7 weeks kitten diagnosed

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Ain, Mar 22, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ain

Ain New Member

Hi, I'm new here. My 7 weeks old kitten, Adik, was diagnosed with diabetes yesterday and had to be admitted. I first met Adik at the back of my house where he was abandoned by his mom and was starving. He was only 2 weeks old.

This is my first time raising a cat, what's more a diabetic kitten. My vet said that it is a very rare disease and she has only met 3 kittens (including mine) with this disease in her 10 years of experience being a Veterinarian. Only 1 survived out of the 2 kittens. Yesterday, Adik started vomiting a lot so they had to give him IV drips. He has always been sick on and off, and to think that that small little body had been through a lot, really saddens me. Fortunately, his condition has improved and maybe, he can be discharged tomorrow.

2. Mogmom and Goofus

Mogmom and Goofus Well-Known Member

Welcome! I'm so glad you found that poor little darling! It is rare that such a young kitten
    has diabetes, but unfortunately, diabetes is becoming quite common in cats.

I'm guessing that due to your vets statement that she isn't really experienced in treating
    the disease. I'd like to suggest that you do A LOT of reading on this forum, these people
    have been treating it for years and years. Several of them have raised multiple "sugar
    babies".

I won't lie and say it's going to be a walk in the park, but it WILL get easier and it's very possible, that due to Adik's young age, with the proper diet the condition
    could be reversed. Or at the very least, obtain remission. :cat:

Last edited: Mar 22, 2016
  3. Mogmom and Goofus

Mogmom and Goofus Well-Known Member

Also, if you'd give us your location, it'll make it much easier to give advice. Someone
    here might know of a vet in your location that's well versed in the care and treatment