? 7/31/16 Petey amps 276 +2 235 +7.5 303 pmps 288 holiday dose coming up

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily and Petey

Active Member
Good morning! Still surfing yellow. We'll see what the day brings.

On another note, I am going on vacation for two weeks. We leave this coming Thursday. Friend will be taking care of petey and I've taught them how to test and record P's numbers. Any advice regarding a reduced holiday dose -- how much to reduce and how gradually -- would be appreciated!


Thanks!
Emily

Petey 7/31 condo
 
How often will your friend be able to test?
Is Petey going to stay with her?
Or is she Petey sitting at your place?
Or coming and going for his t/f/s?

It's a little early to suggest a vaca dose, so much can change in just a few days in the world of FD.
You would look at reducing the dose for the vacation 2 cycles before you go, so on wednesday, so you will need to ask the same question in a couple of days, sorry, probably not the answer you were after.

Until then continue as normal :-)

He seems to still be bouncing, cycle 5 now since that blue amps, wonder if he will clear it today?:cool:
 
How often will your friend be able to test?
Is Petey going to stay with her?
Or is she Petey sitting at your place?
Or coming and going for his t/f/s?

Hi Gill - any answer that's helpful is the answer I'm after! I think I waited too close to my departure last time, so just wanted to make sure I was on it this time. I'll ask again on Tuesday.

To answer your other questions, my friends will be house/pet sitting, which I'm grateful for. They'll test at least twice a day, but they said they could do a +2 - 4 most days/evenings as well. I'm going to see if they can keep posting petey's numbers on this forum so they have help if anything looks wonky.

Thanks again!
E
 
When I left George with my friend she got 4-6 tests a day. I reduced him so that she wouldn't have to deal with any low number stress and I gave her my login in case she needed it, which she didn't.

The other thing to think about is what no shoot number you would give her.

How are you feeling about this dose and Peteys numbers at the moment?
 
When I left George with my friend she got 4-6 tests a day. I reduced him so that she wouldn't have to deal with any low number stress and I gave her my login in case she needed it, which she didn't.

The other thing to think about is what no shoot number you would give her.

How are you feeling about this dose and Peteys numbers at the moment?

Okay, so you told your friend just to use the FDMB if she had a question or an emergency, not on a regular basis?

I told him & her to call me before shooting if he's green and not to shoot if he's below 50. Does that sound wise?

I don't really know what to think about this dose right now. He had a near perfect green surf on this dose, but since then he's been bouncing. Should I consider an increase if he doesn't clear after this next cycle?

Thanks!
 
...actually, we don't know if he cleared his bounce the night of 7/28. He was blue in the morning of the 29th and then began a bounce in the afternoon, so he may have been in the green the night before. If so, he'd be due to clear again soon. If he does, then I'd say this is a good dose right now. We just need him to stop bouncing every time he hits a little green!
 
We are quite rural, and she doesn't have good internet connection. So she would txt me the numbers and I updated on the board, I left her the log in details in case she needed help.
She had my number, the vets, her sister is a vet tech, and she had a diabetic cat some years ago. So she had the possibility of getting help from various sources, she's a bit shy and she wasn't to keen on posting so I didn't push it.
Others have had their stand in carer post up daily for them.
I would add that I was gone for just under a week both times.

Absolutely she should not shoot under 50, but you probably want to give her a higher green or even blue number that she shouldn't shoot without consulting you first.

eg I was shooting green regularly the second time George stayed with my friend but I gave her a no shoot of 105, the reduction I took saw him run higher than I had been running him so it never became an issue.( 2016 january 20th I took the reduction 3 cycles before he went to the sitters on this occasion)
the first time I gave her a no shoot of 150, Georges numbers then were more bouncy. (If you look at the 2015 tab and dec 9, just before going to the pet sitter, he was due an increase, which I didn't take and then I dropped him on the day she went to him, he was running pretty high then so I didn't take the reduction to 2.5 until my friend shot)
My thinking on both occasions was that I didn't want to have to deal with steering him because he was diving below 50. Not because she isn't capable, but just because I didn't want to put her in that position.

You have to consider whether you feel comfortable with having Petey drop low enough that she will have to intervene with food to keep him safe, if you have Of course even if you take precautions and are conservative with dosing that might still happen, but you may not want her to push the numbers quite as much as you would.


All that said, she is your friend and you will know what the right choice is for Petey.
 
Gill - thanks so much for the thoughtful and thorough response. This is very helpful! I def. don't want my friends (they're a couple who'll be staying at my house and both will help) to have to deal w low numbers if it can be avoided and I just don't want to have to worry about Petey's safety more than necessary while on vacation. So I will def take a reduction. Thanks for advice on the no shoot numbers. I will have them consult me if he's 150 or lower. I think my friends are comfortable posting for me, so I'll have them do that for me.

Thanks again for all the support!

Good night-
Emily
 
I think my friends are comfortable posting for me, so I'll have them do that for me.
If they do that and keep Petey's ss updated I'm sure they'll/you'll get tons of support from the board.

I'm off on Tuesday for a week, so won't be on, but I'll look out for them when I get back :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top