? 8/14 planning to dose my cat with 1 unit every 12 hrs ?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sasha24, Aug 13, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sasha24

Sasha24 Member

Yesterday, i mentioned that the vet instructed me to dose 2 units of lantus (Pen) once a day. The vet doing this dose of 2 units since we started last august 1 for 4 days then do an alternate schedule like every other day,. however when we start to alternate the schedule in giving doses there's increase in sugar level and also my cat's liver is very high. So yesterday the vet decided that i should give my cat 2 units once a day for the whole week. But upon reading the threads, dose should be given 12 hours every day. Later around 17:00 HRS Philippine time, i am planning to cut the 2 units into 1 unit every 12 hours. is this okay?.

Thank you in advance for your advise. i am still new at this and surely will ask lots of question during my adjustment period.

2. Chris & China (GA)

Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

Lantus should be given every 12 hours

I think your plan to go to 1U every 12 hours is a good one

Always test before shooting.....then on the AM cycle, try to test again 5-7 hours after the shot and on the PM cycle, make sure to get a test "before bed"

3. Bron and Sheba (GA)

Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi, I've just read through your other post. Yes it is much better to give the insulin twice a day 12 hours apart.
    So pick a time 12 hours apart that will suit you best both night and morning and stick to those times.
    If you only have a pen and not syringes, starting on 1 unit is fine.
    You will need to stay on this dose of 1 unit for 5 days to let the depot fill. If your kitty drops too low you would of course reduce the dose.