? 8/4Milo +2 218 +4 180 +6 108 +7 84 +8 109 +11 109 PMPS107 +1 125 +2 101 +3 110 +4 116 +6 142 +11 398

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Danielle & Milo, Aug 3, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'm going to offer a gentle reminder for everyone...
    in this forum we shoot low to stay low when we have the data to support our decision.

    Is the data there to support the decision to shoot low tonight? If not, ample consideration should be given to the caregiver.

    Just my 2 cents...
     
  2. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I am in full agreement with the above.

    .
     
  3. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    I am in full agreement with that statement, too.
     
  4. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    FWIW, I've sent Professor Rand an email asking for clarification on this issue. She's on leave and won't be back til next week. When/if I hear anything I'll report back to the FDMB.
     
  5. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Boy that would be great!! Would be really nice to have the issue settled once and for all!!
     
  6. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Thank you, Jill - it will be marvelous to have that clarification from Professor Rand!
     
  7. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    At this point, BJMs glucometer notes and AT spreadsheet are based on conjecture/personal interpretation, not fact.
    Hopefully Professor Rand will soon provide us with more information.
     
    Robin&BB likes this.
  8. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
  9. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Will be looking forward to that. I know FDMB's main focus here is to "first do no harm." (Safety first, right?) Thanks, Jill, for checking in with Prof. Rand on this. :)
     
  10. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I will also point out that the premise of a peer-reviewed board is that if anyone sees anything that makes them go "hmmmm" then they are encouraged to post their point of view. The ensuing discussion can give the caregiver different viewpoints to consider as she makes her decisions. So while this thread is a bit confusing and hard to sort out, it seems that the board is working the way it should.
     
  11. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    +2 is 101

    DH is going to give him a couple spoonfuls of food now
     
  12. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    *ALL*

    I am so sorry that I was away for a few hours! My best friend dragged me out of the house because the past several days have been hard on me mentally. Today was a GOOD day for Milo and I feel 100% in control. Thank the good lord above and ALL of you for guiding me through this day, I am truly grateful.

    I will update my title now and start a new thread on THIS Lantus forum only.

    Please note I am having issues with my SS and @Chris & China is updating it for me.

    Special things to note about Milo:

    1.) We use the AT meter for testing and I will until we are out of test strips that I just ordered.
    2.) I am using the TR method
    3.) Milo was getting 2 units twice daily for his first full 6 cycles
    4.) Milo is on Lantus (duh :) )
    5.) Milo's day today was his first GOOD day since his diagnosis

    Here are the BG results from tonight:

    -PMPS = 107 (7:30pm CST)
    *Fed Milo a small raw, frozen chicken treat (Pure Bites - dog treats - he loves them)
    BG= 125 (8:00pm CST)
    **Gave ONE unit of insulin instead of 2 (8:05pm CST)
    *Fed Milo 1/2 can Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets
    BG= 125 +1 (9:00pm)
    BG = 101 +2 (10:00pm)
    *Fed Milo two spoonfuls of FF low carb dinner (10:15pm CST)


    I will be testing his BG at 11:00pm CST for his +3


    Can anyone recommend how much more I need to test him overnight? I don' care what time or how late I will do what I need to for him to make sure he does not go down anymore.
     
  13. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I am digesting this all!!! WOW thank you!
     
  14. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    We really can't tell you how long you'll need to test tonight. There's just not enough data on Milo for us to "predict" anything!

    With him dropping from PS to +2, it's important that you keep testing until we know for sure he's stopped dropping and is able to hold his blood glucose up in a safe range

    He only got a tiny bump from feeding him when you shot, so it's important to see where he goes in the next few hours

    Hopefully his snack at +2 will help keep him steady ....we'll know more as you get more tests in

    The +3 is a good idea
     
  15. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I welcome your help, please do not stop.
     
    Robin&BB likes this.
  16. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
  17. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Any suggestions as to when I should test again or just make it "my call?" I will stay up all night if I have to, but his #'s went up a little (9 points) and he is getting 1 tablespoon of food now....Milo seems to be very hungry still.
     
  18. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    He's actually doing exactly what we want him to do, but I'd still plan on getting another test at +4

    He's looking GREAT right now...if we can keep him right where he's at, his pancreas is getting in lots of good "healing time"!
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  19. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Yes, get a +4. Did he get a full meal after that little stall @ PMPS time? (Would be good to note when/ how much fed as relates to his chart #s. Helps us understand what's happenin.';)
     
  20. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I will sleep when I am dead! I will do the +4
     
  21. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    I mean note that in comments section of the SS.
     
