? 8/22 Teddy PMPS 422, + 2 346, +4 223, +5 200

Status
Not open for further replies.
Teddy is bouncing from the drop to blue yesterday. It can take up -to 6 cycles to clear so just hold the dose. As he gets more use to the lower numbers hopefully he won't bounce as much. Do get a spot check in today like you have been. Hope his appy is good today!
 
Teddy is bouncing from the drop to blue yesterday. It can take up -to 6 cycles to clear so just hold the dose. As he gets more use to the lower numbers hopefully he won't bounce as much. Do get a spot check in today like you have been. Hope his appy is good today!
He ate well this morning. Happy about that. :cat:
 
I just re-read the post from Doodles and Karen, so I gave him the .25 dose. If we started Saturday night at .25, 6 cycles will be tomorrow night.
 
I would begin to test a little more frequently tonight if you see this, and definitely tomorrow morning. Counting forward 3 days from that green 76 would be tomorrow morning. I would be looking for him to clear the bounce between now and sometime tomorrow. Test a little more often and when you see a yellow, start testing more frequently. Your goal is to catch the low point so you know how low he's going on the 0.25u.
 
OK. I will test tonight and tomorrow morning. Do you usually test all night? If he clears the bounce, that means his blood sugar will stabilize? I guess I need to do some more reading.

These are the times I wish I was a stay at home kitty-mom not a working kitty mom. How do you balance it all?
 
No, I didn't stay up all night. We shot punkin at 7am/7pm and don't usually go to bed til 11:30, so that let me get a +4.5 before bed. His nadir was typically about +5.5. On a regular Lantus (non-bouncing) cycle I could see how low he was likely to get before I went to bed. Bounces override the typical Lantus cycle so it was different then.

With time - even a week or two - patterns will emerge and you'll be able to make some predictions on how Teddy is likely to react, based upon what you've seen in the past.

Anytime you can't stay awake, use food for a safety net. Many cats (not all) will seek food if their blood sugar is dropping. This is something you want to figure out about Teddy - will he look for food if his blood sugar is getting low?

Some people drink a large glass of water before going to bed, then when they have to get up to go to the bathroom they test their cat. I couldn't wake back up in my bed, so I slept with the light on in the living room and used my cell phone alarm to wake up if I had to - but I definitely didn't do it often.

I wasn't working when punkin became diabetic and was glad I had the luxury of learning while I was at home. I can only imagine how hard this would be to do while having to go to work in the morning. When I did go back to work, I bought a PetSafe 5 compartment timed feeder - it has 4 compartments that open. We'd taught him to eat from it and always fed his +3 in it so we knew he would reliably respond and go to the feeder when it opened. That way we could count on him eating when we meant him to. There is a yellow-boxed sticky on how to follow Tight Reg while working - you'll find lots of tips there that you can try.
 
Thats Julie,

We are doing 7AM and 7PM as well. We usually go to bed around 9:30 and get up at 5:00. It is difficult to do it all. Tonight, I'm staying up to do a 10aM test. I'll set the alarm to wake up around 12:30 so I can test him again. I normally need to work a lot but I also need to be available for Teddy. I do have a camera to watch him during the day and my husband can check on him too but can't test yet. I will see if I can get away during day to come home and test again. Poor little guy. He has been hiding from me tonight with testing/shot/medicine, etc.
 
Last edited:
You might consider moving your shot time closer to the 5am that you get up. That would hopefully mean that you wouldn't have these crazy late nights that you're having tonight. But like I said, bounce cycles don't follow any guideline - they clear at will.

I think he is clearing the bounce tonight, now - look at how he's dropping in these 3 tests you've had tonight. I would check him 1 hour after the 223. I'd also feed him some regular low carb now if you haven't yet to try to get this drop to slow down. Dropping quickly, more than over 50 points an hour or so, is enough to trigger another bounce.

Sorry for the bad news.

At any point if you can't stay up, pull out your high carb and give him some of it, say an ounce or so. If you can keep testing you don't need to do that. Low carb is your first tool - typically we save high carb (over 15%) for when the kitty drops into low numbers.
 
By the way, Cheryl, it helps if you edit your thread title throughout the day as you get tests.

For tonight, it would be:

8/22 Teddy pmps 422 +2/346 +3/223

That way people can see at a glance what's going on. With that subject line, anyone with experience would know that you needed the suggestion to intervene with food to slow down the fast drop. People scan the thread titles to keep an eye on what's going on with kitties - there are far too many threads for any person to check in on every cat every day, but this way we can see people who need help - even if they don't know it!!:D
 
by bad news, I just mean that you need to stay up and test some more. It's good news that he's clearing the bounce.:D
I would love to give him the shot at 5AM but I need to make sure he hasn't eaten for two hours so we usually pick up the food (we have another cat as well) at 5AM. I am going to find a way to make that work.

I just gave him some low carb food and he is really chowing down. I will stay up the extra hour so I can test him again. :) I'm so happy he's not as high and that he is eating.
 
Some people use a timed feeder during the night and have it move to an empty compartment at +10 so the kitty doesn't have access to food in those last couple of hours. Close the refrigerator for them, so to speak!

At this point, I'd give him some low carb about every hour or so to try to help slow him down and surf along rather than going too low. That's plan A for if he stays over 68AT.

