Aloha from Lisa and PurrKat AKA Mr. Grumpy AKA Awa.

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by PurrKat, Mar 19, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PurrKat

PurrKat New Member

Looking forward to education and Mahalo for contributing.
    Aloha,
    Lisa and the Little Lion

Having crashed the party and all, thought you might want to know a bit about us.

I can't say I'm new to having a diabetic cat, the fur purring machine here was diagnosed diabetic around 4 years ago and I went on an info seeking binge online. We both adapted rather well to the necessary domestic alterations and it was smooth sailing for a couple of years. I confess; I became too relaxed about it. Well, he helped there that time I was certain he was going to take out an eye and I cried myself to sleep for traumatizing him and he would have nothing to do with me for a week.

Then the trouble started showing up a little over a year ago. I certainly learned a lot initially, not enough though and things got scary a few times. Unfortunately, didn’t have a functioning computer and sure could have made good use of this forum. But we made it through; I gained confidence again, until a recent ghastly experience for us both. I’ve learned my lesson and come back to school with some experience under my belt and much improved sense of direction.

We are lucky to have a Vet with tolerant, helpful staff a few minutes away. She speaks frankly, appreciates my untimely financial problems and willing to help me manage as much as I can by phone. And gee, although previously heavily involved with K9 SAR, I was not even aware dogs and cats can have diabetes, there are so many in just this small town in the sticks way, way, way out West she is both current and experienced.