Bellas first curve

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Scottish_Bella, Oct 24, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Scottish_Bella

Scottish_Bella Member

Hi I am new to BG testing, today was my first day trying to do a curve
    Can someone have a look and tell me whether Bellas numbers are good or bad please
    She is on 1 unit of Prozinc twice a day, has been on it for for 2 weeks and I've only been testing for a few days
    Any feedback would be appreciated thanks

2. Djamila

Djamila Well-Known Member

Welcome, Susan! And great job getting started with home testing!!!

How is Bella doing? Looking at her numbers, they are too high (I'm guessing you already know that part ;)) It could be that she is bouncing from a low number, but more likely it's just not enough insulin yet. The way to know the difference is to keep testing at random times on different days. It might be helpful to look at some of our spreadsheets to see how we scatter tests around to build a picture of how our cats are doing.

Has she been on one unit since her diagnosis?

Scottish_Bella likes this.
  3. Scottish_Bella

Scottish_Bella Member

Yes she has been on 1 unit since diagnosis, when you say not enough insulin, does insulin build up in the blood? Or will her dose need to be increased?
    She is back at the vet in a month, I was just going to keep going with the insulin and testing and will take her spreadsheet to the vets when we go back and decide what to do.
    What sort of numbers should we be aiming for?

4. Kris & Teasel

Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member