I am headed to bed - but want to just give you some guidelines in case you need them tonight. These are plan B directions: If Teddy goes below 68, you'll want to give him about a teaspoon of gravy from a can of high carb food. If you don't have gravy cat food, add a drop or two of corn syrup, honey or maple syrup to one bite of his regular food. Then you'll retest in 20ish minutes. It can take 30 minutes for the full effects of high carb to show up in the blood sugar, but most people start out testing more often than that.

When you retest him, if he's over 68 you can just give him one bite of low carb to help him surf. If he's under 68, you repeat the process with a teaspoon or so of gravy.

Then it's lather, rinse repeat.

Here are the full directions on handling low numbers for those following Tight Reg - what I said above is my own Cliff Notes version.
DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS
The following guidelines apply to those following the Tight Regulation Protocol only.

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus & Levemir Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 prefix to the first post in your thread. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range.

ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
  • staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
  • ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
  • disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
  • twitching
  • stupor
  • convulsions or seizures
  • coma

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby
If he does get to that point, edit your thread title to ask for "help with low numbers" - there are typically people on here all night since we have members around the world. But if you don't get any response, also post on Main Health. You'll do just fine and it will give you an amazing sense of power and control to see that you can steer Teddy's blood sugar by using food.

Does that sound ok to you? I hate to leave you this late without being sure someone else will be with you, but it is pretty straightforward. Do you feel ok doing this on your own?
 
Yes, thank you. He had a severe Hypo last week, where we didn't know if he would make it (vet hospital for 3 days) so I am going to stay up and keep watch over him.

I think it all sounds doable. He gets another test in 20 minutes so that should give me some good info.

Sleep well! It is a beautiful thing and you deserve it. :)
 
Great - I think you'll do fine or I wouldn't leave you. He's a long way from danger at the moment, I just don't want to leave you without tools.

In a pinch, you can also post to the Facebook FDMB group for help. They aren't supposed to give dosing advice there, and unfortunately I've seen some very bad advice given there. But if you need help with low numbers there are many folks who can help with it - that's one of the first things you learn here.

Now I have to go turn my 3 week old grandson over to his parents for the night. It's a sweet thing to hold a sleeping newborn.

See you tomorrow!! Great job keeping your sweet boy safe.
 
Morning, just getting up over here:)

I'll watch out for your next test, in case you need help, Julie has given you some great info.
 
Bless you Gill! I was hoping you might be up - but I know you're short on data! Thanks for checking in on Cheryl. Sykos' bean might also need help - Sykos is just in the 90's, but it's only +2.5.

Nighty night ladies!
 
Morning, just getting up over here:)

I'll watch out for your next test, in case you need help, Julie has given you some great info.
Yes, Bless you. :)
I'll let you know what the nest test says. He just ate a little more. However, he is now hiding under the table so he must know i'm about to test him. :)
 
Hey, I guess I'm Syko's 'bean' :D I'm new and won't be much help, but I'm up tonight for a while as well while I pack (moving next week) and deal with her! We're at 91.8 (+3.5) atm, about to test again. I switched her to a low-carb food for dinner for the first time so here we are :facepalm:
 
That +5 is the same as the +4 (given meter variance), seems like Teddy has slowed down.
I would give him a low carb snack for being a good boy and get some rest.

I've just been reading your previous post :eek: So glad Teddy is ok.
If you are nervous, you could always get a +6 to make sure he's staying flat.
 
Hello Sykos "bean" :D. I'm new too, so i don't know all the terminology yet, but I am leaning fast. Hoping the best for your kitty with such beautiful eyes. Hopefully her BG stays at a nice level.
 
That +5 is the same as the +4 (given meter variance), seems like Teddy has slowed down.
I would give him a low carb snack for being a good boy and get some rest.

I've just been reading your previous post :eek: So glad Teddy is ok.
If you are nervous, you could always get a +6 to make sure he's staying flat.
Yes, Teddy has been a real trooper. He's has gone through so much. :blackeye:. I can't believe his vet didn't want me to home test. They saved his life but I can't imagine how blind it would be to try and take care of him without knowing his BG
.
I may get a +6 if I can't relax about him. We will at least lie down and rest a little. He seems pretty good. Thank you for checking in on us!
 
good so far, +4 and we're at 5.8 :cat: She just keeps yelling at me to go to bed :rolleyes:, so hopefully we can do that soon cause I have an early morning appointment:coffee:
 
Yes, Teddy has been a real trooper. He's has gone through so much. :blackeye:. I can't believe his vet didn't want me to home test. They saved his life but I can't imagine how blind it would be to try and take care of him without knowing his BG
My vet didn't want me to home test either! She upped her dose to 2u after our first curve, I hate to think what would have happened if I continued that and wasn't testing!
 
good so far, +4 and we're at 5.8 :cat: She just keeps yelling at me to go to bed :rolleyes:, so hopefully we can do that soon cause I have an early morning appointment:coffee:
I understand. I am in Los Angeles and have to get up in 5 hours. I think we will sign off and try for some shut eye. Thinking good thoughts for you and your baby.
 
Did u get that +6 just before bed?

If you need some help at amps tag me, I should be around, I'm in Spain, so I will have just had !y lunch.

Night night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top