All is well

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by AnitaJ, Dec 30, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AnitaJ

AnitaJ Member

Hi Daffy's blood glucose reading was 7.2 before her meal so I thought it would be best not to give her her needle. We are doing a blood glucose curve test today and her last reading was 14.7. Now I'm thinking maybe I was wrong to not give her the shot. Clinically she seems good. Should I give her the insulin Shot? I called her vet just now but he is with patients right now. Thank you for any advice in advance. I'm new to this and do not know what to do.

2. Critter Mom

Critter Mom Well-Known Member

At 7.2 do not give insulin, Anita.

Mogs

3. Critter Mom

Good call to post and ask for feedback - and great job with the home testing! :)

Can you please post the following information:

1. Meter type you're using.

2. Insulin type and dose.

Last edited: Dec 30, 2016
  4. Mum of two felines

Mum of two felines Member

Do you think the 14.7 reading is food induced? If I was my kitty I would wait out this cycle and then pick up food 2 hours before her next scheduled test. Post that number here before doing anything else.

5. AnitaJ

AnitaJ Member

Okay thank you critter Mom. You guys are so helpful, I really appreciate it.

jayla-n-Drevon and Critter Mom like this.
  6. AnitaJ

AnitaJ Member

Daffy is on CaninSulin and yesterday her Dr. Increased her dose from 2 units twice daily to 4 units twice daily. Her meter is by Bayer called contour next. She was diagnosed with diabetes on Dec 23.

7. AnitaJ

AnitaJ Member

8. Critter Mom

Whoa, Nellie!!! :eek:

WAY too big a dose increase.

Sif and jayla-n-Drevon like this.
  9. Mum of two felines

How long have you been home testing? It would be beneficial if you could set up the spreadsheet. And why did the vet do a 2 unit increase? How long after your kitty ate did the vet check the BG.

jayla-n-Drevon likes this.
  10. Mum of two felines