? 8/7 Eleanor Dose Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-258-3-25-232-6-50-274.162562/#post-1743367

I'm having a major Lupus flare and everything seems a bit surreal. I need help with Eleanor's dose.
The upcoming a.m. shot will be the 7th at 4.25. I had been increasing after 6 cycles, but I think I slowed down with the 4.12 dose because of a weird drop she had after a stall.
Anyway, on 8/2 p.m. I started a new insulin pen, it was given to me and is a year old, I guess it was kept refrigerated etc before I got it. But last night I was getting floaties in the syringe so I started brand new just from the pharmacy Lantus.

Her BG is terrible, but it was high the previous cycle too..
I guess what I am trying to figure out is if I should increase her dose with the up coming a.m. cycle or wait and see what she does with the new insulin.
She's so high I'm thinking I should go ahead and increase. But I don't have any idea what she is doing any more. I see nothing that makes sense.
Thought maybe fresh eyes on it etc.
Thanks!!
Her numbers are not showing on the SS!!!
8/6 AMPS 263 +3 264 +6 277
PMPS 283 +3 300 +6 290
 
Last edited:
We'll see what others say, too, but I might be inclined to give the new insulin a cycle or two before increasing, just in case the old insulin really was bad. Personally I always find it best to make one change at a time (either change insulin OR raise the dose, but not doing both at the same time), that way I know for sure how the change affected response.

Prayers that you feel better....
 
She's not any higher than she has been lately. I would hold the dose a few more cycles with the new insulin before increasing and since it's only the 5th cycle. Sending lots of vines and prayers for you both :bighug::bighug:
 
I think I fixed the SS....
I just checked it and it looks fine. Good job fixing it.

Just for new members lurking, under SLGS, you would leave the dose a week anyway. :) I know you do custom dosing and you've been here quite a while so I get it. :)

I think she has room for an increase even if the insulin had floaties. She's been pretty high and flat even before you switched insulin. The bigger question is, with your current flare, are you able to handle lower numbers? If so, and be sure ;), if she were mine, I'd increase the dose to 4.25u. But if you are having a flare, you might want to wait u til you feel better and up to it.
 
Hi there, too new to be an expert on anything so no advice but tons of vines that your flare does not last too long,:( :bighug: I too have Lupus so know that dance! Keeping you in my thoughts and sending vines and hugs.....:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top