Alec may have diabetes :(

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by AmadeusMonroe, May 6, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AmadeusMonroe

AmadeusMonroe New Member

Hi everyone. My poor baby Alec has had enough issues and he may have diabetes. I just spent 1000 on all my senior cats and lost McCartney last week I monitor Alec often and this is what I found. How can this be true? He is on cerenia, fluids, buprenorphine as needed, phos binder, b12, b-right, glucosamine for arthritis which is working well, beef liver pill, taurine and now epogen. Please help as I have no experience with this possible diabetes situation I have had terrible anxiety worrying about him. I'm getting home from work and have to start a new protocol. I just got.the results today when I was at the clinic on fri!!!

Thank you. Pls send healing thoughts his way if you can as well.

2. Chris & China (GA)

Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

Welcome to the FDMB!! Sorry you may have to deal with the new diagnosis but there are a lot of us here that have done it so you're not alone!!

First thing to consider is food.....a low carb canned or raw diet is the most important. Don't be fooled into thinking you have to buy any fancy (as in expensive) "prescription" food! Most of us feed Fancy Feast Classics or Friskies pates, but there are lots of choices. You want foods under 10% carbs. There's a great chart here (Although it sounds like Alec has some kidney disease so Fancy Feast may not be the best....although if you're already using a phosphorus binder, that's fine too)

Next is learning to home test. You don't need an expensive pet meter. Most of us use the Relion Prime or Premier from WalMart.

It's possible (especially if Alec has been eating high carb food) that changing the diet may bring his numbers down!.....But if not, giving insulin is easy and makes them feel so much better!