Bellas new journey #4

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Bellasmom, Mar 29, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    bella doing awesome this am, his BG is getting lower and lower each morning with the new lantus, we are on day 6 and I can tell he feels so much better, he’s more lively, plays more and he is eating perfect. I am thrilled with the lantus and I think he is as well. Oh yeah, oh my gosh, I did my very first ever ear test this morning, but I pricked us both lol it went through his ear and got me lol and i didn’t push the strip all the way in in case I didn’t get blood or enough so I would waste it, but ended up wasting it anyway cause the drop of blood popped up I put on strip while it was just laying in their lol so wasted it anyway. I’m gonna crochet me a small cotton egg or baby sock , fill it with rice so I don’t get stuck lol
     
  2. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Great news! I’ve poked through Teasel’s ear or my finger more times than I can count.
     
    Magic Johnson and Bellasmom like this.
  3. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    What a great report! Yay Bella!
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  4. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I have always been scared to do his ears but it was easy so now I cam give his paws a rest, do their ears get super sore?
     
    Magic Johnson likes this.
  5. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    I don’t know if it helps but I always put a little neosporin pain relief on Baby’s ears. I think she expects it now! Every so often she flinches a bit but usually doesn’t even act like I’ve done anything. She still makes pitiful crying sounds when I grab her for testing. I poke myself weekly!
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  6. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Thanks becky!
     
    Becky & Baby Girl GA likes this.
  7. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yes, have a tube of Neosporin with pain relief on hand. I don't use it often but it's good to have in case. I also wrap a piece of tissue around the front and back of Teasel's ear and hold it firmly for 15 seconds or so after the poke. That stops the bleeding and prevents bruising. Occasionally a poke will hurt a tiny bit but he forgives me. ;)
     
  8. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    12BCFD73-FFE6-4365-9E08-FE8EC1B6DBA8.jpeg
    Lol rice mouse, just untie his tail and you can pour out rice and wash lol
     
  9. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    So so cute!!! :smuggrin::bighug: Did you just make this?!
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  10. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Yeah took me like 5 min, I normally make them as cat toys and fills with stuffing and catnip and donate to a cat rescue here, I just adjusted it the tail end to,when it’s tied so you can take rice out and wash if needed
     
  11. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    You could open an Etsy shop for FD kitties! ;)
     
    Glassgoblin and Magic Johnson like this.
  12. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I don’t know how lol lol
     
  13. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Neither do I. :confused:
     
  14. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    That’s a great rice sock! You’re a fantastic crocheter, wish I knew how to do that. I’ve always wanted to learn. Nice that you donate too.. sweet! You’re fast!
    As Kris said I hold a tissue with a little pressure on the poke spot. Someone said it keeps the ear from bruising.
     
    Magic Johnson and Bellasmom like this.
  15. Magic Johnson

    Magic Johnson Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    WOW super talented Bellasmom - checkout how to become a reseller on Amazon - seriously!!!

    Also Bella has been doing so well I’ve been watching spreadsheet and stuff but the most rewarding thing is almost watching them act like a kitten again all that energy! PLAYING again... it just warms my heart!

    Congratulations Bella is doing so well on new insulin!
     
  16. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Thanks magic
     
  17. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Just SLAP me for bragging this am, pmps is 308:woot:, so is it right to say maybe a bounce from the blues yesterday and not to get excited over “the number”
     
  18. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    That’s still a good number compared to his old ones! Yep doing better if you look at the whole picture!
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  19. Magic Johnson

    Magic Johnson Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    It’s barely over the yellow... :)
     
  20. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Could be or he might have gone lower mid cycle today while you were at work. Just a number ... ;)
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  21. JoyBee&Ravan

    JoyBee&Ravan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    Hi Bellasmom,

    Great news about Bella!

    I'm so impressed about your Rice mouse! Think about what Magic said ,seriously! If you could sell them on Amazon you might be able to eventually quit your job &
    work out of your home! The market for Pets is Huge. People LOVE their animals & Love to buy them Toys . You are so good & fast at making them I really think you should pursue it.
    Opportunity is knocking! Don't let it pass you by!
     
