Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Found my Squeakers completely out of it about 45 mins ago his BG was 20 he was having muscle spasms and unresponsive...I gave him syrup and he woke up a bit but he is still out of it and just had a seizure
    I just retested his BG was 249
    I am alone with 102 temperature and I do not know what else to do. Should I just leave him alone and let him pass or what...I fear he is on his way out and I don't want to make him go through hell on his way to peace. Please Advise
     
  2. PussCatPrince - GA

    PussCatPrince - GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
  3. PussCatPrince - GA

    PussCatPrince - GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Hi.
    Please alter your thread title prefix to the red 911. It will reach more eyes more quickly.
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  4. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Please retest in 10 min. The syrup raises bg fast but it doesn't last long.
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  5. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I just retested and BG back down to 31 so I gave a little bit more syrup. He is still not very responsive but he did cry a little when I pet him and his paw was bleeding..that is a good sign
     
  6. alexthecat

    alexthecat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2018
    Can you get some cat food into him? Canned food with gravy, maybe. Something with more carbs than he normally eats now.
     
    PussCatPrince - GA likes this.
  7. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Do you have high carb gravy food? Don't give too little of syrup. Test again in 10-15 min
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  8. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Not sure how to make it red but changed to 911
     
  9. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    How long ago did you give the shot
     
  10. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Is there an emergency vet near you?
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  11. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    No I left my boyfriend's in a hurry this morning because I am very sick and I forgot the gravy food there. He is in no shape to eat anyway
     
  12. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I gave it around 3 pm
     
  13. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Do you have anything high carb he might eat? Gravy?
     
  14. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    What time is it by you... I'm trying to figure out if this is nadir
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  15. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    About 45 mins away but I am too sick to drive. I am running a fever of 101 to 102
     
  16. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    It is now 10:07 pm I gave him his usual shot of Novolin N but he has not been eating well
     
  17. PussCatPrince - GA

    PussCatPrince - GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    I believe this is 10pm for her.
     
    JanetNJ likes this.
  18. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Keep giving the syrup every couple minutes. Rub it on the gums
     
    PussCatPrince - GA likes this.
  19. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    What was his bg when you shot? What was the dose? Novolin should have peeked by now. That's in his favor
     
  20. PussCatPrince - GA

    PussCatPrince - GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Do you have any high carb food to hand . Anything at all.
     
  21. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Is he able to walk yet? In 5 min take another test. Just to be clear are you using a human or pet meter?
     
  22. PussCatPrince - GA

    PussCatPrince - GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    As Janet writes . Please do this.
     
  23. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Just
    He tried and fell he now is just lying there but he acknowledges me when I pet him
    His BG is now 48 and he is at this moment trying to get up
     
    JanetNJ likes this.
  24. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Ok well 48 is definitely less scary but may drop when syrup wears off. You are using a human meter? See if you can get him to eat a tablespoon of food (highest carb you have) with a little syrup in it. If you have any treats like temptations or party mix give some of those too.

    Now that the number is up a little you can test in 20 min.
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  25. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Dry food takes longer to raise the bg but will keep it higher longer.
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  26. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I gave him a little more syrup
    I have just low carb food but will use that. He has only wanted to eat raw meat. I gave him a little more syrup after his 48 reading so I will hold off on the syrup. I put some of his favorite food out...raw chicken and he looked interested but too weak right now. I will force a little pate in his mouth and he how he does
     
    JanetNJ likes this.
  27. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I know I can not get that into him right now
     
  28. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    So looking forward (we aren't there yet) once you get a couole readings over 50, then you can stop feeding and doing syrup and wait 15-20 min and see if he's able to hold his numbers without the food and syrup. You are doing a great job. You're going to get him through this.
     
  29. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I thank everyone for the help...I know I was doing what was supposed to be done but it helps to chat with someone.
     
