Alpha Trak vs. ReliOn Micro?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by lynn and bear (ga), Feb 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lynn and bear (ga)

lynn and bear (ga) Member

Hi, All -

I was wondering if anyone knows if anyone in FDMB has done a comparison of the ReliOn Micro with the Alpha Trak?

I have been using the Alpha Trak on Bear for almost 3 years, but the test strips prices have become challenging. I have done searches and I have read many threads here saying the human meters are fine, but things like this have kept me from switching:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?term ... %20glucose

I think that I read somewhere that the Tilly protocol was developed using human meters, but I am concerned now because I have based all of Bear's treatment on the Alpha Trak for so long that I fear that switching at this point might cause kookiness.

Anyway, if anyone has compared the two (specifically the ReliOn Micro and the Alpha Trak), can you please point me to the thread?

Thanks!

2. Kelly & Oscar

Kelly & Oscar Well-Known Member

That significance level mentioned in the abstract indicates quite a large level of significance. But I do wonder some things though, that might be answered by reading the full article. What was the difference found and significance of that difference in numbers above 300, between 150 and 300, and again below 150? I think from experience we would find a low level of significance of the differences between 150 and 300, probably a high significant difference value above 300, and we already know that human meters read lower at the very low numbers (below 80) which is why there are two sets of numbers to go by on the Tilly protocol for lowering the dose on the L's.