? 8/25 Franklin AMPS 116, +2 113, +4 85/109

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by FranklinsMom, Aug 25, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FranklinsMom

FranklinsMom Member

Newbie here. Franklin hasn't had insulin all week---post office lost his box of strips for a couple of days and didn't want to shoot without testing. When I finally got the strips he has been testing below 200 and I think we aren't supposed to give insulin then, right? I dropped off my spreadsheet this morning at the vet and am waiting on a call back. I think she was going to want a curve today so I've already started that.

Just tested him at +4. Just before I poked him I had put a strip in the AT2 meter but not all the way. Got a phone call and took it. During the phone call I must have bumped strip into the meter because it started beeping. Got off phone and took test with that strip and it was an 85. Just in case something was weird because of that beep, I immediately did another test with another strip and it was 109.

I give him some a treat of sliced turkey from the deli after each test. He had breakfast at about 6:00 or so. Plan to feed him some more at about noon.

Am I okay to wait until +6 for the next test?

Thanks.

P.S. I am now swimming in extra strips so I won't have the strip issue again.

2. Gill & George

Gill & George Well-Known Member

Absolutely fine to wait until +6. You haven't given insulin for some days now, so he's in no danger.

Just a word of warning with deli turkey, often these products are broiled/basted with sugar, you'd be surprised how much carbs they can have in them. Don't assume that they will be low carb, I found that some cooked ham I was giving George as a treat had significant carbs in it. It was then that I swapped to freezedried treats and home made boiled chicken breast nibbles.

One question, what strips are you using in the AT2 meter???

3. FranklinsMom

FranklinsMom Member