Bella’s new journey part 3

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Bellasmom, Mar 27, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
  2. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Could be a tiny baby bounce from the blues last night. Wait until PMPS to poke again. :)
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  3. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Pmps 295
     
  4. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Get a +2 or +3 for evening data. Flat yellows are fine at this point in your Lantus journey.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  5. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    yes, thankful not reds or blacks
    Can cat have to much water, like I put a lot of water into everything he eats cause I’m so scared he will get ketone thing and cost 4000 to fix
     
  6. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    No, if he's getting water by drinking or in food it's fine. I put a lot of water in Teasel's wet food. The problems can arise when people are doing subQ fluids and kitty has heart issues.
     
  7. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
  8. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Probably good enough for tonight. :)
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  9. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Amps 287
     
  10. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I love the flatness! I think an increase will be in the works on the weekend. You have to be patient using Lantus and SLGS. :)
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  11. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Just did +2. 230
     
  12. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I’ve noticed here lately he’s pretty much just eating the primal raw, he doesn’t really want the dr elseys anymore, 2 others love the primal but heck at 28.00 a bag can’t afford to feed 3 cats that
     
  13. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Give give it time. He might change his mind and keeping all cats happy food wise is important especially if they have access to each others’.
     
  14. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Yeah it's all super low carbs
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  15. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    +5 166, do I need to worry about it going to low?
     
  16. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Answered on your lantus thread (no worries yet, but keep an eye on things).

    You probably want to keep all the advice requests on the blow-by-blow of BG numbers to one forum/thread-- it does get confusing otherwise.
     
  17. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Sorry, thank you
     
  18. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    So if I post the numbers on this forum don’t post in the title of my thread on lantus forum?? Just want to make sure I do it right
     
  19. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    What follows is how I see things, other folks who also use both forums may have a different take on this, but here goes:

    The lantus forum has pretty definite rules about posting, because members there are following so many cats, they really need to be able to quickly refer back through histories before they want to offer any advice (it's too hard to remember details). It's maybe not quite as critical for those following SLGS, but TR is an aggressive dosing strategy, so no one wants to give advice without as much knowledge of the situation as possible. Hence the suggestion to put a link to the previous "condo" at the top of the current one-- that gives an easy way to see the whole story by flipping back as long as necessary.

    So, there are two problems, from this perspective, in posting on both this forum and L+L to get input on daily numbers. First, the history is hard to discern if it's happening in two different places. Second, you could potentially be getting different advice in the two places. Worst of all is the combination of the two problems-- an L+L user could be giving advice that contradicts FH advice, possibly even giving incorrect or dangerous advice, because they haven't seen the full history. You really don't want this happening!

    As for how to deal with it, one way is to use Lantus for all discussions of BG and dosing, and reserve Feline Health threads for other health questions. I think both Kris and I do check the Lantus forum periodically even if we don't spend most of our time there, so you could still get input from some of the people who have been commenting on your threads here. It's good to have an established presence in L+L (regular condos, regular commenting on the condos of others), for the times when you really do need the above-and-beyond expertise that is offered there.

    That said, L+L isn't for everyone, so the other option is to stick to Feline Health for most of your posts, and that would be just fine. It's really up to you.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  20. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I, always afraid I, gonna post it wrong over there, I know they have strict rules to follow and I understand why as it is very busy over there, I was just afraid like you or Chris or others that help me won’t see what I post
     
  21. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    I can't speak for Kris, but I do check Lantus periodically through the day. I don't comment on most of the posts, but I do "keep an eye on" a handful of cats I know from here. Bella would definitely be a cat I'd look out for :).
     
    Kris & Teasel and Bellasmom like this.
  22. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Thank you so much, I’m sure Kris probably does to
     
  23. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Bella and I have a long long way on here and I’m so grateful
     
    Magic Johnson likes this.
  24. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Great advice from Nan. I do check the Lantus forum but almost never give dosing advice over there unless someone is stuck and hasn't had a timely reply.
     
  25. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I do the same.
     
  26. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Don't worry - I follow you. If I've started helping someone regularly I always follow them because I want to see whether anything I've suggested is working or needs to be changed. I have a mental list of "my people" that I keep tabs on.
     
  27. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Is the lantus starting to,work,better because it’s day 5
     
  28. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Could be. This is data for your baseline dose and the depot is full and doing its thing. Do the curve on Saturday and then the dose can by increased if the numbers continue to be similar to the yellows and blues you've seen so far.

    This takes a lot of patience but you can see how calm his numbers have been and almost all very reasonable. It's been a great start. :)
     
  29. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Thanks, the pmps wasn’t to bad either 212
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page