Amps 450 in the AM - No sign of cat for shot Q's

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Darwin H., Dec 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Darwin H.

    Darwin H. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Simba's BG was 47 PMPS so no shot was given. This Morning BG was 450 and gave him some 9lives which he only picked at and drank a little water and disappeared. He is overdue for his shot and in hiding. He must really feel bad and I have to leave soon.. This is a vent more than anything. I know he will come out of hiding soon. **If High BG is better than low is it just the lessor of two evils as I understand it?
    What if pre shot they don't eat much in the AM? Inject anyway? Thanks all...
     
  2. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    If he dropped to 47, he earned a reduction in dose so even with a 450 AMPS, you should be reducing down to 1.75U

    He's "bouncing" again from the low, but remember, we based dosing decisions on the low numbers, not the Pre-shot numbers.

    One of the nice things about Glargine is that they don't need to eat a certain amount....it doesn't usually start to "kick in" for 2-3 hours, so as long as they're not sick and totally refusing to eat, you have time to get them to eat more.
     
  3. Darwin H.

    Darwin H. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Thank you for your response. Thank goodness I found him and he started eating again. I did give him a full 2u dose.
    He didn't seem any worse for wear or out of character before or after. But I will use your reference about going from the low not from the amps am pre shot
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page