Angel BG 32 now 52

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Cherish Gallagher, Apr 21, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    :( I just zoomed home from work. Bf gave karo syrup and HC Gravy. In 20 mins went from 32 to 52. Will check again in 15.
     
  2. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Give a teaspoon of HC food (gravy and meat) if she's still near 50 at the next test in 15 minutes. Take some deep breaths. Staying calm allows you to think better.
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  3. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Not sure why this happened.
     
  4. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    The simple reason is she's a cat. I'm not being glib - they're notoriously unpredictable. She's been giving you a few dark green numbers on this dose and now she's decided to go even lower because she's more responsive for whatever reason. Her pancreas might be helping out a bit. Hard to say.

    Tonight you'll need to reduce her dose to 3.5 u. Test after her PM dose at +1 and +2 to see what she wants to do. She'll be a bit more insulin sensitive after this low.
     
  5. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Please post when you have your next test number. Sorry for referring to Angel as "he".
     
    Tanya and Ducia likes this.
  6. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    It's ok!
     
  7. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    You've got this! You and the BF have been through this before and know what to do. Sending hugs, and keep breathing and posting! :bighug:
     
  8. Squeaky and KT (GA)

    Squeaky and KT (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Angel! Get off those rocks! You're not allowed to play on the shore!

    Yep you got this - you know what to do. I know they're scary for a while but deep breaths if you feel yourself starting to panic.

    How many hours since shot?
     
    Lisa and Smoky likes this.
  9. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    When she was 32, +5
     
  10. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
  11. Squeaky and KT (GA)

    Squeaky and KT (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Yep you did it again - got her up well. GOOD JOB!!!!
     
  12. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Well done! You guys are pros at this now!
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  13. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Great job! Another notch on your FD belt! :D
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  14. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Thanks everyone!
     
  15. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Some excitement from Ms. Angel. Well done, again, Cherish and BF :bighug::)
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  16. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Imagine if we had to deal with these situations all alone, especially in the early days of the FD dance? So scary and so hard.
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  17. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    378 PMPS dose recommendations ???
     
  18. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Sometimes they are a little sensitive after a hypo. I'd go 3.25.
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  19. Squeaky and KT (GA)

    Squeaky and KT (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    I have a bit different take on what I'd do than Janet but neither of us are wrong. I'd shoot the regular dose THIS TIME and take that earned reduction tomorrow morning. My reasoning - she's bounced to the moon with that 378 = liver released hormones as body preservation. Those are sugar but a different sugar so lasts for a couple of days. The full dose tonight will give her body some support to help handle that, the lower dose tomorrow will begin to handle the normal glucose.

    This one's TOTALLY up to you.
     
  20. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Thanks for the advice!
     
    Squeaky and KT (GA) likes this.
  21. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015

    I haven't heard that before, but it totally makes sense! Do you think that's true for all insulin types?
     
  22. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Ok you could cut the difference and do 3.5.
     
    Squeaky and KT (GA) likes this.
  23. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    3.25 for tonight. Don't wanna take any chances. I gave her 3.75 this morning and look what happened.
     
  24. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    That will help you sleep better tonight. Lol
     
  25. Squeaky and KT (GA)

    Squeaky and KT (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Search the words 'shooting the bounce' (may need to use the word 'shoot' instead of 'shooting'). You'll find it used with most of the insulins if not all. When the liver dumps glycogen, it's reads the same as glucose. The reason for 'shooting the bounce' is to give enough insulin at the first part of that liver 'dump' to handle the glucose that's mixed in with the glycogen. Even if it allows use of most of the glucose, the numbers are going to remain high due to glycogen so it's not going to drive numbers low. There ARE insulins such as 'R' ('Regular' or 'Rapid') that can affect it but that's not something done lightly nor without a LOT of planning and forethought.

    You've done well today Cherish! I'm quite impressed with how well you handled this.
     
    Phoebes (GA) and Yong & Maury GA like this.
  26. Djamila

    Djamila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Thank you so much! I love learning new approaches!
     
  27. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Thanks so much! I owe so much of it to this place and you guys!
     
  28. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Doing good today! Blues & greens. Just wish we could get her preshot numbers down. I feel her day time numbers are generally pretty darn good.
     
  29. Tanya and Ducia

    Tanya and Ducia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Hi,

    I want to tell you how much I admire your courage and your dedication to Angel’s wellbeing for NOT taking that truly earned reducie after that 32 reading!

    I also want you to accept a pair of ** which usually given to the beans as an Award after shooting their lowest BG for the 1st time. I am no Awarding Committee of course, but I really believe that you ARE by far much more deserving bearer of the Award than I 've ever being so far. So, please do accept mine.:D
    [​IMG]

    Congrats! Keep it nearby to look at at the times of uncertainty.:D

    Very best wishes to both of you and speedy remission for Angel!:bighug:
     
  30. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    They should start coming down on their own :). It can feel frustrating to see their good cycles and then those PS numbers :blackeye:
     
  31. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    220 PMPS. 2.5u?????
     
  32. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Seems like she's trying to earn a reduction for the AM dose ;). I would only do the 2.5U if you (or BF) can monitor tonight. Hopefully, one of the veteran's will chime in :smuggrin:
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  33. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    I'm thinking 2u or 2.25
     
  34. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Now my gut is saying 2.5u
     
  35. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    I can get a +3 & +5
     
  36. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    I shot 2.25u :)
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  37. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    I was thinking 2.0U or 2.25U too lol! But figured I would say go with what you are thinking as long as you can monitor :p
     
  38. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Also curious to what the others might think about her AM dose going to 3.5U if her AMPS is similar to what it has been lately. :bookworm:
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  39. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yes, I'd try reducing the AM dose if tomorrow is like today.
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  40. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    What do u think about the 2.25 I shot?
     
  41. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    It seems reasonable given the low-ish PS. Every decision like this adds to your reference data bank.
     
    JanetNJ and Cherish Gallagher like this.
  42. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Thanks so much for the kind words and support!!
     
  43. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I think that was a good decision.
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  44. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Any recommendations for what I should shoot tomorrow morning if her numbers are similar to tonight's PMPS?
     
  45. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Get at least one test this evening around +2 or +3 to see how she does on this dose. That can help you decide tomorrow AM if she has a similar yellow PS.
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  46. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Getting +3 before bed. If she had dropped a lot bf will also get a +5 while I'm sleeping and will wake me if anything bad is happening.
     
  47. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I'd do 2.5 if it's 220-250
     
  48. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Was 456. :( shot 3.75u
     
  49. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Oh! Nice nadir today! Low but not too low!
     
  50. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Just a little trampoline time ;). She probably joined the forum all of our kitties are on :p
     
  51. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Janet, bf called me at work and told me what it was. I got so scared that I had him give her HC gravy and now I feel like I did the wrong thing. :( +9 360.
     
  52. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    It's OK, Cherish, those high 50's are still scary numbers :bighug:. The 360 is from her still being on the trampoline; bounce can take 3+ cycles to clear :cat:
     
  53. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    It was at hour 5.... Probably wouldn't have dropped further, but If you were concerned just a little of her regular food would have been ok.

    No biggie though. She had some nice healing numbers. (And probably was thrilled to get the gravy!!! Haha) looks like we can reduce the dose a little at that preshot. Give.25 less than you did today at that level.
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  54. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    It may even come down a little as the food numbers wear off. :)
     
  55. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    This is so difficult and stressful. It's hard to be at work every day and be worrrie about her like this. I'm so thankful my bf works from home but it's still not the same as me being there. It's even harder because I can't figure out WHEN the heck her nadir is. It seems to be all over the place. I've been told with vetsulin that it's fast acting but it's not with her.

    She was 456 this morning and I gave 3.75u. If she's over 400 tonight I should give 3.5?
     
  56. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I would... esp if it's in the low 400's. I understand. I was fortunate that as a teacher I was home last summer, so although I was working May and June, I was off July and August to really focus on her numbers. She actually had her last shot the day before school started again.
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  57. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    279. Shot 2 because I shot 2.25 last night.
     
  58. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    See it came down quite a bit. Probably would have been fine at 2.25, but 2 is a good dose too.
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
  59. Phoebes (GA)

    Phoebes (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Very interesting. Great job!!
     
  60. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Based on recent numbers this would be my suggestion for tomorrow...

    175-225 2
    225-275 2.25
    275-300 2.5
    300-325 2.75
    325-375 3
    375-425 3.25
    425+ 3.5
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  61. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Thanks Janet!
     
  62. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    +6 76. Bf has to leave and I'm at work until 7. He's leaving her down fresh patè and water and EVO. So nerve racking. She will be ok though. May get slightly lower but then will start coming back up.
     
  63. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    I think she'll be OK, Cherish. It looks like her AM nadir is somewhere between +4 and +6 so some LC wet food to snack on should keep her safe. Don't bounce too much tonight, Ms. Angel! :bighug::cat:
     
  64. Cherish Gallagher

    Cherish Gallagher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    Thanks! I'm sure she will be but I can't help but to worry. I see people posting about leaving food out or having timed feeders for when they are gone to keep kitties safe... so when they are feeling low BG they will eat to help themselves? I leave out EVO for her and Miyu all day (we take it up 2 hours before her PM shot and bf takes it up right before he heads to bed at night- he's a night owl). She gets a 3oz can of wet food 7am & 7pm and then I'll leave patè out for her sometimes if she gobbles up her meal and is still bugging me lol.
     
  65. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Oh I hear you! :smuggrin: I still have to tell myself not to pull out food when I get 80's numbers lol. Force my hand with the other to get MC wet instead of immediately grabbing HC last time I got a "take action" reading.
     
  66. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Great number!!!
     
    Cherish Gallagher likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page