8 units and no improvement

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Dawnmc, Feb 17, 2019.

1. Dawnmc

Dawnmc New Member

My almost 15 year old cat was diagnosed with diabetes the end of December. My vet prescribed prozinc insulin, starting with 2 units. Right off the bat I screwed that up, as I've never used a syringe before and I thought I was giving 2 units, but was actually only giving 1. This went on for at least the first week, before I realized it. I then adjusted the dose to 2 units. She continued to drink like a horse and peed a lot. After a week the vet said to increase to 3 units....another week, same thing....vet said increase to 4 units....this went on, up to 8 units.......2 days ago, she started having a hard time walking....having a weird thing going on with her hind legs....called the vet....he said he thought she might be getting too much insulin.( I called the vet at 4:30 pm. her last injection was at 6 am.)he said not to give her any insulin that night and she should be better by morning and if she was better to cut her back to 6 units. if she was not better , to not give her any insulin and bring her in to be checked. She was not better. Took her in, her blood sugar was 540. When she was diagnosed in December, it was 567. He still thinks she's getting too much insulin and I think he's wrong. He took blood to to a total workup to rule out any other problems, which we should have the results tomorrow. She had been on dry food all her life until recently when I began switching her over to fancy feast....as of today she is on fancy feast only. Oh and after the appointment yesterday, he had me cut her back to 5 units. Which I did and she is still drinking like a horse and walking like a lame rabbit......any help will be greatly appreciated!

2. Djamila

Djamila Well-Known Member

Hi Dawn, and welcome! It sounds like you guys have really been through it lately!