8/17 punkin amps 389 +6.5/238 pmps 367

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by julie & punkin (ga), Aug 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    yesterday

    oh look, it's the crappy post-low numbers + bounce + now not enough insulin BGs! ohmygod_smile :lol:

    we reduced his dose last night from 9u to 3u to let the shed drain and prevent another round of poke-carb dance last night. yesterday he spent 5 hrs dropping below 50 with every other test despite plenty of carbs. but he bounced from the low numbers anyway. this morning i rechecked his ss and saw that before he had the dental that started this fiasco he was at 6.5u, so we returned to 6units this morning and will hold that til it settles.

    that ought to be a low enough dose to prevent yesterday's low numbers and be high enough to let us give him his fluids today.

    Lu, thanks for the tip on not giving the fluids within 2 hours of his shot. i want DH to be here to do it and he doesn't get home til 1.5 hrs before the pm shot, so i'm going to have to think how i'm going to do this today. *puts on thinking cap*

    good news, however - mr punkin made it into the CPC this morning - and he got anya there too! he's definitely feeling better. and at the moment he's hanging out upstairs instead of in the basement, which also says he feels better. last week he was hiding downstairs and got to the point of barely lifting his head when i was going for him. sometimes when he heard me coming down the stairs he dove under my desk to hide. :sad:

    i'm doing the happy dance for mr punkin feeling better! :D
     
  2. Melissa & Tarragon

    Melissa & Tarragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 8/17 punkin amps 389

    I've missed your condo the last few days and am just now catching up. So sorry Punkin hasn't been feeling well. Healing vines for the big guy!! What a day yesterday for all of you. I don't blame you on cutting the dose way back. Thinking of you and hope Punkin gets better and better! :YMHUG:
     
  3. Deborah & Shasta

    Deborah & Shasta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Re: 8/17 punkin amps 389

    Punkin!!! Glad to hear you're feeling better than last week. But now...can we talk about the 5 hours of below 50?!?!?! :eek: :shock: Please be good to your momma bean and surf in some normal numbers today and tonight!

    Hope your Friday sees some easy yellows, blues and/or HIGH greens!!!!

    ~ Deborah
     
  4. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

    Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Re: 8/17 punkin amps 389

    Sending tons of healing vines for Punkin! Good luck with the dose, and I hope that he starts showing you some lower #s for you both very soon. Hang in there! :YMHUG:
     
  5. tortie58

    tortie58 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Re: 8/17 punkin amps 389

    Glad that Punkin is doing better. 5 hrs below 50? Awww... Mr Punkin, you can surf on higher green numbers!
     
  6. Julie & Orange

    Julie & Orange Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Re: 8/17 punkin amps 389

    I am so happy to hear that Punkin is starting to feel better. Poor guy! Sending lots of love over for him!
     
  7. Leslie and Jasper

    Leslie and Jasper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Re: 8/17 punkin amps 389

    Glad Punkin is starting to feel better! Punkin, 5 hours digging holes to the low greens?! Not cool! Please ease out of the pink too, give Julie a break !
     
  8. Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

    Ann & Maggie11 (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Re: 8/17 punkin amps 389

    Hi Julie, so glad to read your condo and see that punkin is feeling better. He sure has been thru a lot lately. Give him lots of scritches from us.
     
  9. Anne & Zener GA

    Anne & Zener GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Re: 8/17 punkin amps 389

    Yay for CPC! That is definitely a good sign for mr. punkin. :D :D Could DH come home at lunch to help with the squids?
    Liz
     
  10. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Re: 8/17 punkin amps 389

    At least you didn't do a fur shot last night. :lol: I did one of those one of the mornings at CSU when it was supposed to be a half shot, when she was starting a bounce. Oh well, they all recover from it, and you got to get some sleep last night. The post dental dose seems like a good idea, he did seem like he was doing rather well at that time.

    Yeah for appy! Good luck on the squids.
     
  11. MelanieAndRacci

    MelanieAndRacci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Re: 8/17 punkin amps 389 +6.5/238

    Wow Julie, you guys really had a rough day yesterday! I'm so glad Punkin is feeling better today! I know what that's like with the 5 hours of poke & carb when you're exhausted! And to have everything else going on on top of it, ugh! I hope your vet gave you an apology.

    Poor little Punkin! His +6 is decent though and looks like he might be coming out of the bounce. I hope he keeps eating and rests and you both feel better tomorrow.

    Hugs,
    Melanie & Racci
     
  12. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Re: 8/17 punkin amps 389 +6.5/238

    It's good to hear that Punkin is feeling better. Hope he keeps getting better and you can get some sleep tonight.
     
  13. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    i'm not too worried about a PJ party tonight, that's for sure!

    DH came home early for work and we gave the fluids at +10. it went pretty fast and punkin was definitely not the calm kitty that he was for the vet, but he did ok as long as we gave him a steady stream of chicken bits.

    not seeing any evidence of the fluids causing a drop this afternoon. He was 281 at +10 when he got the fluids and pmps was 367. doesn't look like a drop to my eyes. so perhaps tuesday was a coincidence.
     
  14. MelanieAndRacci

    MelanieAndRacci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    No drop is good. That makes life less complicated for you.

    Good night!
    Melanie & Racci
     
  15. Michelle and Mannie (GA)

    Michelle and Mannie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Hi julie - It is great to read that Punkin is feeling better. What great news. and back to the CPC: Mannie would be so proud! :D Good luck too with the fluids - I am sure that soon you'll be master at it, and that Punkin won't mind so much. Funny how they are so cooperative at the vet, and the minute you get them home.... :shock:

    I hope you had a great day today!
     
  16. koala kim

    koala kim Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Glad Punkin is doing better. :smile:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page