9/18 Harry +9 =91 PMPS= 176 +1 =221 +2=177

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erika&Harrycat

Member Since 2015
Yesterday's Condo

Yesterday's numbers
AMPS 76
No Shot
+5 262
+7 263
+10 292
PMPS 260/291
1 unit
+2 292/400
+5 273
+10 243

Harry had a very yellow mellow day, yesterday which is good I think. He skipped his first am show due to low numbers and he didn't spike too much. Had two random low and high numbers at night. I checked twice to see what was the deal. Second full day on Lantus and we are doing a-ok!!

Except he's always hungry. I need to find the right amount that helps keep his appetite at bay.

Have a wonderful Friday!!! :p
Erika
 
Last edited:
Welcome Erika!
Yellow is not too shabby, a nice blue surf would make it all the better :cool:

My girl is always hungry as well. Fiancé and I joke about how we now have a dog, what with the begging and following us around the kitchen looking for scraps. Everyone keeps telling me that once her numbers get better, the ravenous hunger will calm down. I don't see why that wouldn't be the case for you as well :)
 
Welcome Erika!
Yellow is not too shabby, a nice blue surf would make it all the better :cool:

My girl is always hungry as well. Fiancé and I joke about how we now have a dog, what with the begging and following us around the kitchen looking for scraps. Everyone keeps telling me that once her numbers get better, the ravenous hunger will calm down. I don't see why that wouldn't be the case for you as well :)

Haha, seriously!! He woke me up at 4:30 this am asking for food. Even taking some nibbles on my feet. I hope the food hunger calms soon for the both of us!!
 
Hi Erika

Looks like you had an exciting day with those lower numbers already! Great job. And I agree...not too bad for a skipped shot.

Usually as the depot fills and numbers come down, the crazy hunger diminishes.m just be sure he is getting enough calories to maintain his ideal weight.

We are just down the road from you in Tucson :):):)

Glad to see you posting every day!
 
Hi Erika

Looks like you had an exciting day with those lower numbers already! Great job. And I agree...not too bad for a skipped shot.

Usually as the depot fills and numbers come down, the crazy hunger diminishes.m just be sure he is getting enough calories to maintain his ideal weight.

We are just down the road from you in Tucson :):):)

Glad to see you posting every day!


Hi Marge!! Happy to see another Zonie!
Yeah, still trying to figure out the right amount to feed him. :)
 
Definitely feed him (maybe some medium carb if you have it) and keep testing to watch he does not go any lower. I would test again in 30 minutes
 
Yeah, still trying to figure out the right amount to feed him. :)
I had trouble figuring that out in the beginning too. Miss Meows was a free feeder on dry food so I never really paid much attention to how much she ate. She put on a lot of weight when she was Dx (12lbs) so I had to get her back down to her ideal weight (I kinda assumed it was 10lbs since thats what she always was before). After much research I read that an indoor only kitty needs about 18-20 calories per pound. So a 10lb indoor only kitty needs between 180 and 200 calories a day to maintain weight. I believe I recall reading about how you need to slowly decrease food consumption safely so they don't get fatty liver issues. I cannot recall the math, but it ended up working out perfectly. For her to safely get from from 12lbs to 10lbs she needed 180-200 calories a day anyways. Geez, i hope this all makes sense. So essentially I needed to get over the fact that the proper amount of calories was only 1 can of food for her to eat a day! I thought I'd be starving her to death (which I believe she still thinks I am), but she has been steady at 10lbs for the past 4 months so I'm pretty sure it's working alright.

I hope this made some sort of sense and helps give you an idea on where to start.
 
OK Harry - what do you and Dakota have planned for us poor hoomans today? You both started out within a few points of each other at AMPS then did a huge swan dive into the shallow end of the lagoon in 3 hours? Doc was 55 at +3.5, I fed him a bit of lc and he's sacked out at +4-66.

Wish they'd read that 'dire beasties' manual saying it's supposed to be a SLOW slide, not a swan dive!

HUGS Erika!
 
OK Harry - what do you and Dakota have planned for us poor hoomans today? You both started out within a few points of each other at AMPS then did a huge swan dive into the shallow end of the lagoon in 3 hours? Doc was 55 at +3.5, I fed him a bit of lc and he's sacked out at +4-66.

Wish they'd read that 'dire beasties' manual saying it's supposed to be a SLOW slide, not a swan dive!

HUGS Erika!


Haha omg, thank you so much for your post! Made me laugh!! Yeah, and the bad thing is this little bugger won't let me test him again. He's hissing at me and growling and batting at me. It's been past 30min now... But I can't get his ears to bleed!! Wish me luck! This fur ball is gonna make me sprout 4 more white hairs!!

Hugs to you too! We need it!
 
If he drops below 50, you'd give him a teaspoon or 2 of high carb, but otherwise, I'd try to just give him a snack of his regular low carb food and see if you can get him surfing

What great numbers for Harry!! Looks like the Lantus is going to be a MUCH better insulin for him!!
 
If he drops below 50, you'd give him a teaspoon or 2 of high carb, but otherwise, I'd try to just give him a snack of his regular low carb food and see if you can get him surfing

What great numbers for Harry!! Looks like the Lantus is going to be a MUCH better insulin for him!!

