AMPS 144 Should I Shoot??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa&Baxter

Member Since 2017
URGENT! I just upped Bax to 3 units of Lantus a day and a half ago. He's been unregulated for a few months now. Just tested him pre-shot and he's 144. Should I shoot or no? He had just eaten a tiny bit before I tested him (he's a grazer, unfortunately). This is the lowest he's been in MONTHS!! Super exciting, but nervous about hypo.
 
How long has he been on lantus? Do you have hc, honey or karo,plenty of strips, and can you monitor as long as necessary?
 
Hi Melissa, I do not use Lantus but seems like he's only been on insulin for month and a half? Without seeing a Spreadsheet I am inclined to say not to shoot under 200 since:
  1. Still new to the sugar dance.
  2. He did eat a little bit so that 144 might actually be lower.
  3. First time getting low PS
When is his shot due?
Hopefully the Lantus user's will chime in :)
 
Hi Melissa. I see no spreadsheet, so it's hard to help you blindly without seeing any data. If your shot schedule is flexible, you can try stalling without feeding and test again in 30 minutes to see if he has come up to a number that you are more comfortable shooting. Another thing to consider if you decide to give the insulin, is do you have plenty of supplies and will you be home all day to monitor and test?
 
URGENT! I just upped Bax to 3 units of Lantus a day and a half ago. He's been unregulated for a few months now. Just tested him pre-shot and he's 144. Should I shoot or no? He had just eaten a tiny bit before I tested him (he's a grazer, unfortunately). This is the lowest he's been in MONTHS!! Super exciting, but nervous about hypo.
As above - if you have the supplies and can monitor you can shoot. You say he's been unregulated for a few months so I assume (correctly I hope) that he's been on Lantus that long?
 
Not on Lantus either and on metric. So 144/18 = 8. I wish Noah was that low. Keep a close eye, get HYPO kit out for safety, try feeding heated/with treats crumbled in/something different. Agree with don't shoot but not 911. We're here for you.
 
This all depends on if you're doing TR or SLGS. And of course, how his +2 to +6's were in the past.
 
Thanks, everyone! I'm not going to shoot. I have honey and karo on hand, but I'm still nervous. He started Lantus on 4/19. Was on prozinc before that. I've been slowly increasing the Lantus about one week at a time. I know I need to get a signature and a ss going. Just haven't had the time to sit down and do it. I so appreciate everyone's advice.
 
Even if you could just get the last week or two of data on a spreadsheet for now, it would help. You can go back and fill in the previous tests later.
 
Are you following SLGS then ? Please get the signature going as soon as possible and start a spreadsheet. If you have lots of numbers just fill in the most recent as it's impossible to advise without it. You can fill in previous numbers later or not at all. Welcome. Have a good day. Still leave out food before you leave and grab one more test then too.

We keep posting at the same time but you are faster @Dyana .
 
Don't want everyone to think I'm nuts but today I pumped 7 units Caninsulin into Noah's backside. My vet knows all about it. He has other health issues that affect his numbers so that's crazy time over here and it's nothing new.
 
Very quickly, Cardiomyopathy, won't survive dental surgery so big time BUPE and an enlarged heart that has partially broken through the sac. He can only be transported if it's 911. No one knows why he's even here, should not be possible, the last of a family of 6 all with genetic problems. It's not about me.
 
Thanks, everyone! I'm not going to shoot. I have honey and karo on hand, but I'm still nervous. He started Lantus on 4/19. Was on prozinc before that. I've been slowly increasing the Lantus about one week at a time. I know I need to get a signature and a ss going. Just haven't had the time to sit down and do it. I so appreciate everyone's advice.
Hi Melissa, 2 things.
1. Go ahead and remove the 9-1-1 from both threads.
2. I can setup a spreadsheet for you in about 5 minutes so you can start logging your data from today on and when you have time go back and fill in the other dates. I can back date it to 19 April. Just let me know and have a gmail account ready :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top