    Magic Johnson and Bellasmom like this.
  22. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Keep your “patience pants” (as we call them) on. Back to yellow this AM and curve tomorrow. :)
     
  23. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Lol lol how did you know, I saw that number and I just shook my head
     
  24. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    After 2 years of Teasel's craziness I've learned to look past individual numbers and focus on trends. ;)
     
  25. JoyBee&Ravan

    JoyBee&Ravan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    Kris, I just looked at Teasel's sheet. I'd be very Happy if I get Ravan's numbers looking like that!
     
    Bellasmom and Magic Johnson like this.
  26. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I’m quite happy with how he’s doing but it hasn’t been easy. It’s taken two years and three different insulins to get him here. It’s not ideal by Tight Regulation standards but it fits my criterion of keeping him safe and me sane. I’ve done a lot of testing (more in the earlier days) and know his patterns inside out and backwards. Anything I do dose wise that’s a bit off the beaten path is based on intimate knowledge of his history, responses, etc. He’s very bouncy and erratic in his reactions and I’ve learned to expect the unexpected.
     
    Magic Johnson likes this.
  27. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Kris, think we will increase on sun? Just wondered what your thoughts are
     
  28. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yes, my guess is tomorrow’s curve will tell you an increase is needed. You’ll go up to 0.75 u. Definitely get a +2 test because he might surprise you even though the depot will take a few cycles to fill to the new dose’s level. There can also be a cycle or two of higher or weird numbers after a dose is changed. It’s referred to as “new dose wonkiness” (NDW) here on FDMB.
     
  29. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I will have to practice with water for .75, hard for these old eyes to see it lol
     
  30. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    You can do it! I have a pair of drugstore readers in a higher power than I need and I sit at my desk with the bright desk lamp on. I find it easier to see the syringe marks with a bright light behind it.
     
  31. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Where do most people get their needles, I need to order some and I can’t remember where I got,them with everything going on
     
  32. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    SureComfort U-100 Insulin Syringes 30G 1/2cc 5/16" 100/bx
    by: Sure Comfort
    Are these ok?
     
  33. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Syringes that are a smaller capacity of 1/3 cc will be easier on the eyes because the marks will be a little further apart. I’ve read on here that Walmart has these U100 syringes in that capacity, gauge and needle length with half unit marks but the pharmacy staff often don’t know they do. Many order online from adwdiabetes.com too.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  34. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    I get these at Walmart... 6E4BB2D4-3C09-4438-A221-503D05D7B453.jpeg
     
  35. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Do these have half unit marks, Becky?
     
    Becky & Baby Girl GA likes this.
  36. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Omg thank you so much, I thought was gonna have to order them again, Walmart is right up the street
     
    Becky & Baby Girl GA likes this.
  37. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I’m looking on that website you said and there is like a million types omg:confused:
     
    Becky & Baby Girl GA likes this.
  38. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    I save the end of the box with info & keep with me for next time. It helps.
     
  39. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Yes
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2018
    Bellasmom likes this.
  40. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
  41. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Yes Walmart’s has 1/2 marks... I wear bi focal lenses so it’s pretty easy to see. Plus the 31 gauge is a smaller needle which I like.1.75 is just the space between the 2 marks. Easy
     
    Bellasmom and Kris & Teasel like this.
  42. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
  43. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Now we are slowly going up each day..pmps 348
     
  44. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Becky, the ones u have Wal-Mart had but they don't have half I'm those, I even made sure with pharmacist, but they have some that did, thanks, just wanted to make sure u did know I'm case u needed halfs
     
  45. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    The 292 this AM and 348 just now are in the +/- 20% ball park that's allowed for meters. Curve day tomorrow! :smuggrin:
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  46. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Started curve today, we are 4 hours in, so far so good, hope everyone has a fabulous day
     
    Kris & Teasel and Sharon14 like this.
  47. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I'll be watching! :)
     
  48. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Don’t be depressed. There’s nothing really surprising on this curve.
     
