9/1 Eleanor AMPS 201 +2.5 48 etc +7 69 Decrease by .25? dose is 5.25u

Status
Not open for further replies.
15 minutes 46
Next 15 minutes 41 gave honey with HC
I gave her about 1/2 gravy from a packet of Cats In The Kitchen each time.
A loud noise outside scared her just now, that might help.
My concern is it is so early in the cycle, plus her nadir has been really late recently.
 
15 minutes 46
Next 15 minutes 41 gave honey with HC
I gave her about 1/2 gravy from a packet of Cats In The Kitchen each time.
A loud noise outside scared her just now, that might help.
My concern is it is so early in the cycle, plus her nadir has been really late recently.
Right now don't worry too far ahead of yourself, just deal with this segment of time. Test in 15-20 so the honey has time to start to work. .
 
Sometimes when a kitty is going to drop lower than usual they will do it early in the cycle, it doesn't mean that they are going to drop even lower later when their usual nadir time would be so don't stress about that. Just keep feeding a tsp or two of gravy with each under 50 test you get. You can see that you've curtailed the drop now so I think you can drop back to half hourly testing.
 
Vyktors Mums" post: 1767066 said:
Sometimes when a kitty is going to drop lower than usual they will do it early in the cycle, it doesn't mean that they are going to drop even lower later when their usual nadir time would be so don't stress about that. Just keep feeding a tsp or two of gravy with each under 50 test you get. You can see that you've curtailed the drop now so I think you can drop back to half hourly testing.

Thanks! When I was on this forum over 4 yrs ago they said you had to be vigilant until the nadir passed.
She has never dropped this low this early in the cycle before so I really don't know.
 
The thing with kitties is that the nadir can move from one cycle to the next. I'm definitely not saying that you don't need to stay on top of these numbers but with you doing that and steering the numbers with the HC I'd put money on that 41 being the lowest number you see this cycle.

It certainly was a fast drop for Eleanor, when you're shooting higher numbers you can get that. Lucky you tested early today :) Scary as it is to start off with that's why I would prefer to shoot low numbers.

At any rate since you're following SLGS - she has earned a reduction.
 
+4.25 70
+4.75 120

Had a completely liquid stool. I don't know if it's from the antibiotic or what. I don't know what to do for her any more. I really don't.
 
+4.25 70
+4.75 120

Had a completely liquid stool. I don't know if it's from the antibiotic or what. I don't know what to do for her any more. I really don't.
Her numbers are coming up, that's a good thing.
My cats get diarrhea from antibiotics, Gus also got diarrhea from a boatload of Karo and honey and HC food during one particularly spectacular dive. I think I had sympathy gut because just watching him eat that much sugar made my gut roil!
Maybe some others have ideas on the liquid stool....can't win huh? We worry when they are constipated, we worry when it's the reverse...
Sending just right poop vines to her...:bighug:
 
Her numbers are coming up, that's a good thing.
My cats get diarrhea from antibiotics, Gus also got diarrhea from a boatload of Karo and honey and HC food during one particularly spectacular dive. I think I had sympathy gut because just watching him eat that much sugar made my gut roil!
Maybe some others have ideas on the liquid stool....can't win huh? We worry when they are constipated, we worry when it's the reverse...
Sending just right poop vines to her...:bighug:

Eleanor used to get diarrhea from FF gravy and karo, switched her to Cats In
The Kitchen and honey, but wondering if it could be that. She was a bit loose this morning, could have sent her over the edge to shooting liquid....
I'm just feeling overwhelmed.
 
Eleanor used to get diarrhea from FF gravy and karo, switched her to Cats In
The Kitchen and honey, but wondering if it could be that. She was a bit loose this morning, could have sent her over the edge to shooting liquid....
I'm just feeling overwhelmed.
That's totally understandable:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:But look at it this way, with so much out of your control in this you did have control of bringing her numbers up!:bighug:
 
I only reduce by .25 next shot, right? I would be a lot less nervous if I were shooting her old dose of 1u or 2u, rather than 5u.
I'm WAAY too new to give dose advice! I clear any ideas I have first with the veterans here! You might change your thread title to ask that.

I'm sitting here with the packet in my hand, looking at Eleanor. She's standing here, shifting from one foot to the other, saying "Gimme gimme!!" She loves the gravy. I was so hoping she wouldn't need more...
Thank you for the chuckle, laughed out loud reading your post! Try just some LC and see if she surfs on that? Peeked at her spread sheet, looks actually pretty nice, you can actually see the numbers starting to move! Yay!!:):bighug:
 
Technically since she's more than a year since diagnosis, she's a long-term diabetic. For those following Tight Reg they have to drop under 40 to earn a reduction. So given that SLGS can be personalized, you do have the option of not reducing the dose. I think this isn't a clear-cut situation. I think it's ok to hold the dose and it's also ok to reduce back to 5.0u again. She wasn't doing much before with the 5.0 dose, but on the other hand this is hard on you too. Given your own health situation, I'd probably go back to 5.0.