Ok sounds good! Should I reduce his dose? I gave him 1unit this morning. Thinking maybe .75?
 
Is this dip from a new cycle starting?
Oops, we didn't answer this...I think it's a combination of 2 things
* Breaking a bounce
* New cycle starting

Ok sounds good! Should I reduce his dose? I gave him 1unit this morning. Thinking maybe .75?

If you're following Tight Regulation Protocol as in your sig, technically he's not due a decrease unless he drops below 50 BUT I think I would reduce. I say this because with this only being his third day on Lantus, his depot isn't filled yet so you're not even yet really taking advantage of all the dose. When that fills, I think that full depot and dose is going to bomb him. Tagging @Marje and Gracie and @Sienne and Gabby for their input on this too...
 
I'd like to see how he does the rest of the cycle.

He was on another insulin and that, maybe/maybe not, might have some effect even tho it was not a depot insulin. Some cats, even with just a dose increase, fill depots a little faster and can start off with lower numbers the first cycle or two, but then rise a bit over the next few cycles.

IMHO, I wouldn't necessarily want to jump the gun on a decrease because it took 2.5u to see a response on the short acting insulin.
 
I'd like to see how he does the rest of the cycle.

He was on another insulin and that, maybe/maybe not, might have some effect even tho it was not a depot insulin. Some cats, even with just a dose increase, fill depots a little faster and can start off with lower numbers the first cycle or two, but then rise a bit over the next few cycles.

IMHO, I wouldn't necessarily want to jump the gun on a decrease because it took 2.5u to see a response on the short acting insulin.


Just tested and he's at a 91! His injection time is in 3 hours should I change his dose? @Marje and Gracie
 
What is your availability to test him usually? Can you monitor him tonight if he comes back down? Most likely what we will have you do is to stall the shot if he's below 150 and see if he will rise and then shoot the rise with 1u. Just so we know now, how long can you stall and get back on time by moving the shot time back by a total of 30 mins a day?

My tendency would to be suggest that you hold the dose.
 
I'm with Marje. Unless you see his numbers come back down, I would hold the current dose providing you're around to monitor and, just in case Harry is in a feisty mood, you have plenty of strips and high carb food.
 
Thanks! I'm in for the night so I can test but would only want to do it when I need to because Harry is mad at me. Lol I'll do my best at testing him when he lets me. All that sounds good by me!
 
Ok....i would suggest you shoot 1u if you are ok with it, can test tonight, and have high carb food/karo. What do you think?
 
most of us feed as we shoot. That distracts kitty. Whatever you'd like to do but feeding as you shoot or after is fine.
 
Should I reduce his dose? I gave him 1unit this morning. Thinking maybe .75?

I totally agree with the others....we want to hold the dose until they really earn those reductions, so unless he drops below 50 (or you get a low PS number and can't be home to test) just hold onto that 1U dose for now

NICE day Harry!! Let's see you do it again!!
 
I totally agree with the others....we want to hold the dose until they really earn those reductions, so unless he drops below 50 (or you get a low PS number and can't be home to test) just hold onto that 1U dose for now

NICE day Harry!! Let's see you do it again!!

Ok great! Yeah he did very good today!
 
I had trouble figuring that out in the beginning too. Miss Meows was a free feeder on dry food so I never really paid much attention to how much she ate. She put on a lot of weight when she was Dx (12lbs) so I had to get her back down to her ideal weight (I kinda assumed it was 10lbs since thats what she always was before). After much research I read that an indoor only kitty needs about 18-20 calories per pound. So a 10lb indoor only kitty needs between 180 and 200 calories a day to maintain weight. I believe I recall reading about how you need to slowly decrease food consumption safely so they don't get fatty liver issues. I cannot recall the math, but it ended up working out perfectly. For her to safely get from from 12lbs to 10lbs she needed 180-200 calories a day anyways. Geez, i hope this all makes sense. So essentially I needed to get over the fact that the proper amount of calories was only 1 can of food for her to eat a day! I thought I'd be starving her to death (which I believe she still thinks I am), but she has been steady at 10lbs for the past 4 months so I'm pretty sure it's working alright.

I hope this made some sort of sense and helps give you an idea on where to start.

Sorry! Just got a chance to respond. Yes that makes sense!! Thank you! It looks like I have been feeding him well, it's just his diabetes makes him so crazy hungry. Thanks for explaining all this. I'm saving it all!
 
Just saw the +1 was 221. He's on the way up,obviously, but we have basically no data on him....for example...does he get big food spikes? Some cats will rise 100 mg/dL just from low carb food.

So I think we should play it safe and get a +2. That will tell us a lot.
 
Sorry! Just got a chance to respond. Yes that makes sense!! Thank you! It looks like I have been feeding him well, it's just his diabetes makes him so crazy hungry. Thanks for explaining all this. I'm saving it all!
No worries! Another thing that might help is mixing some water into his wet food. It fills their tummies up a bit more which helps calm them down. At least for a bit anyway ;)
 
IF the +2 rule works for Harry, that's the same number as the Pre-shot, so this could be a "normal" Lantus cycle where he gradually goes down to nadir and then gradually goes up by the next PS

I think you could probably wait for the +4 but he's so new to Lantus, he could still have some surprises, so if you can get a +3, that's probably better...no such thing as too much data around here!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top