8/7 Cinnamon amps #111, +2 #110, +5 #125, +9 #128, UPDATE

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Cinnamon Lover, Aug 7, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cinnamon Lover

    Cinnamon Lover Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2016
    Reason for edit: Update
  2. Osha

    Osha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Surf safely today Cinnamon. :cat:
     
    Cinnamon Lover likes this.
  3. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    That's quite an impressive AMPS after a skipped shot last night. I'd get a +1 & +2 to see what she might have planned today. Is she eating better?
     
    Cinnamon Lover likes this.
  4. Cinnamon Lover

    Cinnamon Lover Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Thank you!!! God is healing her :) :) :)
    yes she's eating normal now and she looks so much better xo
    I'm going to get a +1 and +2 :) :) :)
     
    Doodles & Karen likes this.
  5. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Did you remove the Dry at her diagnosis? Sorry I haven't read through all your previous posts. She's responding very well and hope she kicks FD in the tushy.
     
    Cinnamon Lover likes this.
  6. Cinnamon Lover

    Cinnamon Lover Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Yes right when she was diagnosed I researched for hours and days because her first Dr. didn't tell me much of anything, I stopped the Friskies dry immediately, all 3 girls are still wondering what's up with that Lol ;)
    I've learned so much from research and especially from this group :) :) :)
    Cinny saw a new Dr. yesterday, and we're going to stay with him xo
     
  7. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Great work making that transition from dry to wet! I'm hoping her time here in L&LL is short!
     
    Cinnamon Lover likes this.
  8. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Have you gotten any more tests in this morning?
     
  9. Cinnamon Lover

    Cinnamon Lover Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    yes I just updated title xo
     
  10. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    She's got a pretty nice surf going on there!!
     
    Cinnamon Lover likes this.
  11. Cinnamon Lover

    Cinnamon Lover Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    @Chris & China
    My meter kept wasting test strips because it kept throwing off error codes...I had to use the AlphaTrak 2 meter for her 8pm.....it was #251, so I gave her 2 units.
     
  12. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    OK.....just one thing though....Lantus does best when it's given at the same dose every 12 hours, so you have to concentrate on how LOW the dose is taking Cinny and not look at the Pre-shots

    With the 251 on the AT, that was probably a blue number on the human meter.....I would have suggested you only shoot the 1 unit again

    PLEASE get at least a "before bed" test tonight....I'd prefer you start with a +2 in case she's going to drop too much
     
    Cinnamon Lover likes this.
  13. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    You also need to make a decision at some point on whether you're going to use the Tight Regulation Protocol or the Start Low, Go Slow method

    It makes a difference on dosing advice we'd give you. TR is the only protocol that's been published in a veterinary journal so it has a lot of science behind it, but it requires you be able to test a little more often than SLGS. It also gives Cinny the best chance at remission. We've had cats go OTJ (Off The Juice) on SLGS, but it's much more common on TR because you adjust the dose more often in response to the numbers you're getting.

    Some of the basic differences are:

    TR...dose adjustments can be made as often as every 3 days (6 cycles)...this is most effective because if they're staying in numbers we don't like, we can increase more often
    SLGS...dose adjustments are made once a week....this can be hard on the caretaker IF the cat is "stuck" in high numbers very long

    TR...reductions in dose are given if they drop below 50 on a human meter, 68 on a pet meter
    SLGS...reductions are given if they drop below 90 on either meter

    TR...You'll want to get the 2 PS tests and at least one other test....preferably at least 2 other tests.....One somewhere between +4 and +7 on the AM cycle and a "before bed" test on the PM cycle...if you can only get 1, the "before bed" test is most important since most cats go lower at night
    SLGS...You still must get the 2 PS tests in, and then do a curve once a week (testing every 2 hours for 12 hours or every 3 hours for 18 hours)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page