So . . . . your choice. No exact right answer, just your preference.
 
Since I'm not intentionally taking her into low numbers, I'm trying to get her back to simple regulation,and I can't stay up for another round of numbers I have to watch, I do need to reduce. Just wasn't sure since she is staying in what I fully realize are wonderful numbers, but too low for me, if I should reduce by .25 or .50.
Darn if I know...
 
Yes, I have been very ill on top of the usual. I literally cannot stay up w/o setting off a flare. I'm just desperate about Eleanor. There are no answers I guess.
I'm so sorry:bighug:its hard not to stress and stressing feeds the flare..:(
All you can do is all you can do. You have to get rest or you for sure won't be able to care for Eleanor. If it were me I would take Julie's advice and figure out what range for Eleanor lets you get the rest you need to try to put out this flare. :bighug:
 
I'm so sorry:bighug:its hard not to stress and stressing feeds the flare..:(
All you can do is all you can do. You have to get rest or you for sure won't be able to care for Eleanor. If it were me I would take Julie's advice and figure out what range for Eleanor lets you get the rest you need to try to put out this flare. :bighug:

She was doing so well on the 5.25, I thought we were finally making progress.
 
She was doing so well on the 5.25, I thought we were finally making progress.
Maybe but then again it's taking a toll on you right? Maybe you need to take a break with her on a still safe lower dose so that you can recoup enough that you can stay up to keep her safe in lower numbers without triggering a flare. Think of it as if you had to do a pet sitter dose for awhile while you get some rest ;) ( but you get the Bennie that you are the one testing and shooting!:)) if you crash and end up in bed you won't be able to help her.
 
She was 98 an hour ago and is still 98. I'm going to lie down for about an hour. I can't even think when I should give her next shot.
Poor thing is running from me because I keep poking her ears.
Poor kitty:( I've had to chase Gussie too before. It actually would have made a pretty funny video as I chased him all around the top of my bed! For a cat with pretty severe neuropathy he was by far the winner in the agility dept. :p:oops:

as to the when to give the next shot, can you figure out what you did right before it? that might give you a clue as to time. That's what I do when I space out remembering something. That or I look at what time the post I put on the board telling what I did was done! :smuggrin:. Go the 12 hrs from then! Don't feel bad, since juggling all these numbers this summer I can't get any numbers to stick in my brain. I can look at a test result on the meter, walk 6 feet to go record it and it's vanished from my brain before I get it recorded!:bighug:
 
If it gets too far off schedule I'd ask about skipping, it would give you a chance to sleep and would enable you to get back on a workable time table as you could choose a new shoot time tomorrow morning. As they told me when I stalled and got way out of whack, think of it as a fur shot if it bothers you to skip!
You might see if that's something you could consider in figuring out when to shoot next.
:bighug:
 
Poor kittry. I've had to chase Gussie too before. It actually would have made a pretty funny video as I chased him all around the top of my bed! For a cat with pretty severe neuropathy he was by far the winner in the agility dept. :p:oops:

as to the when to give the next shot, can you figure out what you did right before it? that might give you a clue as to time. That's what I do when I space out remembering something. That or I look at what time the post I put on the board telling what I did was done! :smuggrin:. Go the 12 hrs from then! Don't feel bad, since juggling all these numbers this summer I can't get any numbers to stick in my brain. I can look at a test result on the meter, walk 6 feet to go record it and it's vanished from my brain before I get it recorded!:bighug:

That's so funny about you chasing Gussie!
I do that too, the number goes right out of my head. Or I can't remember if I just tested. Sheesh!
 
If it gets too far off schedule I'd ask about skipping, it would give you a chance to sleep and would enable you to get back on a workable time table as you could choose a new shoot time tomorrow morning. As they told me when I stalled and got way out of whack, think of it as a fur shot if it bothers you to skip!
You might see if that's something you could consider in figuring out when to shoot next.
:bighug:

Thanks, having major brain fog and cannot follow through on a thought!
And thanks again for staying with me.
 
Here's another trick I use. I look at the time I did the PS on the meter, mine records the time does yours? Then calculate how long after that I shot.
I had a column added for the time I shoot on my spread sheet, I'd be lost without it! I also log the times with 24 hour numbers so I can't confuse am with pm. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top