? Adjusting dose when switching to wet food

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Griffin's Mom, Oct 18, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Griffin's Mom

    Griffin's Mom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Hi Everyone,

    I have this post over in the Caninsulin ISG - please respond over there is you have any insight. Bellow is my question

    Thanks
    Caninsulin Thread for this question

    Hi Everyone,
    Griffin is being switched to wet food, slowly. This week he gets 2 meals dry food and 2 meals wet food. He loves the wet food!

    This morning he had a GB of 11.1 retested 11.8 so I withheld his insulin. (I was at work all day). at +1 (right before I had to leave for work he was 16. I still felt this was too low for me to comfortably give him his shot.

    Got home early did a BG at +9.5 (4:30pm) he is 27.3. I plan to test him again at +11.5 (6:30pm) and feed and give him shot then (30mins early).

    How do you adjust the dose for lower number so that they don't completely miss his insulin shots?

    Thanks.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page