? Baby having a bad trip- bupe dosage?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Becky & Baby Girl GA, Apr 11, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Becky & Baby Girl GA

Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

Found out this am that Baby has pancreatitis. The dr gave me oral bupe .25 ml. - she’s just walking around meowing nonstop. She also gave the appetite stimulate mitazapine... she is eatting now but driving me nuts! I called the vet & she said only 1/2 tonight... did she give too much? Any answers for what to do? I thought she’d go to sleep but nooooo!

Last edited: Apr 11, 2018
  2. Nan & Amber (GA)

Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

I haven't had this experience, but a nickname for mirtazapine is "meowzapine" because it has that effect on some cats. So that might be part of what is going on.

There is also a small chance that the bupe and the mirtz are too much together (they're in similar "families" of drugs). I'm not good with figuring out proper dosages so I'll leave any detailed musings about the 2.5ml dose to others who are. If she's got pancreatitis, poor girl, she needs those pain meds, but you may have to back off on them until the mirtz wears off.

3. Sharon14

Sharon14 Well-Known Member

I’ve heard the Mirtzapan will cause some of them to walk around meowing. Hopefully someone in The know will check in and give you more helpful info!

ETA Nan to the rescue!

4. Bellasmom

Bellasmom Well-Known Member

When I gave bupe to Bella’s omg he was the most talkative and friendly cat, I call it a cat high lol, I called vet and it’s been known to,do,that

5. Becky & Baby Girl GA

Yes - love you answer peeps! Ok well that must be it although the vet said it’s probably the bupe! The mirtazapine is every 3 days??? She won’t stop... when will this wear off?!? Thank you guys... as long as she’s ok - that’s what matters most!! She just wants outside but I feel I need to watch her.

6. Becky & Baby Girl GA