??-about scheduling AMPS and PMPS

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Qlove, Jul 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Qlove

Qlove New Member

Hello,

Somehow I managed to find myself in a position where I'm not giving insulin at the moment. Q's diabetes may be under control with diet, and as a reaction to the Hypoglycemia event she had 11-ish days ago... However, I'm new to home testing, and since I know Q will always be diabetic, insulin or no, I still have questions about doing the BG curves and using the spreadsheet...

Where the SS says AMPS-I know this means "morning preshot" value. What I DON'T know is if that reading is taken before or after the morning meal, AND, how long before or after? Not always, but for the most part I have been allowing Q to eat first, and waiting to encourage her BG to rise somewhat before I take a reading, but I'm not completely sure that this is correct procedure. (Currently, her food doesn't seem to make her levels rise much at all, which is nice. :smile: ) Prior to home-testing, I used to allow her to eat before I dosed her, since my vet always said to inject after a meal, so I'm thinking the same would technically hold true for the AMPS, or PMPS....right?

Also, how much editing can I do to the spreadsheet if I'm sharing it? AMPS, +1, +2 etc. kinda makes my eyes cross when I'm looking at my meter and seeing a time of day. Of course, I can/do figure it out, but I wondered if the SS is something that is best left as is, since so many members use it, and share it.

Thanks~~~

2. KarenRamboConan

KarenRamboConan Senior Member Moderator

Whether you test and then feed or feed and then test is not as important as doing it the same way each time. Just find what fits you both, and stick with it - consistency is the key, and is what allows you to compare daily BGs.