Argus, my diabetic cat!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Eugenia, Nov 5, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eugenia

Eugenia New Member

Hey everyone! I have been doing this for a few months, but am needing more support and guidance than I'm getting from my vet.

I have three cats -- Argus, Spooky, and Peanut. Argus, male grey short-haired, is my oldest (11 years) and was diagnosed with diabetes at the beginning of June. I noticed there was a lot more pee in the litterbox, and when I took him in for a checkup and they said he lost 3lbs, and that's when I knew something was wrong with my chonky boy. Blood test came back with very high blood glucose, but luckily he had no ketones and hadn't been diabetic long enough to have nerve damage in his legs etc.

I started treating him with ProZinc (2 units / 40iu/ML -- still figuring out the terminology) and transitioned him to Royal Canin Glycobalance dry food. So that's the major thing with Argus -- I have tried multiple times over the years to transition him to a wet food diet, and he refuses to eat. It's always gotten to the point where I'm afraid he's going to get Hepatic Lipidosis, so, he has never successfully transitioned. It's frustrating because my other two love wet food and now only eat a wet food diet.

The Glucose Curve testing has always been extremely hard, because Argus hates the vet, but he's gone a few times and now he's up to 4 units and seems to be doing okay. The vet told me I should try glucose testing myself, but gave me no resources. Argus has gained a little bit of weight back (even though I only feed him 2x a day) and is his regular spunky self. Pee has been normal, although the last few days I feel like he's been drinking more water and there's been a bit more pee than usual.