Advice on newly diagnosed

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by adavid861, Jan 17, 2020.

1. adavid861

adavid861 New Member

Our little one (Apollo) is newly diagnosed and is currently on 1.5u - was 2u to start, then 1u. Our vet has been wonderful, and we are working together on a plan to manage this but I've seen so much good down on these boards that I would love for you to look over a couple graphs from the last couple of days.

The problem we have been seeing is he is high in the morning, and high before feeding at night. He is fed twice a day, wet food only.

I've attached two graphs.

Attached Files:

2. Juls and Billy

Juls and Billy Member

I'm a newbie, so take what I say with a grain of salt. I think members are going to need more information before they can advise you. What type of wet food? How often is he being fed, many small meals through day and night, or big meals only 2 times a day? Is it possible for you to set up a spreadsheet, as this is a much more familiar way for us to look at information. Have you done a curve yet--testing every 2-3 hours throughout the day?

If you want to set up a spreadsheet, there is good information here at FDMB SPREADSHEET INSTRUCTIONS and at Understanding the FDMB Grid. The more information we have, the better more experienced members can help you.

This is also a great place to start- New? How You Can Help Us Help You. Also, consider posting a introducing thread on the main Welcome/ Health section of the forum. More people visit it than the specific types of insulin forums, and you may get faster responses.

This whole thing can be confusing and overwhelming at first, but it sounds like you have an awesome vet and are taking great care of your sweet furbaby. You rock!

Last edited: Jan 17, 2020
    Reason for edit: So many typos.
  3. Amy and Socks

Amy and Socks Member