Amount of foods question for stabilized diabetic cat

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Plutiepatootie, Mar 10, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Plutiepatootie

Plutiepatootie New Member

Hello, this is my first time posting here! My 8 year old cat Pluto was diagnosed a little over 18 months ago. He was quite chunky before the diabetes, his heaviest was about 19 pounds. When he was undiagnosed, he got down to about 11 pounds and looked emaciated. Since then, his weight has kind of fluctuated between 13 and 17 pounds. He's one of those cats that gets fat on air, it seems. Right now, he's about 16 pounds and is looking pretty pudgy. I moved about 6 weeks ago and he did really well with the transition. However, he used to be indoor/outdoor and was out for at least a couple of hours every day. Now, he's primarily inside although he has been much more playful so I've been playing with him to get out some energy/give him exercise.

Originally, it took about 6 months to get him stabilized, but he's done really well on 3 units of Lantus twice a day. He's been on that dose for about 8 months now. He eats Purina Pro Plan diabetic management dry food - at my vets suggestion, I give him the amount for a 13 pound cat but it's split about evenly between him and his non-diabetic sister (and it seems like plenty for him). He also is supposed to get 3/4 a can of Royal Canin Glycobalance wet food (3 oz plan) but I recently cut that down to 1/2 a can because he's so chubby.

He doesn't seem to be starving all the time like he was before he was stabilized, but he definitely loves his food and begs leading up to meal times. Does this sound similar to what you all feed your cats? I'm afraid to cut his food too much without vet supervision because I'm worried the insulin will be too much. Thanks for any advice you have for us!

IMG_3187.JPG

Becky & Baby Girl GA likes this.
  2. JanetNJ

JanetNJ Well-Known Member