7/9 Radar - greens last night -pmps 276 +2/216 maybe a short bounce this time????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jan Radar (GA)

Very Active Member
Saturday's condo

I increased Radar's dose at his pm shot on Saturday night from 4.25 to 4.5 because although there has been a bit of blue, I haven't seen any green in 8 cycles. I don't think the depot for the new dose has filled after just one shot. So that makes me think that although it took lots of cycles for Radar to settle in, the dose of 4.25 is actually the one that brought the greens tonight. This makes me feel very worried about giving him 4.5 units at his am shot in a few hours.

Is it possible that those few extra drops of insulin started working right away to get us to green??

I just don't know what to do...
 
Some cats do react immediately from a dose increase. Sometimes they just need a little bump up to kickstart them into better numbers and then they earn the reduction right back down. If you are able to monitor, I'd shoot the 4.5 units and let Radar earn the reduction back to 4.25 units. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Radar was happily napping in the morning sun when I had to disturb him for his amps. It was a very high 405 so I expect him to bounce for several days ... I still feel very worried about giving so much insulin but I am able to monitor so I will press on and let him earn the reduction in a few days instead of what I want to do which is just reduce. :nailbiting:
 
There was a time when I went from 12 units back to 12.5 and he had a green nadir the very same night. Based on Chino's patterns, I went back to 12 units when I saw that, because he rarely shows improvement on the very first cycle of an increase. When he does, it's usually because he's coming down from a bounce, which takes him lower than usual.

I'm not advising for or against... just saying that the replies to today's condo show 2 examples of cats who respond on the first cycle of an increase, and one example of a cat who doesn't. If you have enough data to know how Radar usually responds, that might help guide your decision.
 
Radars +4 test was 297
I think I will give us a break from testing today. But I'm still wondering about whether I could have held Radar's dose for a couple more cycles since he's relatively new to having consistent numbers "below" 200. Or am I still not understanding how to interpret those TR guidelines?? I don't want to hold the dose too long but it also seems important To give him "enough time" to adjust to Numbers in the healthy range. Thanks in advance for whatever wisdom you'd like to share.
 
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

I see that you are online right now...What do you think about Radar's ss?
You waited eight cycles after the last green to increase. I think that was long enough. The bounce had cleared and you only saw a very high blue. I would have increased when you did. Let's see how long it takes Radar to clear this bounce. Hopefully not as long as previously.
 
You waited eight cycles after the last green to increase. I think that was long enough. The bounce had cleared and you only saw a very high blue. I would have increased when you did. Let's see how long it takes Radar to clear this bounce. Hopefully not as long as previously.
That makes me feel better about the increase. :) He is feeling good today zooming around the house and running up and down the stairs like a kitten so I'm hopeful he will decide greens are more fun than bouncing. :cat::D
 
Other than a big food spike at +1, Radar's numbers have been gradually going down today... with the lowest number I've seen today at +2 with 216. Now I'm wondering what he will do next..... maybe the bouncing will be short this time??? I really hope so.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top