Advice dosing after low readings then skipping doses

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Marie&HerCats RUSTY, Jun 23, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marie&HerCats RUSTY

    Marie&HerCats RUSTY Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    UPDATE: Todays #
    395 AMPS
    354 +2
    362 +4
    69 +6
    Please, I really struggle with numbers learning disability. My inability to edit SS reflects it but the numbers are accurate.
    I dont understand why noone is responding.
    Am I posting incorrectly?
    Im worried and frustrated

    Been putting off this post because I really feel foolish.
    But I could use some advice.
    My earlier post was about BG readings that went from the 300's to 42 last Thursday.
    Gave Rusty some honey but, number went up too high too quickly, I quess, to be hypoglycemic.
    Assumed it was meter as I was having trouble with it, showing error message and I was having to test twice each time.
    Didnt give Rusty thursday night shot just to be safe and, on Friday morning his BG was as low as it had been in 12 days, without earlier evening shot!
    Oh, got a new meter!
    Rusty has been on 5-6 Units, I know, thats alot, but, that was Vets original dose.
    I experimented Friday with 1U and BG was high (300's) BUT more steady & consistent then ever before. Ive continued with 1U
    My question(s):
    Is this a good time to start at 1U & increase untill I get better readings? If so, would you mind coaching me through it abit?
    Thanks. I really am so relieved to have found this board and to read the compassion and expertise in members posts
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2018
  2. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    If you could update your spreadsheet it will be easier to give dosing advice.
     
  3. Marie&HerCats RUSTY

    Marie&HerCats RUSTY Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Oh, sorry, it is updated. Just a large space between May & June! I'll close delete spaces thx
     
    JanetNJ likes this.
  4. Marie&HerCats RUSTY

    Marie&HerCats RUSTY Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Numbers start on row 27. Have to diqure out how to move rows so first entry is in line 1
     
  5. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Right click on the row number (in this case 179)

    Choose "delete row"
    ss.png
     
  6. Marie&HerCats RUSTY

    Marie&HerCats RUSTY Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Today Rustys # were
    AMPS 395
    353 +2
    362 +
    4 69 +4
     
  7. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I would lower the dose just a little. Try 0.75.
     
  8. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    That 69 is a really step drop. You didn't take a second reading by any chance? It seems like too quick of a drop... Makes me wonder if it's a wacky strip. Did you take any any other reasons after that one?
     
    Chris & Lucy likes this.
  9. Marie&HerCats RUSTY

    Marie&HerCats RUSTY Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Thank you, I will try thatbin am
     
  10. Marie&HerCats RUSTY

    Marie&HerCats RUSTY Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Hi Janet Thanks for responding
    I did buy a new meter Friday.

    After 69 BG reading, 3 hours later: BG 282
    Similar to what happened Thursday
     
  11. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    ok well lower the dose just that little bit for a few days. If it's not bringing him down enough you can always go back to 1... Or do a "skinny" 1 (just barely under the 1 line). 69 is a perfectly fine number on a human meter. It would be a little low on a pet meter. Normal on a human meter is 50-120.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page