Ashley Is Over 500 + Trace Ketones

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by djacks1128, Nov 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. djacks1128

djacks1128 Member

Hillary (Hillary & Maui) came over today to show me how to home test and went over some other diet issues. (Thank you so much Hillary!)
    So this is the first time I've actually seen her numbers throughout the day/night.
    She's still eating dry food...Merrick BG Tuna and I changed her wet food from Hills C/D (for her brother Dudley's urinary crystals) to low carb turkey & giblets. I actually read somewhere on the board that the Fancy Feast Classic Turkey & Giblets is a good one, although I don't see it on Binky's list so don't know the values.

Now i know i'm not going to use the proper terminology here since I'm a newbie, but here goes:
    Saturday 11/13:
    No AMPS test
    Gave 1.5 units of Prozinc at 8am
    BG at +4 hours was 406
    BG at +6 hours was 456
    BG at +8 hours was 487
    PMPS 503
    My husband convinced me to go back to the 2 unit dose she was originally perscribed by the vet. (Vet told me this past Tues. to go to 3 units.)(I'd been giving her 2 units for 3 weeks.)
    Gave 2 units of Prozinc at 8pm
    BG at +3 hours was 563

WHOA...we're off the charts now and there isn't even a color coding for these numbers on the spreasheet!

Why is this happening? What is TOO HIGH? Should I worry? Can anything happen if it goes too high?

confused_cat confused_cat confused_cat

2. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Re: Ashley Is Well Over 500 - Should I be worried?

sheryl have you been dosing your cat for awhile before you started testing?

3. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

ok just reread your post, 2 weeks without testing. we don't know if this is too much insulin or too little.
    you may know already that too much insuling can produce high #'s
    i would stick with the 1 Unit for a few days and thru testing see what you really have going on.