7/7 Ravan/+4 347/+9 236/pmps373/+4 247/+8 402/

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by JoyBee&Ravan, Jul 7, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JoyBee&Ravan

    JoyBee&Ravan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    7/6/RAVAN/amps275/+4 337/+8 304/pmps550/+5 414/+8 497


    What is happening to his BG? It was going up on 1 unit I increased at pm & it's still 414?

    Yesterday:
    Maybe you guys could take a look at Ravan's SS & give me your opinion

    Who proved there WASN't such a thing as SOMOGYI Effect? I had a Vet today , Elderly man ,supposed to be a specialist in Diabetes. "DACVIM" who told me Ravan was having the SOMOGYI Effect. When I told him it was dis proven he wanted to know who dis-proved it & is waiting for me to give him that info.
    He also insisted when the bg goes very low & then very high it's definitely too much insulin! He knows Ravan's on Lantus but said he would recommend I switch to LEVEMIR He said it stayed longer in the system than Lantus.

    Have any of you switched from Lantus to Levemir for the same reason as Ravan is having? Huge bounces?? anywhere from 35 to 600!!

    His Pmps is 550 What is causing that now? Doesn't appear to be a bounce. I increased his pm shot back to 1.25. His urinalysis was good no Ketones, no Uti. He hasn't been hardly eating today Still drinking a ton of water.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2018
  2. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    You said his bilirubin was elevated yesterday, maybe that has something to do with the elevated BG, I’m not sure, don’t know much about that, sorry couldn’t be more help with that, maybe someone who does know will weigh in, I tired to research but wasn’t finding much.
    I don’t know anything about the somogyi effect either, I did read about it but can’t give advice on that
    It wouldn’t hurt to try levemir if it doesn’t work out then u can always go back to lantus
    Was he tested for pancreatitis? I did see when reading about bilirubin that it does elevate with pancreatitis
    https://www.2ndchance.info/pancreatitiscat.htm
    Sorry couldn’t help more but I’m sending lots of healing vines to all your babies:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    JoyBee&Ravan likes this.
  3. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    I think you did the right thing by increasing his dose. Remember that Lantus forms a depot so the full effect of the dose increase won't be seen until the depot fills to the new dose; usually 3-5 cycles.
     
    JoyBee&Ravan likes this.
  4. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    This link http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...209-pmps-224-3-240-8-278.183776/#post-2039875 is from another thread that discusses Somogyi effect (post #3 and post #7 has the document attached).

    Many of us switched from Lantus to Levemir so if you choose to do so just post and ask for dosing advice. It's usually recommended you start at 70% of the current lantus dose but also depends on the BG numbers Raven is seeing at the time of the switch. Some cats are just very bouncy and it can take a while before they flatten out.
     
    JoyBee&Ravan likes this.
  5. JoyBee&Ravan

    JoyBee&Ravan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    @Doodles & Karen

    Thank you so much for that article about Somogyi. The vet that told me that isn't my regular vet. This other guy fills in when the owner of the Practice is out of town(my Vet)
    I don't get along with him & we have had disagreements before. I can't wait to send the info you provided to him.

    Since I just increased the Lantus dose I'm going to wait,one more time, to see what happens. If it's not a good response I'll try Levemir.

    I appreciate you responding.
     
  6. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Take a deep breath, Ravan is very newly diagnosed. Unfortunately many of us have had those type of disagreements with vets. I personally went through 5 vets and 3 IM vets before finding one reasonable. It's good to have documentation :)
     
    JoyBee&Ravan likes this.
  7. JoyBee&Ravan

    JoyBee&Ravan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    @Doodles & Karen
    It's been almost 6 months since this journey began. It feels like 6 years!:(

    Your encouragement HELPS!
    Thank You :)
     
  8. JoyBee&Ravan

    JoyBee&Ravan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    "I’m sending lots of healing vines to all your babies"

    @Bellasmom

    Thank you for the "Vines" we definitely need all the help we can get!
    Ravan had blood work 5 months ago. No pancreatitis. I think he'd be in a lot of pain with that?

    ( how do you put the quote from someone's comments on top? I'm doing it wrong.)
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    One of the main differences between Lantus and Levemir is the onset and nadir times. Levemir onsets typically around +4 and nadirs around +8. My girl wasn't typical, but instead later. It's not uncommon to have nadirs near preshot, so you do have to get used to shooting low. On the up side, you have four hours to get food innthem before the Lev onsets.

    I didn't switch to get rid of bouncing, though Neko was flatter on Lev than Lantus. And it worked better for our schedule. Neko took over a year to slow down her bouncing, it was very frustrating!

    I am glad Karen posted the link to the paper on Symogyi. This link points to a UC Davis (one of the top vet schools) FB page on pet diabetes. The second article down has a good take on the myth of Symogyi and how hard it's been to get vet's to stop talking about it,
     
    JoyBee&Ravan likes this.
  10. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I don’t know lol
     
    JoyBee&Ravan likes this.
  11. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    If you drag your mouse over the words you want to reply to, a wee message box will come up that says "Reply". click on it.

    Nicer +9 for Ravan.
     
    JoyBee&Ravan likes this.
  12. JoyBee&Ravan

    JoyBee&Ravan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    @Wendy&Neko
    "Neko took over a year to slow down her bouncing"

    When you say "bouncing" was she bouncing from Green to Black or Red? Some cats don't seem to ever get black #'s and some bounce from green to yellow! That, I would not be upset about!

    I don't understand how Kitty ever gets used to the low #'s if I'm changing the dose every time he bounces? And why did Ravan start getting so many Black #'s recently. I always thought he would gradually keep getting better not worse?
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2018
  13. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    It took her a year to stop bouncing to red from green. In the early days, she also had plenty of blacks and "Hi" in there too.

    You don't change the dose when they bounce, you change the dose if it's not giving you the nadirs you want.
     
    JoyBee&Ravan likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page