Advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Liz

Member
Hi, nor sure if we need to be concerned. ? Lila had 2 units of Caninsulin this evening and at +4 her bg was 16.6 and have just tested again at +5 and bg is 13. Just need to be sure she is safe for night. We are new to this as only diagnosed last week.
 
Yes Lila is safe. The nadir (lowest reading in 12 hour cycle) is usually around +3 or +4 with Caninsulin but in some cats can be a bit later. Can you get a +6 test just to see if she is still dropping or starting to creep up again? Are you using a human or pet meter to test Lila? If you let us know, we can give you some reference numbers to use. :)
 
Are you using a human meter or a pet meter? Regardless the numbers are still in a safe zone right now, but it can make a difference with advice depending on the type of meter you are using. Did you test before the shot? It is necessary to test before the shot, with not having had any food for at least 2 hours before. This will tell you whether it is safe to shoot or if the current dose needs to be lowered.


The biggest drops with Caninsulin usually happen around +4 or +5 hour after shot. The number should slowly start to rise before the next shot. If you are able to do one more test at +6 that will give a good picture on how long the Caninsulin is lasting. In many kitties the effects tend to wear off after 8-10 hours.

Great job that you are home-testing. Caninsulin tends to be a faster acting, harsher insulin. The effects commonly start around +2 and "peak" at +4-+6.

When you have some time setting up a spreadsheet would be very helpful and useful. Since you are using the mmol/L reading system (same one I use in Canada) you would want to use this spreadsheet if you are suing a pet meter:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1hLCvQ-GPSqWBSD6X5afzxSzxFEGx7wTNZbIr12GPBVg/edit?usp=sharing

Or this one if you are using a human meter:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1JQ136YHkxNhhku9AML_OKGHkrg3Ixe27BWAdWONlnP0/edit?usp=sharing

You enter the numbers on the world tab and it automatically converts to the US system, since many of the members here use that system for glucose readings.

Here is information on setting up your spreadsheet.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

ETA If you need help with setting up your spreadsheet ( I sure did :) ) just ask and there are some "spreadsheet gurus" who can help you out quickly.

Also welcome to the forum :bighug: :bighug:
 
Yes using pet Alpha Trak 2. We are testing before injecting. She was 22.1 before tonights injection. Have offered a little food which she has eaten and will test again soon. Thank you both.
 
Yes using pet Alpha Trak 2. We are testing before injecting. She was 22.1 before tonights injection. Have offered a little food which she has eaten and will test again soon. Thank you both.


That is a fairly gentle drop considering how Caninsulin can work with many kitties. You will often see drops of as much as 40-50% in the first 3 or 4 hours then a smaller drop, then slowly going up after about +6. This can vary with each kitty so is not a hard and fast rule, just a general guideline. This is why home-testing is such a valuable tool, and it is great that you are starting it right from the start.
 
The warning number of a potential hypo event on the AlphaTrak 2 meter is 3.7 however, given the nature of Caninsulin, with it's more rapid and sudden drops in BG, I would recommend aiming to keep Lila at 5 or above. If she gets down to 5, you can give her some food to slow the drop in her numbers and test to make sure she stays safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top