9/17 Orion AMPS 227, +6 39, +6.2 67, +6.4 216, +6.7 149, +7 206

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Airway, Sep 17, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    His AM shot was 6 hours ago.
    At the first sign of a problem - 39
    After Karo and 10 min later - 67
    After some higher carb food and 10 min later - 216
    20 min later - 149
    He's still grazing on food.
     
  2. Alexi

    Alexi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
  3. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    So it's been about 45 minutes since the 39 which was about 5.25 hours after the shot? (so +5.25)?
     
  4. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    The 39 was at +6. We are nearing +7 now. Last reading was 149.

     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  5. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    OK...if he's at 149 and still eating, take his food up now and test again in 30 minutes.....if he's still going up at that point, you can wait an hour to test
     
  6. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Ok, I will report back then. Orion and I thank you.

     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  7. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    You can remove the 911 now....that way if something should happen, you can put it back and we won't think it's the same one

    It will help for you to put today's tests in as your subject line....Like 9/17 Orion AMPS 227,+6 39,+6.2 67,+6.4 216,+6.75 149.....and then whatever the next test is
     
  8. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    He's at 206 now. I'm also getting an F3 error on the Relion Confirm. This isn't listed in the manual with other codes so I don't know what it means.
     
  9. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    OK...you can relax until PMPS time.....you might want to get a +11.5 so you have time to get some opinions on tonight's dose before you shoot though

    Not sure what the error is
     
    Critter Mom and Airway like this.
  10. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    OK....On the "error code".....if it starts with an F (and not an E) it's not an error code

    It should match the F code on the back of the bottle of strips
     
  11. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    At +11.5 Orion's sugar is 320. What insulin dose do I give him tonight?

    He just puked again too. Looked like undigested food from earlier.
     
  12. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    He definitely earned a reduction today, so his new dose would be 1.75...BUT....if you're up to it, sometimes when they bounce really badly from a low, we'll give ONE last shot at the higher dose to help with the bounce

    It's called "shooting through the bounce".....With Orion so high, I think you could choose to do the 2U one more time, but you want to make sure to reduce in the morning

    If you want to relax and not worry so much about it tonight, just go ahead and reduce to 1.75

    Edited to add....I'm used to Lantus.....with ProZinc, you can't always do those .25 unit changes so you'd go to 1.5U

    I'd just reduce to 1.5 tonight
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  13. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    He has puked several times in the last 20 minutes. There isn't much coming out anymore.
     
  14. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    with the vomiting, I'd go ahead and reduce then

    When did he eat?
     
  15. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    He ate about 4 hours ago. Normally he would get a meal before I go to bed but not sure if I should give it.
     
  16. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    You might try giving him just a small snack....see if he holds it down....if he does, give him a little more in about 20 minutes and just keep that up until he's eaten his meal
     
  17. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    maybe some baby food??
     
  18. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I hope Orion feels better very soon. I feel for you both; eating issues are a nightmare. Glad to see he came up well from the lower reading earlier. You did great looking after him.

    Sending prayers and healing thoughts.

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
  19. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    He's not interested in food. I gave him a reduced dose of insulin. Tried to eyeball 1.75 units but may have been closer to 1.5. He's puking stomach acid now.
     
  20. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Have you got any Pepcid? (famotidine is the generic name)

    You might try giving him 1/4 of a 10mg tablet to help with the tummy acid
     
  21. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Following on from Chris's post, it needs to be the Pepcid famotidine without any other stuff added to the mix. (I think it's Pepcid AC but wait for other members to confirm this.)

    If you do give him some of this medicine, make sure he drinks something to chase down the tablet. Syringe water sideways into his mouth (vital in order to avoid his accidentally aspirating the fluid into his lungs) if he won't drink under his own steam. (Last thing needed here is a 'stuck' tablet causing oesophagal irritation.)


    Mogs
    .
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2016
  22. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    I do have Pepcid and I thought of that. He is terrible to pill though. Usually I crush pills and mix with food to avoid getting bitten. He isn't interested in food right now. The good news is no puking for about 40 minutes.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  23. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    That's good but since you did shoot tonight, you want to monitor his BG until you're sure he's safe tonight
     
  24. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    He's 459 now. I'm not sure how much longer I can stay awake.

     
  25. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Looks like he's going to bounce tonight....not a big surprise considering how low he went today

    Maybe set an alarm for +6 or so (just for the extra data) and go ahead and get some sleep
     
  26. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    How's Orion this AM?
     
  27. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    He's acting like Orion should be. No puking. I haven't checked his BG but will before giving any insulin in an hour. I will report back. Thank so much for checking up on him, and thank you to everyone for your help.

     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  28. Airway

    Airway Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    He was at 106 this morning so I didn't shoot

    IMG_3456.JPG
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2016
    Sharon14 likes this.
  29. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Such a handsome boy!
     
  30. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Beautiful!!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page