7/5 Sampson +11 300 AMPS 378 +1 380 +2 346 Nadir +6 83 - Thoughts on feeding plan?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenn

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...91-have-qs-about-feeding-on-the-curve.140474/

One of the dogs was up all night (who would have thought benadryl would make him stay awake rather than sleep!) and I missed one alarm so I didn't get to try food trials today. Going to try them tonight instead.
Thoughts on this trial? (pasted from the last condo)
I missed my alarm this morning so I didn't get to try feeding but he was also high this am, as opposed to last night. Figured he was bouncing. His normal food is no carb raw, 4 oz a day. Friskies for him would be a can a day. So 1/4th can Friskies is equal to 1oz of his raw. So what if I tried 1oz raw at shot and 1/8th can at +2 and +4. Or should I maybe start lower and work my way up? I would rather give him too much for the two days I work but I could experiment more at night so I don't want to load him up too much.
 
Is it the bouncing you are trying to control by changing his food? It could work. You don't know until you try. BUT, if he's been on just raw for a while, you might run into GI issues by adding in the canned. I haven't fed raw, so I'm not real knowledgeable about it, but several people here are, so hopefully some of them will come along and weigh in. Good luck with whatever you decide to do.

Antihistamines affect each person (or animal) differently. Actifed always made me sleepy, but it wires my DH right up! I guess EDID, too!
 
Those green nadirs last night and today look fantastic! :D As he sees more of them, his body should stop freaking out so much and bouncing as hard.

Food trials really are experiments. You have to just try something and see what works, then adjust if it doesn't. The goal is to try to slow down some of the fast drops Sampson seems to have. If you look at his SS, he does a lot of big drops around +2. Maybe do half of his daytime food at preshot time, then start by splitting the rest into two portions, one at +2 and the other at +4 to start. If you find the +2 doesn't slow that drop, maybe back it up to +1.5. And you can also play with carb percentages, but try one thing at a time for a while. It can take a couple of weeks for food changes to be seen. Here is a post where Jill makes some comments on Feeding the Curve that is a good read.
 
Is it the bouncing you are trying to control by changing his food? It could work. You don't know until you try. BUT, if he's been on just raw for a while, you might run into GI issues by adding in the canned. I haven't fed raw, so I'm not real knowledgeable about it, but several people here are, so hopefully some of them will come along and weigh in. Good luck with whatever you decide to do.

Antihistamines affect each person (or animal) differently. Actifed always made me sleepy, but it wires my DH right up! I guess EDID, too!
I want to control the bouncing but I'm not really sure how long I will need to control it? That's why I've been avoiding it. My other reason for intracycle feeding (is that a word? LOL) is that I want to make sure he doesn't go low in the 12 hours I'm away from home during the day. We have just gone back up to 1u from .75 after he earned the reduction from going down to 42. I freaked out a little and didn't wait around to see if he would raise himself and I just fed high carb to get him up. Kind of wish I would have let him ride it out a little longer so I would know what to expect. He's been on raw for a month yesterday and the only GI issues he has had so far at all have been the first time he tried liver by itself and when his hairballs were causing vomiting, since then he has gotten used to it and no longer had issues withe he hair balls with the addition of fresh catnip.

Those green nadirs last night and today look fantastic! :D As he sees more of them, his body should stop freaking out so much and bouncing as hard.

Food trials really are experiments. You have to just try something and see what works, then adjust if it doesn't. The goal is to try to slow down some of the fast drops Sampson seems to have. If you look at his SS, he does a lot of big drops around +2. Maybe do half of his daytime food at preshot time, then start by splitting the rest into two portions, one at +2 and the other at +4 to start. If you find the +2 doesn't slow that drop, maybe back it up to +1.5. And you can also play with carb percentages, but try one thing at a time for a while. It can take a couple of weeks for food changes to be seen. Here is a post where Jill makes some comments on Feeding the Curve that is a good read.
Am I worrying for no reason? I have only one cycle left before I go to work for 12 hours and I'm worried that the no carb food won't be enough to bring him up if he goes low. My brother is home during the day (for now) but he won't test. He will feed, though, if I need him to. So he would get 1oz at shot time, 0.5 oz at +2 and +4. I will try this tonight and see what happens. I think I just need to stop worrying so much! LoL
 
I don't think you need to worry that much, but you concerns have some merit. Spreading out the food like that, with a few carbs later, is a good safely measure, IMHO.
 
Tricia is right - adding a few carbs to those +2 and +4 meals when you are away is a good safely measure. My Neko eats raw, but her HC is canned food, so she does occasionally mix the two. I did find she doesn't react well to wheat, so I had to find some grain free HC. Again, another experiment!
 
Aww, I just portioned out 22 .5oz meals and 11 1oz meals for the next week. Lol Wendy, how much do you use and how did you know the wheat didn't settle well?
 
The amount of high carb food needed is ECID - some cats are more carb sensitive than others. Next time you see Sampson going lower, take good notes on how much you feed so you can see how he reacts to it. I could tell Neko didn't like the wheat cause she'd get the runs if she had too much of the gravy with wheat.
 
How do I know how much is from him just rising on his own vs how much is from the food?
 
it depends on when in the cycle it is.
If he rises right after eating, then it's probably food carbs.
If his blood sugar is dropping, he eats and it begins to rise, or stop dropping, then it's probably the food.
If it's in the 2nd half of the cycle, then it's probably the insulin wearing off.

I know all of that is probably not helpful, but there are so many variables that it's not a simple answer.
 
The amount of high carb food needed is ECID - some cats are more carb sensitive than others. Next time you see Sampson going lower, take good notes on how much you feed so you can see how he reacts to it.
This is the secret to learning how YOUR cat responds to carbs in food at any given point in the cycle.
It's a learning process. Observe and record your observations. In time, you'll begin to see a pattern.
 
Looks like he is maybe dropping a bit slower with the spread out of just the raw. Or could it just be a bounce?
 
Bounces go up, not down.....Looks like he "bounced" up from the 83 he dropped to this morning....that was also a large drop. Bounces are caused by the cat dropping too low, lower than they're "used to", and from fast drops.....He didn't drop too low, but either the 2nd or 3rd reason (or both) set him up to "bounce" tonight by PMPS time

Looks like he's "clearing the bounce" tonight though! And he's dropping slower than he did this morning, so that's good too!

Unfortunately, just changing his feeding schedule once isn't going to tell you a lot....it really just takes time and experimenting....and good record keeping!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top