Mandarin'sMom
Member Since 2014
Last condo
First of all: thank you so much for all of your concern and for your messages after I disappeared from the board for a few days. What started out as food poisoning turned into the worst migraine I have had in probably 20 years. I basically laid in a dark room for 48 hours and wasn't able to move or do much. Luckily, a friend of mine came over to take care of me and the critters... but Amy isn't able to test or do Insulin and she never even saw Mandarin.
I managed to test a few times, but Walter ended up with a skipped shot yesterday after he threw me a 46 at AMPS. Amazingly enough, he is already coming back down... so he might be getting ready for a reducie soon.
I also almost rescheduled Mandarin's dental, but his vet is leaving town on Wednesday and wouldn't be able to get him in until late August. So my friend Amy dropped him off this morning. I can't even begin to describe how stressed the poor boy was. At 10 am, the vet called that he was awake and that they either needed me to pick him up or sedate him, he was that frantic. His BG was 505 at the vet. Since everyone I know as at work, I drove out there and got him (let's just say that I am glad that I made it back home safely). He had three fractured teeth that needed to be removed, two additional extractions, lots of tartar, gingivitis and boneloss. In short, his poor mouth was a mess. And it's been only a year and a half since his last dental.
I am just glad the last few days are over. I feel like I've been hit by a truck - and I have only been out of bed for three hours. My head is pounding and I think I will lay down for a bit before I try to take Mandarin's bandage off.
First of all: thank you so much for all of your concern and for your messages after I disappeared from the board for a few days. What started out as food poisoning turned into the worst migraine I have had in probably 20 years. I basically laid in a dark room for 48 hours and wasn't able to move or do much. Luckily, a friend of mine came over to take care of me and the critters... but Amy isn't able to test or do Insulin and she never even saw Mandarin.
I managed to test a few times, but Walter ended up with a skipped shot yesterday after he threw me a 46 at AMPS. Amazingly enough, he is already coming back down... so he might be getting ready for a reducie soon.
I also almost rescheduled Mandarin's dental, but his vet is leaving town on Wednesday and wouldn't be able to get him in until late August. So my friend Amy dropped him off this morning. I can't even begin to describe how stressed the poor boy was. At 10 am, the vet called that he was awake and that they either needed me to pick him up or sedate him, he was that frantic. His BG was 505 at the vet. Since everyone I know as at work, I drove out there and got him (let's just say that I am glad that I made it back home safely). He had three fractured teeth that needed to be removed, two additional extractions, lots of tartar, gingivitis and boneloss. In short, his poor mouth was a mess. And it's been only a year and a half since his last dental.
I am just glad the last few days are over. I feel like I've been hit by a truck - and I have only been out of bed for three hours. My head is pounding and I think I will lay down for a bit before I try to take Mandarin's bandage off.
