She's been holding her tail kind of funny and although I'm really trying not to "handle" her, I had to pick her up this morning to put her in the carrier and again, this evening to get a poke. I tried to be gentle, but she cries and hisses...pain. At first, I thought it was the P'titis, but tonight while she was lying down, I gently ran my finger down her spine and when I got to her butt area...she told me to stop. I tried one more time, same thing, more aggressive "STOP" with a hiss and she got up and left. I got it on video, but that will have to be tomorrow's condo. So, could this be a spinal cord injury? Could it be something she's lived with for a while but because of not eating, it's now taking its toll? I'm unfamiliar with spinal cord injuries in cats...can they resolve themselves? Dangit, I wish my vet would have taken x-rays.
Again, I am so sorry for the late post. I've been so nervous and worried and helicoptering over Shasta every 4 minutes. Typing this condo is the longest I've gone without checking on her. I felt all of your prayers and vines today and wish I could give you all hugs and thank you in person. Thinking of Rhiannon and DH & Debie today.
Sending healthy vines to all our sugar kitties and their hoomins! Blessings!
~Deborah & Shasta
AMBG=258 (no food - skipped shot - vet visit)
+16=427 - vet's reading
+18.5=364 (13% FF Grilled Chicken in Gravy)
1/2 tab Cerenia
.02mL Bupe
PMPS=271 (13% FF Grilled Chicken in Gravy 1oz & Zobaline)
+2=214
+3= crumb of cypro
+4=234 3% FF T&G & Miralax w/ sprinkles of Pill Pockets)
+5.5=239
Poo Pee tally
Pee piles - 4
Poo piles - 0
WCR: 2 Ps in place. She pees and sometimes she purrs. That's it for the moment. Ok, here's the gist of the day...
Last night's dose of Bupe was very psychedelic for her. She didn't want to be anywhere near me and her back legs were causing her concern which then caused me concern. All the while, I was just hoping that the pain had gone away for a while. I "slept" on the floor of the living room so that I could be closer to her. Needless to say, I got less than 2 hours of sleep. She wasn't interested in food past midnight and then I skipped her AM shot and didn't feed her because I didn't want her blood work to be food influenced. Ok, I have her a few niblets of a Chicken Pill Pocket.
We arrived at my vet's office at 7:30am, but didn't have an appointment. I felt horrible about just showing up and it turned out that they were completely booked and were short 2 techs.
Vet report: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4QkzekNQKfYUGVFcm5VZ0pvNVE/view?usp=sharing
All looks normal on blood work (except glucose) and SNAP fPL is abnormal. Her heart sounded fine (for being sedated), her teeth were fine, she's really skinny. He said that he almost did x-rays but decided she didn't need them. I told him that I wish he had. He kept trying to find a nice way of saying that she isn't right in the head (even since last time he saw her...March 25th.) He settled on the word "senile". For a while now, I've thought there were some neurological issues with her...her little leg flicks, she's got a head tick. Yeah, I know...she's just turning 17 about now.
So, he wants me to give her sub-q fluids every day (100mL), 1/4 - 1/2 tab Cerenia (as needed, every 12 hours), and Bupe. I told him that the .04mL dose was too much and he said that it was the lowest recommended dose, but if it was too much, I could lose a drop. Since I don't like wasting meds, I cleaned last nights' syringe and pushed .02mL into it, so no wasting!
Back leg wobbliness: so, she's still really wobbly, but not as bad as last night. When she goes to lie down, she starts to lower herself down and then kind of falls to the side. Last night, she'd just fall over. I can tell she's in pain back there. She's been holding her tail kind of funny and although I'm really trying not to "handle" her, I had to pick her up this morning to put her in the carrier and again, this evening to get a poke. I tried to be gentle, but she cries and hisses...pain. At first, I thought it was the P'titis, but tonight while she was lying down, I gently ran my finger down her spine and when I got to her butt area...she told me to stop. I tried one more time, same thing, more aggressive "STOP" with a hiss and she got up and left. I got it on video, but that will have to be tomorrow's condo. So, could this be a spinal cord injury? Could it be something she's lived with for a while but because of not eating, it's now taking its toll? I'm unfamiliar with spinal cord injuries in cats...can they resolve themselves? Dangit, I wish my vet would have taken x-rays.
Again, I am so sorry for the late post. I've been so nervous and worried and helicoptering over Shasta every 4 minutes. Typing this condo is the longest I've gone without checking on her. I felt all of your prayers and vines today and wish I could give you all hugs and thank you in person. Thinking of Rhiannon and DH & Debie today.
Sending healthy vines to all our sugar kitties and their hoomins! Blessings!~Deborah & Shasta
AMBG=258 (no food - skipped shot - vet visit)
+16=427 - vet's reading
+18.5=364 (13% FF Grilled Chicken in Gravy)
1/2 tab Cerenia
.02mL Bupe
PMPS=271 (13% FF Grilled Chicken in Gravy 1oz & Zobaline)
+2=214
+3= crumb of cypro
+4=234 3% FF T&G & Miralax w/ sprinkles of Pill Pockets)
+5.5=239
Poo Pee tally
Pee piles - 4
Poo piles - 0
Last edited:
