Any advice is appreciated:)

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Charlie8610, Sep 19, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Charlie8610

Charlie8610 Member

hi everyone! On Monday, I found out my Charlie,8, has diabetes’s . Im feeling a bit overwhelmed. I’m a nurse so I’m familiar with diabetes and different insulin’s.. but not with animals! I have a few questions and any input/ advice would be greatly appreciated!
    -Can I feed my other cat, who does not have diabetes the diabetic food prescribed to Charlie?
    -does anyone ever give insulin an hour before/after scheduled? I am going to do my best to stay on the 12 hour schedule but just want to know in case of emergencies
    -when did you start seeing a difference in your cat? Charlie is so lethargic and it’s devastating to see.

Any other advice welcome! Thank you and I’m so happy I found this page!

Last edited: Sep 19, 2018
  2. FurBabiesMama

FurBabiesMama Well-Known Member

Welcome! You do not need diabetic 'prescription' food for any of your cats, including Charlie. A high-protein, low-carb wet food diet is best for them all. There is a link to a cat food database in my signature. It is helpful when trying to find foods to try. The vet who created it suggests "start with protein minimum of 40, fat maximum of 50, carb max of 10, and for cats with kidney issues....phos less than 300."

What kind of insulin will you be using? If it is ProZinc, you have up to an hour of 'play' time for giving the shot. I have found that consistency is important, so it is best to stick with the 12-hour schedule when possible, but you do have that wiggle room for when you need it. If you are using a different type of insulin, it could be a different story. It would be helpful if you set up a signature to give us basic info like the insulin type.