Abu!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Mcnota, May 6, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mcnota

Mcnota New Member

Hi,
    My 12 year old cat Abu was diagnosed with FD this past week. He started insulin yesterday. Prozinc, 1 unit, twice a day. We haven't changed his food yet, but will be eventually. I am new to this and have no idea what I am doing! Glad to have found this forum.

Megan

2. Kris & Teasel

Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

Welcome! That's a good starting dose. How can we help you? :)

3. Mcnota

Mcnota New Member

I don't really know! Haha! I need to go get a home tester, what is the best one to buy? Also, suggestions on food?

4. Sharon14

Sharon14 Well-Known Member

Welcome! Any human meter will do. Look for one that takes the smallest amount of blood and has the best priced test strips. If you're in the US, the Relion Confirm or Micro from Walmart are popular choices. As for food a low car wet food is best, but since you've started insulin, be sure you're testing before making any changes. Here's a chart listing food, look for ones under 10carbs
    http://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf

5. JanetNJ

JanetNJ Well-Known Member

Welcome. Many on here use a human meter. I prefer a pet meter because I like having the same readings as my vet, but the strips are about triple that of the human meters at just under a dollar per strip. I find the cost worth it, but if cost is a factor, go with the Relion Confirm or Micro (not the prime only because you need a larger sample size.)

As for food most of us feed fancy feast classic or friskies pate. Most pate style foods are fine.

Once you're home testing we'd all be happy to help with dosage tweaking. If you have any other questions don't hesitate to ask.

6. Mcnota

Mcnota New Member