Alexander has just been diagnosed...BG is 500-600

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by charna, Feb 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. charna

charna New Member

Hey all,

I'm really new to this and this post will probably be missing important information. But I have to get into the conversation(s) because the handful of posts I've read here have FINALLY made me feel like I can find a road to wellness for my boy.

He was diagnosed 7 days ago with BG 450 and sugar present in his urine. Vet prescribed Lantus 1 unit 2x day and told me to revisit in 20 days for a fructosamine test. Previous diet was BFF 2/5 oz 2x day + 1/4ish cup of dry free fed daily (I know, I know). Upon diagnosis I switched him cold turkey to 2-3 oz EVO chicken and turkey 2x day and 5 kibbles of EVO dry as a treat after his insulin shot.

A couple of days in (and after much online reading) I got a glucometer and failed miserably a couple of times trying to test his BG at home. I'm completely interested in tight regulation and as a grad student writing from home most of the time, I'm completely able to take it on. His demeanor seemed to be improving, however, and I think we were both adjusting to all the changes (guilt) and then today he was less interested in food (only ate 2 oz in AM and 1 oz in PM). I got up the courage to test BG again and it was >600. I freaked out, called various emergency vets and realized I could not afford to rush him to the hospital tonight and spend $800+ (I once sold my car to pay this guys vet bills, that's another story, but given the stress on him and the fact that they would just give insulin and monitor, I decided to keep testing and wait until 8 am to call my regular vet (only 4.5 more hours!!). Have kept testing hourly and he is staying between 500-600, clearly the current dosage of Lantus is not working (which I anticipated at the get-go; I just didn't think it would be this bad).