Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Julie Berber

    Julie Berber Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Nippet only got a 97 on her PM test. Is this normal for her to continually drop BG numbers?
     
  2. TempestsMum

    TempestsMum Guest

    That's the pmps test?
    It's certainly normal for them to drop numbers after insulin. If you are getting low am or pmps numbers then a reduction in insulin is helpful to even out the am and pmps so that it's safe to shoot. I wouldn't personally shoot on a 97 though.
     
  3. Julie Berber

    Julie Berber Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    97 is the preshot PM test. I cant shoot her at 97. Lord knows what would happen. I think tomorrow ill test AM and if she needs insulin I'll drop it down to maybe .10 to .15 only. ...

    .25 is already taken her down a little too low at times.
     
  4. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I agree - no shot tonight.
     
  5. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I agree with lowering the dose. Forgive me if this sounds like a stupid question, but you are using u40 syringes and not u100, correct?
     
  6. Julie Berber

    Julie Berber Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Yes, i am using U40s. Im having to "eye" it.
    How hard would it to to change to using a U100 syringe? Nippet is needing less than .25
     
  7. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    It's an easy switch. Get U100s with half unit marks and use this conversion chart:
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm
     
    Julie Berber likes this.
  8. Julie Berber

    Julie Berber Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Thank you!!!! That helps a ton! Now to find a vet that will sell me some. Lol. I've ticked off all mine...
     
  9. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    You never ever have to go to your vet for syringes. In fact, I wouldn't bother because they overcharge (or at least mine does). ADWdiabetes is the best place to go for diabetic supplies. I get both my U40 and U100 syringes there and they ship fast. I currently use these U100 syringes, but they seem to stick a lot, so I'm not super happy with them. But hopefully the link will give you a decent place to start. :)
     
  10. Julie Berber

    Julie Berber Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    I notice they have different sizes. The 3/10cc would work the same right? Its just the length of the tube?
     
  11. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    You can also get them from WalMart....their 3/10ml, 31 gauge, 8mm insulin syringes all come with half unit markings (No matter what they might tell you)

    They're only $12.58/100
     
    Julie Berber likes this.
  12. Julie Berber

    Julie Berber Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    I can get them without a script?
     
  13. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    depends on your state.....I don't need a script in Missouri....Most states don't need a script but there are some that do (and occasionally cities that require them even if the state doesn't)

    I checked online and it says that Tennessee does not require a script for syringes

    All it would take is a phone call to find out for sure
     
    Julie Berber likes this.
  14. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    U40's are dreadful. Long needles and really thick. I also used the conversion chart and dosed using U100 when Leo was on Prozinc.

    Establish a no-dose value. For Leo it is 200. If he is close, I feed him. Then I check in one hour. If over 200 then I reduce the dose a little. So there is no skipped dose.
     
  15. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Nj requires a script.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page