  22. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    he got 1/2 can after insulin and then 1/2 can after +2
     
  23. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    ok. (note that in SS comments).:bighug:
     
  24. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    HELP!!!!

    Milo's +4 is 116! When should I test again?????
     
  25. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    As nice as he's surfing, I think you could get a quick nap in....maybe your husband could take a turn at testing and you could sleep for awhile?

    I'd want to make sure to get at least a +6 and make sure he's still maintaining his nice numbers
     
    Robin&BB and Danielle & Milo like this.
  26. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I will do a +6 go Milo!!!!
     
  27. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    As he's starting to rise, You would probably be fine getting a +6..
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  28. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    @Chris & China - Ha! We crossed! I was still typing ... & we had the same answer. :)
     
  29. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    And yes, Danielle - try for a shortie nap! (I used to set multiple LOUD alarms overnight ...:rolleyes:)
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  30. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Danielle, I'm still here - for a few more minutes:rolleyes: - did you get that +6# yet?
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  31. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    +6 = 142

    Hallelujah!!! Momma can get sleep since he's gradually rising! Will do AMPS in 5.5 hours
     
  32. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    See above!!!! Thoughts?
     
  33. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Ha! It actually appeared above the "See below!!!!" post ... Yes, get some sleep as he is rising - hooray! Good job! Will be up early out here ... will check in with you then, okay? :bighug:
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  34. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Thanks! He's worth every waking hour! He even fell right back asleep next to me after testing. He melts my heart! Yes! Sounds good! I'll be doing next round AMPS around 7:45amCST
     
  35. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Awww ... and remember: NO FOOD in that 2-hr. window before his AMPS. (I sincerely doubt that he'll do any weird drop down to near 70 or anything like that.) SO... Stay the course! I'm proud of you & Milo!!! (And he's a very young boy, so I think he will heal from diabetes quite nicely for you!)
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  36. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    ****HELP*****

    Milo's +11 was 398 (I expected this increase) m

    Should I shoot the 2 units????? Remember I was doing 2 units twice daily and yesterday morning he got 2 units and last night got only got one.

    Please advise on your thoughts ASAP! Thank you!
     
  37. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Thank you! I hope Milo is on track! He's not had any food but he's hungry now! Posted his +11
     
  38. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    @Chris & China @Robin&BB
     
  39. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Hi, Danielle! Feed, then 2 units
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  40. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Thank you! I'm getting a true AMPS in 15 minutes to be safe. So do I start the cycle over since I did only one unit last night and went off course?
     
  41. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Yes, would say you want to go back to last effective dose which was the 2 units. Also, how often was he fed last night during the night btwn tests?
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  42. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Milo was fed in between +2 and +3 last night only 2 spoonfuls of FF and then 1 tbsp after after his +3
     
  43. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    I'll be starting a new thread for today. His AMOS was 341 so he went down from 398 at his +11 this morning
     
  44. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    AMPS 341!!!!! His went down from 398 at +11 which tells me his pancreas is healing in its own! Milo had no food before +11 and AMPS
     
  45. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Good morning, Danielle!

    The drop from 398 to 341 is most likely not so much of a drop in numbers as it is meter variance. There's an allowance of 20% with any test so 398 is really a range from 318 to 478. Given that the difference between the two tests is closer to 10%, I wouldn't worry too much. If it were me, I'd go ahead and shoot your usual dose and if you're nervous, get a +2 test. I tend to like getting a +2. If it's way lower than your pre-shot, then it lets you know that you may want to monitor a bit more closely than usual.

    The drop doesn't really tell you his pancreas is healing on it's own. That's a big interpretation. Some cats will "double dip" -- see a drop in numbers closer to the end of the cycle or, as I noted, it's a reflection of meter variance. (Sorry to rain on the parade.)
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  46. Robin&BB

    Robin&BB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Good. His AMPS # is no big surprise because you had given him just 1.0 last night to be safer overnight when his # wasn't rising @ PMPS. (Better safe than sorry!) So now that you've shot the usual 2.0 this morning, stay the course & monitor as you were doing yesterday.
     
    Danielle & Milo likes this.
  47. Danielle & Milo

    Danielle & Milo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Thanks all! Moving to a new thread :) for today
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page