    JanetNJ likes this.
  30. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I know you're very sick and it's late. You may want to set an alarm in case you take a power nap
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  31. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Thanks
    This is so scary !
    He has been running high even on the insulin so this was an extreme shock. Thank God I came down to take my meds and found him like this
     
    JanetNJ likes this.
  32. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    It's good to not feel alone in a scary situation. My cat had a scary hypo in January. Fortunately I live a half mile from an emergency vet.
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  33. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Believe me I will not be sleeping until he is through this and probably well after that. I will need to cuddle with him some
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018
    Reason for edit: Error
    JanetNJ likes this.
  34. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Make some coffee. Lol
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  35. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Lucky you have the Emergency so close. Even if I had them next door and I wasn't sick I still wouldn't have been able to take him for my bank account is on empty. My 15 year old female just had to have a lump removed from her nose and many abscessed teeth removed. And I have 3 cats that have stomatis and they want to remove all their teeth so I am in bad shape here
     
  36. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Yep that will help
     
  37. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Oh my!are they related? That's not a super common problem so it's weird they all have it.
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  38. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    It's been 20 min. Can you grab another test
     
  39. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Sorry for late lost of BG I could not get blood heated towel in micro and still had trouble...finally his BG 91
     
  40. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Yes they are all former Ferals and they have same bloodline one is 4 one is 6 and other is 5 or 7
     
  41. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Oh good! I say since she's at 8 hours post shot offer a little food if she wants it, but no syrup. It SHOULD be going up at this point.
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  42. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I put the raw chicken in front of Squeakers and he is eating it....Yeah I think he is gonna be ok
     
  43. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Gotcha. It's a shame but how lucky for them they didn't have to suffer without help in the streets. I have six cats. 5 of them were backyard finds.
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  44. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    He is scarfing down the raw chicken and am I ever glad to see a cat eat. Praise the Lord !!!!
     
  45. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Fantastic. What a relief. You did awesome. Truly. I would say get at least one more test in 20-30 min before you call it quits if you can.
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  46. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I have the 25 and hard to keep up with the bet bills. I heard that giving the plaque off may help so once I get enough money I am going to try it. Worth a try I guess
     
  47. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    I will most definitely do that and Thank You so much ! I will try my best to get him to the vet tomorrow but I will definitely call his vet. I put a call on today for him to write a Script for Lantas Pens but I didn't get a response. I am going to give him some more chicken then test again in 20 mins. I am sure he is going up so I can get the rest I need now. Thanks again ! Good night !
     
    JanetNJ likes this.
  48. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Good night!
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  49. PussCatPrince - GA

    PussCatPrince - GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017
    Sorry my internet connection dropped off.
    Very pleased to read that Janet has guided you through.
    Well done you and Squeakers.
     
  50. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    I know dollars are tight but the best thing is for the vet to see him especially if he had a seizure.

    A couple notes going forward:
    • Always test before you shoot insulin and remember Novokin N can drop them fast so you might want to have a higher “no shoot” number.
    • He is going to be very sensitive to insulin for a time now that he’s had a symptomatic hypo so be cautious about how much you give. You definitely want to drop his dose back.
    • Make sure you have high carb food with gravy available.
    • If he does this again, rub syrup on his gums and get him to the ER right away,
    I hope he will be ok.
     
  51. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    How is your cat today?
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  52. PussCatPrince - GA

    PussCatPrince - GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2017

    Yes. how is the posscat.
    I do hope everything is more even for you both.
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
  53. Mary E. Beavers

    Mary E. Beavers Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Sorry about not getting back but I am still sick
    Squeakers is doing okay. He does not want to eat very much and has had explosive diarrhea for over a week. I have been giving him 1/2 capsule of Florastor 2 times a day with today starting day 3 and it seems to have helped slightly. The Vets in my area are not good !!! I have called them and they give very little advice. I am pretty much on my own here. I knew Squeakers would be sensitive to his insulin for a while so I started him off on 1 unit instead of his usual 5 units and he dropped to 35 so I skipped his doses for 2 days and started on 1/2 unit twice a day and he goes down to 100 or 150 which is good for now. I just got to get him to eat more. He only wants to eat raw chicken and very small amounts but I have been force feeding him small amounts of canned food. I may increase the amount I give him for he is really back down to skin and bone.
     
  54. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Have you tried FortiFlora on the food to entice him to eat?
     
  55. Bama Kitty Mom (GA)

    Bama Kitty Mom (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    @Mary E. Beavers

    Sorry you are still sick. Maybe the syrup upset Squeakers' GI tract? Did the diarrhea start after the hypo incident? I've read the probiotic in Florastor is effective against diarrhea so maybe it is slowly getting him back to normal. I've read Slippery Elm Bark powder is another good remedy for upset tummies although I've not tried it with my own kitty. I know it is good for sore throats. I've made tea with it or mixed it with honey as cough syrup for non-diabetic people. Get better soon! :bighug:
     
    Mary E. Beavers likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page