  49. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    :(Well went to vet with my little girl Abby and she has hyperthyroidism
     
  50. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Went up again, I think this is stressing him out
     
  51. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Possibly. You had other days that ended in pink but not many tests before that to see when the pink started. At least this isn’t a daily poke fest.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  52. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Poor Abby, but while I have no experience with hyperthyroidism, I believe it’s fairly easy to treat. There are several people on the forum that have kitties with it, so If you have any questions along the way, you can ask them here.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  53. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    HyperT is very common. I had a cat with it years ago, as did my sister, my mom, my sister-in-law and one of my friends. Two of those kitties were treated very successfully with the I-131 treatment and the rest were on meds. My mom’s old guy was given his meds in the form of a transdermal gel that went on his ear. The others were pilled.

    Finances permitting the I-131 treatment is the best option.
     
    Bellasmom and Sharon14 like this.
  54. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Bella's curve today tells you that a dose increase to 0.75 u is in order.
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2018
    Bellasmom likes this.
  55. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Ok thanks, will do couple tests tomorrow
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  56. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    My little Liz was hyper t, I smashed her pill each morning & evening & mixed it in her food.
    It is a very bitter pill.
    There is also a topical pen that you rub on the inner ear. Transdermal. Unfortunately it irritated Lizzie’s ears & was not controlling her thyroid as well as the pill.

    She would not eat the food for thyroid so that didn’t help.
    There’s surgery & radioactive iodine treatment.
    Even though Lizzie’s thyroid levels were in normal range with treatment, she was always hungry & thirsty. Similar to diabetes in that way.
    It was very easy to find the correct dose for Lizzie. She had normal range numbers in a couple weeks.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  57. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Started medication yesterday, goes back 30day for recheck
    Hers wouldn’t even register correctly as machine only went to 10, they said normal was 1.5to 4.8 and it stated over 10 they are starting her on low does and then increasing as needed
     
  58. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    So I know, when Bella stared lantus last sat and u wait a week before an increase, so yesterday with 1 week in, had that dose done as much as it was gonna do? If that makes any since
     
  59. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Wow has she lost a lot of weight? I’m not sure about the Lantus myself. I think Kris said to raise .25 if an increase is warranted.
     
  60. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    3 lbs went from 9 to 7 but I had thought it was because I changed everyone to low carb food.
    Yes i increases to .75 this am on lantus
     
    Becky & Baby Girl GA likes this.
  61. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I had just wondered with lantus had the .50u done all it was gonna do
     
  62. Becky & Baby Girl GA

    Becky & Baby Girl GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
  63. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Yup, time to increase. The 0.5U was totally settled in, depot filled and stable. Let's see what 0.75 can do!

    Is there any way to start getting regular before-bed tests in the evening cycle? Especially on work days when you can't test during the day, they can be really helpful in figuring things out.
     
    Kris & Teasel and Bellasmom like this.
  64. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Yes I can do a before bed test during week, thanks!!!
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  65. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Silly question but curious cause I always like to know why
    Why is it when there is a increase in insulin sometimes at first you get higher numbers, doesn’t make since to me seems like you would get lower numbers
     
  66. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    No, it doesn't make sense. I don't know that anyone has come up with an explanation for the phenomenon, we just have the name: new dose wonkiness :confused: :).
     
  67. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    I don’t think I’ve heard an explanation either, but I wonder if it’s because some of the new dose is going towards filling the depot?
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  68. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    I was thinking that too, but then realized I am not actually sure if NDW is a depot insulin specific thing or if it's seen in other insulins? I really only know Lantus.
     
    Sharon14 likes this.
  69. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I'm glad Nan was here to answer your questions. :) The thinking behind the SLGS method is that you give a dose plenty of time to settle the depot and show what it can do before changing it. That NDW (new dose wonkiness) can confuse things but over time you'll recognize it as a pattern.

    I'm not sure whether it's specific to depot insulins or not. Might depend on the cat. I know Teasel has always had the tendency to show a little reaction of one type or another with a dose increase and it seems to settle or go away after a few cycles. So much of this a mystery - all we can do is stand by and scratch our head ... :confused:
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page